We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Mexican food I've ever eaten”
Review of La Cholita

La Cholita
Ranked #104 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: www.facebook.com/pages/La-Cholita/282195818492184
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worst Mexican food I've ever eaten”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I just moved to Perth from Texas and was hoping for even a slight comparison to the food back home. I have to keep looking. This place that locals call "trendy", I call "hipster" and not a compliment. The tequila selection is above average--they can make drinks, but the food is borderline revolting. The tuna tostada starter was 3 little circular corn chips with flavorless toppings. The beef chimichurri was fatty with an overpowering chimichurri topping. The sides of refried beans were just plain pinto beans seasoned with cheese and cumin--and they tasted sour (old or spoiled). The Mexican rice had corn and cloves--and didn't taste like any Mexican rice I ever are before in Texas or Mexico. The flour tortillas tasted blah--not freshly-handmade as I would hope to get in a Mexican restaurant. This place is Mexican only by having thrown up a Mexican flag along a rail in the waiting area and serving tequila. In no other way can it be claimed to be a Mexican restaurant anymore than me claiming to be Australian just by adding "mate" to the end of every sentence. Look elsewhere in Perth for good Mexican food--as I shall.

Helpful?
2 Thank madhattertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    69
    20
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one of better places in Perth and still lively when rest of town has died”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

lovely staff- many from S America. Food good and I don't expect haut cuisine from Mexican but it is not the standard Mexican corn chip stuff. Lots of fish and molluscs beef tongue, beef flank etc. Several wines by the glass OK beer for Perth which appears to have largely ignored the Craft ale revolution. Great atmosphere and hey its meant to be loud music! Talk later...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thorstenvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best margharitas in WA”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've loved this restaurant/ bar for ages, now i've got my kids into it.
Fantastic fresh mexican street food, a great selection of beers, and the tamarind margharitas are magnificent.
Great music and good looking serving staff, what's not to like?
And i've discovered if you go early evening it is very kid friendly - my two aged 12 and 14 loved it, order what you like off the menu, guacamole and chips is the best i've ever eaten, and you get to say 'chimichanga'.
Best eating experience in northbridge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmyinferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome...but loud!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

OK so if you want an intimate night of conversation then this isn't the place to go...the foot tapping beats are certainly played at volume! Great atmosphere, fresh and tasty mexican tapas, friendly staff, wide selection of cocktails, tequilas, beers and wines...there's really nothing not to like!

Helpful?
Thank pea6uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice but far too LOUD!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have visited this place on 3 occasions now, the food is great, the wine selection is great, the service is great, the staff are great, but......the music is so LOUD you have to shout at the people next to you just to be heard. Surely the management must realise that people go to places like this to converse with their friends as well as partake in the food and wine etc.
Only go if you do not care too much about your ear drums!
Other than that the place is nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaliLover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cholita also viewed

Highgate, Vincent
Victoria Park, Greater Perth
 
Subiaco, Greater Perth
East Victoria Park, Victoria Park
 

Been to La Cholita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing