We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not cheap enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in Perth
East Sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not cheap enough!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The saying goes 'You get what you pay for'. In this case I still feel I was overcharged.
Arrived very late and very tired with no other option but to stay that night. We had booked to stay a further 3 nights but checked out by 10am. The one good thing was the lady on reception who processed our refund very efficiently.
Would never recommend this place, it needs a complete renovation.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ju-ju60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Your comments are appreciated. We know it's not everyones 'cup of tea', and if you want cheaper we recommend Jaiell House where you can pay half the price and share a dorm, kitchen and bathroom with randoms. We introduced the "no questions asked" refund policy as we understand people's plans can change. There is alway a steady flow of guests keeping Mountway fully booked throughout the year. The tariffs will increase by the time all the kitchens have been refurbished, at the moment six have been completed, and the remainder will be done over the next ten weeks. Kind regards JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    99
    69
    32
    59
See reviews for
71
60
42
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Booked online. Little relation between description and fact. Old, outdated, in desperate need of either renovation or demolition. Chipped stained paint throughout, broken tiles in bathroom, unsafe slippery shower over bath with no non slip mat supplied. Our room had 1 [uncomfortable] double bed and 2 singles [all with mismatched linen], 1 bedside table with light [yayy on my side of the bed] and 1 chair, all of which could have come from the local op shop. Self contained cooking facilities totally inadequate, mismatched crockery and a noisy fridge. Windows overlooking the adjacent freeway were filthy. Good value for budget accommodation but while cheap by current Perth over the top prices these are not budget prices. I have read previous reviews and have no doubt the manager will come back with semi belligerent justifications about new air conditioning and TV and ungrateful guests, not to mention high occupancy rates but may I point out that currently I believe you could advertise a cardboard box for rent in Perth and someone would say yes please due to lack of available accommodation. Stay here only if you can find nowhere else!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. We do encourage people to book online once they have firm plans, because it saves you the cost of a telephone call. Yes the building is in need of renovation so we are starting tomorrow with apartment 408. The kitchens will be totally rebuilt, although the Metters sinks will be staying as it's much better quality than you can buy these days. We do not provide in-bath mats for health resons but you can request one and we then issue a new one. Of course there is the bath mat provided. We do endeavour to match the bedspreads but its not always possible. Its true you can't bake cakes in the apartment kitchens at Mountway but we say the Hotplate, Kettle, Toaster, Electric Frypan, Rice cooker, and Microwave are adequate for most guests. We do encourage the use of the barbecue area, which most agree is the finest in Perth. It's true the cups and plates are a different style but they are all the one colour white. We will take a look at the fridge when someone brings it to our attention. Most properties have the windows on the outside professionally cleaned periodically and Mountway is no different. I notice you have mentioned our good value budget accommodation and I thank you for that, however I cannot agree with you on the cardboard box idea. I would recommend a backpackers where you can share a kitchen and bathroom with randoms for half the price. For some that is good value. Some prefer the 3-4 star hotel without kitchen at double the price. Thank you for sharing your views and I do appreciate Trip Advisor giving me the opportunity to respond to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The apartment was cheap but the room was really dark and not very clean. The kitchen only had a one ring plug in hob fridge and a microwave. There were also BBQ facilities. On one of the days the shower spewed mud, which I think was due to roadworks but the staff didn't let us know or even mention it. We were unable to use the water for a few hours. The rooms are quite cold and the reverse cycle air con doesnt work very well/ cuts out/ is difficult to program. The whole place was quite tired and old. It's a good location for getting into town though. We wouldnt stay again. I think you can get better accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexandKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes it's the most affordable accommodation in Perth. "Dark" well yes it is but there is electric lighting available and included in the tariff. You might not have noticed the electric kettle, toaster, rice cooker and electric fry pan (you can roast a small turkey in that). These items are in the tall cupboard in the kitchen. The micro wave is on top of the family size refrigerator in the kitchen and I agree that is a very useful item. Yes the barbecue area is very much appreciated by a lot of guests and there is a very nice photo on the Mountway Apartments FB page of people enjoying it. I am very surprised you had an issue with the shower. That is very strange as no one else had an issue with it or perhaps they are just not saying anything. The Mitsubishi state-of-the-art aircons have been working great. We have not had a single failure of an aircon since they were installed four years ago. Yes Mountway is old and tired, but guess what? Starting next week the very first kitchen will be totally refurbished. I know you will not be back but anyone who reads this and wants to book should ask for apartment number 408. By the end of April we should have about 6 refurbed and then 12 a month till we get to September. Then the budget price and location won’t be the only main attraction at the budget Mountway Holiday Apartments. I do thank you for your review and I agree with everything you say except the mud, I have not been able to fathom that unfortunate occurrence. Kind regards John Bergin GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staying at the Mountway Holiday Apartments suited us perfectly.....a large group of 15 there for a Wedding. A big "thank-you" to the staff for sorting out a few booking problems....will know next time to book direct with Mountway!!! Perfect location on the edge of the city, and just a quick walk to Kings park. Whilst it's not "the Ritz", our rooms were clean and comfortable. Being next to a major Freeway might be unsettling for some, but i always travel with earplugs so it was no problem for me whatsoever. We also used their BBQ area one night which was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Book directly with the Mountway....ask for John.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My stay was for business & the location was excellent - only a few minutes walk across the bridge & I was in the city.

I stayed in a studio apartment & appreciated the larger room & the flexibility of being able to prepare my own meals - especially breakfast.

Staff were very friendly & helpful & the Mountway city map they gave me quickly became indispensable for getting to know Perth CBD.

Top all of that off with the great value rates (much less than the CBD hotels!) & this place is a real winner!

I would deefinitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComunicationComando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My second stay in Mountway,over here from the U.K. I find value for money and helpful service. The rooms are cleaned well every weeks, and there is no limit to extra towels etc. The staff in the office are friendly and helpful. I would certainly come here again if I was coming to Perth. Helen

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed at Mountway apartments on and off when I am in Perth city on business.

The last time was during the heat wave and the air-conditioner was very much appreciated. This time they gave me a room facing the river. I have always found the staff helpful and friendly.

As I pay for my own accommodation I appreciate the low price. My business could pay for a 3 or 4 star hotel but I like my own kitchen. Don’t change a thing.

it’s all good just the way it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing