We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Perth
Post
Inbox
Search

“Awesome food awesome customer service ”

Galangal Thai Restaurant
Order Online
Ranked #23 of 1,871 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $8 - $81
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Voted as one of the top 2 Thai Resturants in Perth and one of the top 20 restaurants overall. Relaxed but with an Upmarket classic style restaurant in a very accessible location just north of the city centre, 10 minutes from the CBD, with loads of free parking. serving Traditional Thai recipes in Classy Downtown Bangkok format. The food is prepared with local and in-season produce where possible and we source our fresh daily fresh ingredients. All prepared in an open kitchen which adds to the busy atmosphere of this unique restaurant. The restaurant is fully licensed or you can BYO Sunday to Thursday. We have a well-stocked bar and wine room. All Asian beers are served with local and international wines. Our executive chef Jang has been preparing and cooking Thai style cuisine for over 30 years and once you taste the food served to you, you will see why Galangal has won over 20 converted restaurant awards over the last few years.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here on our holiday and have to say this is the one of the best thai restaurants I’ve been to awesome customer service and yummy food!!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank J8893SUshanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020

Four of us dined. Started with 2 appetisers i.e Fish cakes which were fine & Galloping Horses (a sweet-savory-nutty mixture of minced duck, ground shrimp and crushed cashew nut topping on fresh pineapple slices) which was disappointingly small in size & taste. The main courses were very good while my sweets of sticky rice with fresh mango was probably the best I have had. Service whilst friendly was slow even though we dined early. We had to attract the attention of the staff more than once. Servings generally were on the smaller size while prices were up market.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Best Thai ever in Perth if not Australia! I have had a lot of Thai over the years but I must say the Duck curry and the Pork Belly salad are simply stunning a amazing blend of
Flavours. The sticky rice desert with fresh mango is a must have !
Thanks for a great meal !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank richardhD6739ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019

Perhaps it is, but when you rate the quality of the food, the ambience of the restaurant, the efficiency (and friendliness) of the service and the price, I can't think of a better Thai restaurant in Perth. The menu is extensive, containing all your old favourites, as well as some dishes that you may not be familiar with. You can bring your own wine (but not on Friday or Saturday nights), if you don't mind paying corkage ($8/bottle) - I'd rather choose from their good wine list.The surroundings are very comfortable and it's easy to let an evening drift away in this lovely restaurant. I love Thai food and, as I said before, I don't know a better Thai restaurant in Perth. However, don't expect to drop in and get a table - Galangal is popular - so make a reservation beforehand.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlesW934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam09143652489, Manager at Galangal Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Thanks so much for this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019

Popular and busy restaurant with friendly staff. Excellent Thai food well prepared and presented, with good portion size

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Adventure589981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal Thai Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Galangal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing