We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Cathedral”

St. Mary's Cathedral
Ranked #9 of 178 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catholic Cathedral which combines portions built over 3 centuries into the one beautifully renovated buildingPublic Tours every Tuesday at 10:30 am $5.00 donationTickets available at Church Office (across the road - follow the signs)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stunning Stain glass windows. So much history to it and to learn and see how there are 3 different sections of it being built. the old and modern meet. I loved St Mary's . If you get the chance to go down to the crypt where the Archbishops are laid to rest the gold crucifix is so lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    147
    30
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A place you must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The cathedral has been tastefully renovated. There is a mixture of the old and the new and whole place looks brighter and more colourful. Besides, it is a beautiful place to worship.

Helpful?
Thank bess68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The old part of the cathedral blended in well with the new part. The stain glass windows were sparkling. There was plenty of parking space available. We often used the grounds to walk through, however the gates were open at the fornt entrance, but locked at the rear early evening, which was a blow.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthCatholic, Manager at St. Mary's Cathedral, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I apologise that you found the rear gate locked when you walked through. All gates are locked by one person so there is no way to ensure no one is coming in the front gate while we lock the rear and vice versa. There are a number of other gates (side and underground) that need locking as well so your experience has been repeated on the odd occasion. I am very glad you enjoyed your visit to the Cathedral other than this hiccup. Again my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to Easter Sunday Mass here and the renovations that have been done since I last visited were outstanding. A very reverend and awe inspiring church.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tag000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Why not just repair, preserve the simplicity of what WAS..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Instead of incorporating a modern twist on both sides of our lovely old cathedral. Here in Perth we still appear to be unable to appreciate that everything that is old DOESNT need to be modernised, have modern architecture added to it (note the lack of significant buildings of age left in central Perth, in contrast to Fremantle)... This has been an opportunity lost, and demonstrates the desecration of a lovely old building which was was in disrepair - and should've simply been fixed; it wasn't in need of a modern makeover with two modern wings out the side...
I rated it average because even in this sad state, it is STILL a house of worship for the Catholic people of WA and further afield; but in truth I feel like rating it on appearance alone as terrible or poor. Sad, what a waste. Worth seeing for a 'what shoudnt happen' moment on viewing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank womblewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary's Cathedral also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to St. Mary's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing