We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, A must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Opium

Red Opium
Ranked #28 of 1,647 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Port Louis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food was just extraordinary. It was the best Thai food I ever had. There was a good variety and the wine was so tasty. The personnel were very pleasant and well cultured. Not to forget that the fees paid for the food and wine was not expensive. A must to dine in at Red Opium

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    63
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai food out of Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I love Thai food & had been on a quest to find great authentic Thai food out of Thailand. My quest was over once I came across Red Opium. The food is incredible, decor is quirky representative of an Opum Den which goes with the Restaurant name.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Uttsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
688 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Perth, I would say so.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

One of the best Thai food outlets I have visited. It it is like an old opium den inside. Very quirky but good. The food is to die for. Loved the chicken and cashew nuts. Desserts a bit lacking but fill up on starters and main courses. All would be good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ace28065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonawarra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very noisy but quite good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited with a group of work colleagues and were looking forward to chatting together and debriefing but unfortunately the noise at Red Opium made that impossible. The interior design was interesting and the food was quite good although the serves were smallish and the bill was largish...Perhaps it was just the circumstances but I wouldn't revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJS10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something different...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I Liked walking into a completely different restaurant than I had ever been into and not knowing what to expect, just like being back in the 80s red and black theme, seedy,but not! You've got to go to experience it, not sure about the music , but it's the unusualness of it all that makes it special. Food was very good, service with loads of politeness and smiles, loads of smiles, very Perth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Opium also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Red Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing