We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food - Just don't ask for a menu change”
Review of Gordon St Garage

Gordon St Garage
Ranked #113 of 1,352 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food - Just don't ask for a menu change”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Recently holidayed in Perth and found this place. Eclectic decor, staff and customers, just loved it - it has a real vibe. We were so impressed we returned for a final breakfast before we left. We were there very early on Sunday morning before the rush had started. Whilst the menu advises that they do not alter the menu, my husband asked if he could not have the feta on the corn fritters. The waitress advised this would not present a problem at all. Only when we checked the bill did we find we had been charged an additional $3.00 for NOT having the feta. Would we go back if in Perth?.... Yes we would. Would we ask for an item to be removed from our order? definitely NOT. We didn't find this place to be any more expensive than any of the other breakfast places we ate at and the produce was fresh, healthy & well presented.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    93
    51
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fluster free”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had breakfast here this morning and it was on a word....amazing! We were first there and as it was bucketing down outside I stepped inside before they opened. A bold move in a Perth cafe. I was welcomed in and shown to a table. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, fast service, great coffee and even though this place didnt take long to fill up the staff remained unflustered and pleasant. I appreciate that when its busy here that it would be noisy....but if you want intimate and quiet then simply dont go and then complain later. This is a great little find well done guys!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
467 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Just do coffee...”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool but some menu items are way over-priced. Check out the small baguette in the pic; $19.00!!!! My daughter had the chilli squid, which looked and tasted good - fair enough at $19.
My carrot-celery-ginger juice was diluted with too much water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bizcoach27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstabke
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice. But that's all.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband live just down the road and Gordon st garage always looks busy and welcoming. The interior and general decor is fab, and the atmosphere was lively and fun. We went on a weekday evening for dinner...the menu was limited and we ordered pizzas. They were nice but I've had better for the price we paid.

It's a trendy looking place but if you're after an amazing meal, this won't be it. P.s. service was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aishah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Busy, noisy but a fun atmosphere with great food and service!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A very busy, noisy but fun atmosphere. We enjoyed nice wine, pizzas and salads at a recent mid week dinner. For a Sunday brunch the coffee, fruit salad and corn fritters were fresh and excellent. Staff are switched on, many other Perth eateries could do so much better with staff like these.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricaJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon St Garage also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Gordon St Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing