We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh my god :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountway Holiday Apartments
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Perth
darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oh my god :(”
Reviewed April 19, 2008

No air conditioning, fans not working properly, opened window to have freeway hurtling past window, old shabby room, no service. staff not supprised we checked out early, no enquiry as to why we were leaving. oh my god, do your self a favor dont book here.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank touraust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-Bergin, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2008
There is currently no air-conditioning at Mountway and in the hot months the tariffs charged are appropriate.
We are not surprised that people leave early during a heat-wave after we recommend the neighboring hotel with air conditioning. Do yourself a favour and check your budget and book appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    100
    69
    33
    60
See reviews for
73
60
43
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stawell, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

yes it is noisy, old and basic, BUT... i found it to be great value for money, given the fantastic location, walking distance to Kings Park, the Convention Center and CBD, well equipped kitchen allows for total self catering, complementary tea/coffee, Wireless Internet Access, bathtub, comfortable beds.
table and chairs are located in the 'sun room' which is like an enclosed balcony, very tight quarters and the windows desperately need a clean.
the apartments are old and some things need fixing, like leaking taps ( we cannot afford to waste water), but i found them to be very clean.
if you are after a self catering accommodation that is in a great location you might want to consider this one. as for the noise from the freeway... blue tack in the ears works wonders!

  • Liked — Location, free parking!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KissMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We found Mountway Apartments nothing like it appeared on the internet. The room was not clean, there was no air conditioning, there was no telephone in the room and you can't open the windows. We found it hotter in the apartment than we did outside in the middle of the Perth Summer. We felt that the management was not very welcoming. Although it is in a good location just next to the city, I wouldn't recommend these holiday apartments.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLMCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

The pictures I saw on the internet were kinda deceiving, it looks so nice in those pics. When we arrived there, I was actually quite dissapointed, it looked a bit crummy. But then, for the price my parents paid, I thought it was comfortable enough. And the location is great, near King's Park!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Looks a bit crummy
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0anne95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We were very disappointed with Mountway and consider that their advertising doesn't match up with what we experienced. Our room was dirty, smelly, and in need of maintenance (cracked windows, peeling paint, newspaper stuffed in a wall vent). The decor is very dated (circa late 1970s). Mountway is right next to the freeway, therefore you need to keep all windows and doors closed to get any quiet. While it is close to the city, that's about all it has going for it. Definitely not recommended.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything except for the bit we liked best (that is, leaving)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank SandyHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Do not stay at this place. I have stayed at many hotels and units around the world,this one would be far the worst
Dirty carpets
Noise from freeway, However if you like to watch cars then this is the place for you.Yes there is views but the freeway is in your face.
Yes the buildings are old, I have stayed in old buildings before which have been very nice.
Do not bother trying to watch the tv,the picture is bad on all channles including the movies.
People smoking and sitting in the corridors to the rooms, had to climb over then to pass, very intimidating.

But then i guess i am one of a few out of 40000 room nights

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ringo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

As soon as I went into the room, I could smell of toilet cleaner or something. It is located just besides freeway so too noisy to open the window to get some fresh air. The sofa was too dirty to sit on and there are some fleas in the bed! It was worst accommodation I ever stayed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleaness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 65 in Perth
153 reviews
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#55 of 65 in Perth
462 reviews
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Property: Mountway Holiday Apartments
Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing