We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word - "Disgusting"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Victoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Word - "Disgusting"”
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Building needs demolishing, beyond overhaul!
I'll let my photos do the talking, sadly what you won't get is the disgusting smell of the place - so close to the freeway you can't open the windows because of the noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishheart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 11, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on trip advisor. We have identified the apartment where you took those photographs and we have attended to those shortcomings. We appreciate all comments that can constructively contribute to our quality control. The owners and managers do not agree with you that the building needs demolishing. Our latest overhaul included fresh paint in all the apartments and reverse cycle air-conditioning. The barbecue area is still looking new. Our location adjacent to the Swan River nestled between Kings Park and the City is highly regarded. We do think most of your comments are exaggerated, but on the other hand the stains on the kitchen cupboard shelf are disgusting and if I was forced to look at it all day I wouldn’t like it much. To say the whole place smells disgusting is really stretching it. If it were true we would not be 90% filled to capacity most of the time. PS: We cannot compete with your other holiday (post) comment at $280 a night. We charge about ¼ of that and it’s appreciated by the budget traveller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    100
    69
    33
    60
See reviews for
73
60
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Dirty, musty, mouldy and with cobwebs. Two grown men couldn't get out of there quick enough! Booked for 8 nights - stayed one. Wish we had researched further before booking and read the trip advisor comments rather than the ones on their own site.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaffyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Bergin, General Management at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 4, 2009
We understand what they are saying. And thank you for bringing this to our attention. The bleach we use in the bathrooms can give a musty smell. I am very sorry to have to tell any interested party that we are fully booked on an ongoing basis. The reason for this is we are the most affordable apartments in Perth. However we understand that some guests realise that they could afford and perhaps should have paid 30-50% more at any one of our neighbouring properties. We are not pretending to be an up-market property. What we do is try to attract the budget traveller. Mountway is suitable for all travellers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments. Many, many guests including corporate clients (local and overseas) are very happy with the location, comfortable beds, friendly atmosphere, and there own kitchen and bathroom. We also recommend that people do their homework and read all the trip advisor comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Our group was well served and enjoyed visiting Mountway. Its location between Perth city and Kings Park make it an ideal place to stay. Their shop with breakfast supplies allowed us to have breakfasts on our own schedule. Their service was excellent. Overall, we were very happy with Mountway and would certainly stay there again on return to Perth.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonBirdperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

If you want to make friends with BEG BUGS, then this is your place. Travelers be WARNED. NOT worth the effort, the location is tempting, just a skip and a hop over the bridge, BUT if filth, stink and allergy attack is on your itiniary then this is your holiday destination.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Since the banning of DDT a few decades ago bed bugs are on the rise. The main issue really when put into perspective is how does management cope with the problem when a victim does not report it and just leaves it for the next guest. It is a matter of education and vigilance by all employees. Should it happen at Mountway the guest may be compensated with a refund of expenses including accommodation. Yes it can be a problem ANYWHERE in transient accommodation situations. Should any-one out there want to know about bed bugs there are over 2,300,000 pages on the net……How do we tackle/control the problem?.... For starters we apologise given the opportunity. I would not like it myself. We have the problem 99% solved so give me a call at Mountway. PS We still can’t stop guests bringing them from other properties. Vigilance and education for all is the key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This place does not deserve two stars unless the stars are very, very small. The door jamb of the front door of the apartment was cracked near the lock. The entrance floor was dirty, as was the toilet and "kitchen". In the kitchen the toaster was beside the dustpan in the same cupboard as the delph. The carpet was dirty. The TV was unwatchable. The sleeping arrangement for a family of five was very poor and not as described on the website (queen bed, three singles). The bunk bed is WAY past its use by date and all beds were uncomfortable. How a family of five was supposed to eat on the tiny table in the tiny balcony with two seats and no room is beyond me.

The linen and towels were clean. The staff we dealt with (caretaker and reception staff) were very polite and professional.

We only stayed one night and that was because we arrived late with young children. We left first thing the next morning.

We did not get what we paid for. We paid good money and got rubbish. DON'T GO THERE.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaraOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have just returned from our second stay at Mountway. The staff were, once again, incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, not even the 28 students from our school that descended upon them for 8 days. The accommodation was clean and well serviced. The apartments are ideally located in a quiet side street between Kings Park and Central Perth. We are already in the planning stage for a third visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellerHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at Mountway because it was cheaper than other places. The place was clean and staff friendly. It is close to the Freeway but we managed to sleep ok. It is tired looking but is within easy walking distance to the CBD and close to Europcar rental.
Look out for specials which make it better value for money than paying the highly inflated price through travel agents.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 64 in Perth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 64 in Perth
357 reviews
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 64 in Perth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing