We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay 250aud to sleep under blankets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pay 250aud to sleep under blankets”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Medina apparently is under new management and the last bit of comfort is now stripped. Checked in at midnight, so not too much patience after a long flight. On the room, the snack were opened by previous guests and not replaced. Worse, the bedding was a really thin polyester doona, so way too cold to sleep under. The only thing the reception could bring was additional blankets. So much for a 250aud per night stay. Checked out after one night and moved to a better place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kashwinder S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear MarcelinOz

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am extremely disappointed to learn that your experience did not meet with expectations.

I do apologize for the Housekeeping and Minibar issues you experienced during your stay. I have discussed this with the respective department to ensure this will not happen again.

We do hope to see in the future and if I can be of any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the property.

Kind Regards

Kashwinder Singh
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    544
    175
    75
    44
See reviews for
179
370
76
594
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed on the 4th floor towards the convention centre side. The room was a one bedroom apartment which was smallish compared to the Oaks for example. For the price the hotel is comparable to others in its range. There is little to differentiate it though. Some small improvements would be to allow room service wine by the glass or alternatively have smaller bottles in the fridge and to have a stand for suitcases. There wasn't sufficient room in the bedroom for the suitcase so a stand would have been handy.

The service was friendly and the hotel is well located to the train station and the convention centre as well as the river if you plan to travel on the ferries.

If you are driving and don't know the area I suggest you take some time to look at the entrance on satellite especially if you are arriving at night. The signage is extremely small and not obvious.

Room Tip: Rooms on the convention side would most likely be quieter as they are away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear aussie_travellers_90,

Thank you for your recent review of Medina Grand Perth. My team and I appreciate the time you have taken to complete this review.

Your kind comments with regard to your stay are appreciated, I will ensure these are shared with my team.

I have noted your comments with regard to access signage. This matter is under review and I hope to have a satisfactory solution in the near future.

Kind regards

Phil Wilmot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room was very clean. The area was quiet and the service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very friendly. We also found the power saver device interesting (since you need to insert the room key card into it to turn on the power).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinkendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear gavinkendall,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide your fellow travellers and my team with your review of your recent stay at Medina Grand Perth.

Your kind comments regarding your stay are greatly appreciated. I will ensure these are shared with my team at our next team meeting.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Phil Wilmot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As perth is one of the most expensive cities in australia, this felt this was a decent choice among other more expensive ones. Our room was clean, there was also a small kitchenette. Its really close to the CBD. There is also a train station nearby. We essentially left our luggage here when we checked in and went out to spend the whole day sightseeing around perth and came back for the night. Had a peaceful sleep, not noisy at all. Overall. a decent choice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AuraSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear AuraSu,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Medina Grand Perth. My team and I appreicate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback.

My team and I regularly share Trip advisor feedback to ensure we are meeting our guests expectations.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact myself direct at the hotel, if you wish to discuss any aspect of your stay.

Kind regards

Phil Wilmot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel.

My stay was very pleasant and I would probably stay here again.

The room was very clean and well set out. I loved the little kitchen area as it meant I could prepare my own breakfast and eat out on the small balacony.
I found the room warm and comfortable. The rooms were quiet so we were able to get a good nights sleep.
I did not use the bar or resteraunt so I cannot comment other than to say it looked popular. However Perth has a number of new little bars and resteraunts so there is plenty of choice if you do not want to eat at the hotel.

I did use the dry cleaning services and they were very efficient.
There is no concierge or porter for the baggage so if you want these services probably best not to stay here.

We were at a function at the Convention centre and so the Medina is very convenient.

The hotel is a good 10 minutes walk from the CBD which was not a problem for me but if you are not so fit it could be an issue.

I think the price is comparable with other hotels in the CBD.

When we left the hotel was not able to have taxis pick us up because of the City to surf run. This was an inconvenience to both us and the hotel however one of the staff did walk us to the nearest point for taxis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear ghtraveller,

Thank you for your review of the Medina Grand Perth. My team and I appreciate the time you have taken.

Your kind comments concerning your stay are appreciated.

The City to Surf race did provide access issues to the hotel on the day in question. The impact during this annual event is usually limited to 7am - 10am on a Sunday; however this year saw the start of the event at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre.

We advise all travellers planning to be in Perth during this event next year to allow extra time to obtain taxis and airport transfers due to limited access to the city.

If you would like to discuss further any aspect of your stay, please feel free to contact myself direct at the hotel.

Kind regards

Phil Wilmot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stay here one night for business meetings, the location is very good next to the convention centre and close to the financial district of Perth. Quality of the room and cleanliness is fantastic. However the heating in the room was literally none so it was torturing cold in the room and the only possible thing to heat the room up was to turn the oven on and leave the door open. The hot water in the shower was just warm, turned all the way to the hottest setting and it was just barely hot. Never had a chance to complain about anything as the stay was a very short one. Other than those two little things the place is quite good to stay at.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JosePablin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear JosePablin,

Thank you for your recent review of the Medina Grand Perth and your choosing to stay with us.

The maintenance issues you have mentioned concerning hot water and heating have been addressed. It is unfortunate that a boiler fault during your stay caused these problems. A permanent fix to problem has been applied.

Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. I am sure your fellow travellers will find you review of assistance.

If you would like to discuss further any aspect of your stay, please feel free to contact myself direct at the hotel.

Kind regards

Phil Wilmot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was staying in Medina Grand Hotel that my husband book for celebrating my birthday.
What I can say is, the primier one bedroom is very nice and big.
However, I got a terrible experience with Staff calling me in the early morning at 10am for reminding me to check out on time. Which I was actually requested and confirmed that my late check out at 12. The reception staff rang me during my sleep and only give me a laugh at the end to apologise her mistaken call. How unprofessional is that !!!

And till 11ish my husband was having a shower and I was packing up my stuff. The housekeeper just knocked the door and came in. I was like... Thank God I got clothes on and not in the shower !! Housekeeping only walked in and have no idea we are suppose to be late check out and even ask me what time will I be leaving the room so he could be able to clean up the room.
Terrible ! And so Unrespectful !! Without apologising the disturbance and really impolite.
Considering the privacy of guest staying in the hotel, what if I was undress in the room and the staff just came in !!

The hotel was great but with very unprofessional and untrained staff !!
Wont be suggesting any of my friends to stay in this hotel !! A big disappointment !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kashwinder S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Queenief

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am extremely disappointed to learn that your experience did not meet with expectations.

I am sorry that you were woken up by one of my team members when you have confirmed for a late check out. Please be assured that we have taken steps to ensure this will not occur again in future.

I do apologize for the Housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. I have discussed this with the respective department to ensure this will not happy again.

We do hope to see in the future and if I can be of any further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me at the property.

Kind Regards

Kashwinder Singh
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,212 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Perth

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Perth
Address: 33 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
#10 Family Hotel in Perth
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#19 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on site at the Perth Convention Centre, in the heart of the CBD and close to many attractions like the magnificent Kings Park, Adina Apartment Hotel Perth is the perfect base for your upcoming visit to Perth, no matter whether you're travelling for business or pleasure. Likened to one big holiday resort, Perth offers many attractions, great climate, miles and miles of beautiful beaches and much more. Free transport is available in the CBD and the hotels location makes for easy access in and out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Perth Hotel Perth
Medina Grand Hotel Perth
Perth Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing