We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visitor to Perth and Mountway Appartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have been traveling to Perth from Sydney and staying at the Mountway Appartments for the last six years. Sometimes with my family and at times solo. The main reasons I keep returning to the "Mountway" is the friendly staff, price, location and amenities.
I have just booked in and been allocated a refurbished appartment. I was so impressed, I sent photo's to my daughter in Sydney, who was as overawed as I was. My daughter wanted to know when I would be returning to the "Mountway" with her!
Congratulations to the Management & Staff of the "Mountway" on a job done well!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frequentraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Nice to see you return to Mountway, thank you for your comments which are appreciated. JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just spent a night at the Mountway holiday apartments,it was very dated and in need of a good overhaul but other than that it was fully equipped with everything you need. It's just at the bottom of Kings Park but a long hard slog together to the top , but once there it was worth it. Would I stay there again ? Not for more than one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolphillips87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you, we do love trip advisor and we do love it when people tell the truth. Yes we are Art-deco by design and unique in all of Perth. Very dated it’s true, but the owners avoid the overhaul because we want to retain our position as being the most affordable self catering apartments in Perth. Considering the new fully equipped kitchens in all apartments, completed in 2013 can you imagine the cost involved with a complete overhaul? Mountway will always be a budget price, for the budget traveller. You are right about Mount Street, also known as millionaires’ row, it is the steepest hill in Perth. For this reason we recommend a zig-zag strategy. I myself go from number 36 to 39, not too steep, and then 49 to 52, etc and eventually arrivie at the Kings Park. Also bus number 37 takes you to Kings Park from near Mountway. We have a very informative blog article on our website about Kings Park. Thank you for your comments. Kind regards John Bergin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my parents, as we were attending my university graduation. I booked a room for three people, and we got a room with a double bed and two singles, which was great.

The location is fantastic. It's actually located right near a bus stop for a bus that takes you all the way to the airport for only $4.20 - much better than paying $40 for a cab or $15 per person for a shuttle! Also a quick walk over the bridge to get to the CBD, and all city buses are free as well which makes getting to different areas super easy. Third best thing about the location is that it's just down the hill from Kings Park - definitely worth a visit to while in Perth.

The rooms are fairly outdated, however the kitchens were super nice. The bathroom was okay - shower dripped a little, but no big deal, and although it seemed old, it was clean. There is no hair dryer however (first apartment I have stayed in that didn't provide a hair dryer) so keep that in mind if you do need to use one during your stay. Airconditioning and Foxtel channels were also great to have!

Staff were great, particularly Polly. She was super helpful, gave us plenty of information about Perth, good places to visit and where to eat.

Overall, I did enjoy my stay at Mountway. I don't know if I would stay again, based on wanting to try new places when I travel, but good for an emergency or a short or solo stay (three in the room was alright but I wouldn't stay there with four people, it'd be too crowded as the rooms are not large).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I can see you went out of your way to write an accurate review and it's very much appreciated. JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I drove down from the country to stay overnight and attend a concert. To say the place is run down would be an understatement. The room had half the vertical blinds missing, stains all over the musky carpet, taps dripping constantly, tiles missing in the bathroom, the toilet was a disaster. The office staff were friendly enough and helpful but seriously, the only plus for this poor run down establishment is the location.

Room Tip: Look for somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Unfortunately there are people out there that do not understand the market, and we understand that. The best that Perth has to offer does not exist on concert nights for $140.00.Take a look at availability for 19 February 2014, there is a huge concert at the Arena, which is a 7 minute walk from Mountway. You might notice the hotel opposite has a tariff of almost $700.00 for that night and when no concert, about $140.00. So we understand your rage. Your comments regarding the toilet bowl are not believable unless you had just had some kind of difficulty. What we don’t understand is why we are fully booked most of the time. Unless we are not charging enough in today’s market. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff and exceptional location, and for giving me the opportunity to address your issue. Kind regards, John Bergin GM at Mountway since January 2002.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the night in Perth and took a car (tip - in the city cars can be several times less expensive than in the airport) - then went through top booking.com places under 100$. Some of them was just nightmare terrible - warning! Polly at the reception was really cheerful, flexible and thinking - you just have a feeling that everything will be good here while discussing the place - we took it for 1 day but then extended for 10 more. Room was not really sharp but great location (Polly will explain everything nicely) and parking just working. Kitchen is a good option in Perth - restaurants are rather expensive.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sergey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Polly is highly experience in all facets of the Mountway operation and she is very highly regarded by all. A true gem. Shinto James is another highly regarded employee who excels in guest services and online marketing so you will find the Mountway website, which has all the 'good oil'. JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't go here. Terrible place. Bathroom and kitchenette filthy. Bathroom fan broken. Tiles missing. Stains in bath and sink. Very tired, desperately requiring a refurb.Booked for a week but got out as soon as we possibly could!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

For some reason most people have favourable comments, arriving from the UK after a long flight, we understand, you might not have noticed anything plausible under the jet-lag. Most reasonable and discerning people will come and see for themselves. On a positive note it reminds us that one man’s pleasure is another man’s poison, and so your comments are appreciated. We will continue to make positive improvements to the property, the latest being the free Foxtel, free Wi-fi, and refurbished kitchens. Kind regards, John Bergin , General Manager since 2002, Mob: 0403008145

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

a great place to stay whether your short-term or long term as we where. friendly reception staff who will try to help you in any way they can, to great ground keepers who keep the place looking very clean and respectable. our room was always cleaned very well by the house keeping and always on time they probably actually cleaned more than they were asked too seen as there were 3 lads living in each apartment. but this is probably down to great management of the apartments. we will defiantly be recommending this to our friends and will be staying here again in the future....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727james777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Yes our 'all rounder' Peter Cunniffe keeps a good eye on the grounds and is very helpful to assist in the parking of guest cars. JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
West Perth
Perth Central City Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#58 of 66 in Perth
468 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#53 of 66 in Perth
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $51 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing