We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dim Sum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Moon

New Moon
Ranked #171 of 1,644 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This is one restaurant we've been dining at for a long time, through name & location change - it has never disappointed, friendly & efficient service and consistently great dim sum. Highlights are its salt & pepper squid tentacles and baked custard tarts - two absolute family favourites!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in perth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Love this place easily the bet dim sum in perth food and service wise. We've tried a lot of places but no where in perth makes the squid as good as new moon. They are really friendly, fast and always great food. Highly recommend the prawn and coriander dumplings!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank littlelo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A place to get your Dim Sum fix.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived at 10:45 on a Sunday morning. The place was swamped with Chinese. I went on my own so was seated between a wall and a couple, which I believed to have been on a date of some sort. It was a bit awkward ordering over the couple as food was being pushed alongside the tables in trolleys. Nevertheless, I had siu mai dumplings, char siu steamed buns, turnip cake, beef rice noodle roll, egg tart and Chinese tea that came to around $24 inclusive of a $1.50 service charge...bargain!!! Service was brilliant as diners were greeted with pretty/smiling Chinese waitresses. Majority of them spoke Cantonese, which was fine with me. . This place in Perth is the next best thing to eating dim sum in Hong Kong...no exaggeration peeps. I'd definitely pay them a visit again.

星期日早上十點四十五分到新月酒家飲茶。餐廳中國客人多到要同其他人搭枱。坐住餐廳墻邊同一對情女之間有些少唔係幾自然,但對我嚟講無所謂。我嗌咗一籠燒賣,一籠叉燒包,一碟蘿蔔糕,一碟牛肉腸粉及一碟蛋撻。總數二十四蚊包括個半蚊服務費...抵到爛!!! 服務十分滿意,靚女企台對客人有笑容其他地方少可見。 大部分嘅企台都識講廣東話...YES!!! 如果你難忘香港點心,呢一道包你滿意。

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s9904055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A great little find in Northbridge! A small venue that's packed with hungry customers enjoying the wide variety of food that's available. Staff are friendly and efficient, food is very tasty and well presented and on the day we visited very busy with people lining up. A very satisfied customer who will happily return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank belindatimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Authentic Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I believe they have stop operation for nightime goers and focus on luncht time. The dim sum is authentically Hong Kong taste! It might slightly salty for some people but you've just got to drink more water to wash it off later!

Yummy! Service is great too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YunLingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to New Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing