We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks. Other food ok. Poor atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hippo Creek Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Hippo Creek Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great steaks. Other food ok. Poor atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Even on a Tuesday night the restaurant was busy -a good sign.
The decore was nice but a little plain considering. The metal chairs were uncomfortable and our table was very close to our neighbour (I was conscious not to bump them). We had the mushrooms for starters. They were extremely tasty, but came out so hot that they burnt my mouth (warning: hot filling inside).
The main course was Botswana beef. The beef itself was magnificent. Cooked to perfection and flavoursome. The mashed potato it came with was only ok (not creamy).
Desert was a small pudding and ice cream. The pudding itself was a little bland for my liking but there was some berry sauces which gave flavour to the icecream.
Staff were friendly and attentive. Service was very quick.
Unfortunately it was the atmosphere that let the venue down. It was too noisy to talk to my partner much. At the risk of sounding like a snob, the table next to us had two lads who arived in board shorts, thongs and caps - not really what we expected for a restaurant evening meal. Not saying that this is formal dining, but wear some shoes and take off the hats at least lads!
Prices were expensive considering.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pacem_KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    30
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's best to make your reservation, we walked in without any and we have to come back an hour latter as the place if full, even the bar areas.

When we returned, our table is ready. Five of us, we ordered Wahyu Tomahawk Ribeye (1,8kg) and half rack of port ribs.

Yes, the food resent action is as plain as can be! The meat, a cup of sauce and a side (mash potato). The ribs sit on top of fries. That's it.

We dig in and the meats are fantastic! We cleanup all the meats and sides in 30 minutes! Even what's normally stick to the bones are gone too!

We ordered desert and the desert are great too!

Yes, it's a bit pricey but what you get are great food.

However take note that the Hillary and Waterford menu differs from the on at subiaco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertChew-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gotta try this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food was SPECTACULAR!!! The presentation was great. This is a top notch African grill. Great place to try if you want to experience something different but don't want to go to wild.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great venue, but the restaurant itself needs improvement.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked a table for 4 on a Saturday night, (being my birthday) got given a 6.45pm slot which was far too early for us, preferring 7.30 or a bit later. Yes, the restaurant corner is noisy, but in a vibrant way, a good atmosphere. Everything started OK,polite staff, etc...we had the boerewors with chakalaka sauce as a shared entree and it was very nice. Then we made the mistake of ordering some Sth African red wine for the occasion as they have an (too) extensive wine list, just to try something different. First choice, they didn't have it, second choice, they didn't have it either, only had very expensive bottles $80.00+, so we ended up with a nice cheap NZ pinot noir instead. What a fuss!
As for the mains, although the meat itself was very good, it had too much garlic sauce on it and spoiled the dish (repeating itself all evening if you know what I mean, not pleasant!). My wife had the ostrich flan fillet, exotic red meat but stringy, just like emu. The side dish was a let down (lukewarm soggy exotic mushrooms). My hunters assaghai meat was nicely cooked, but dripped with garlic sauce onto my soggy, now garlic chips! not a smart idea!
My son had a simple B.A. sirloin with chips on the side, and it was fine, my daughter having a simple chicken dish was also happy with hers. We looked at the dessert menu, but at $14 each, we declined.
So, for a first time in a Hippocreek, it wasn't a successful one for us; it's expensive for what it is. I'm sure they are better steak houses around. Having said that, my daughter goes to the one in Subiaco (lunchtime) and there's never been any issues there. And if you want to try something a bit different, then that's fine, but be wary of the garlic sauce/butter sauce everywhere. And keep it simple with the wine list, ask what they have in stock rather than relying on their list only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcme41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was a bit dubious about going to this venue after reading some of the negative reviews in Tripadvisor but we came away happy!
There were five of us attending a family birthday dinner. It was Saturday night so yes, it was noisy but no more so than some other similar venues we've eaten in.
The service was very good and the young lady serving us was pleasant and attentive and took pride in reeling off the various beers on tap and the many sauces available to accompany the meat. The food was very good and couldn't be faulted. One of our party was gluten intolerant and his GF meal was delivered as ordered (not so in some restaurants he's eaten in).
Not a cheap place to eat in (but if you want cheap, there are plenty of Macca around) and we came away feeling we'd had good value for money. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertEC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Creek Bar and Grill also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing