We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait... ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuck Shop Cafe

The Tuck Shop Cafe
Ranked #4 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth the wait... ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Small place with friendly staff and great food. Well worth the wait to get a seat on a weekend. Food well presented and market fresh. Coffees the right strength and temperature. Every staff member makes you feel very welcome and kitchen staff unflustered, clean and professional.

Helpful?
1 Thank SAT5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    132
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want MORE MORE MORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

They normally have long wait times during weekends, however it's worth the wait, the pork belly is delicious and so is the blueberry pancakes! The restaurant is small, however it is very cozy and warm, if you are looking for a place to have a long conversation this is not the place to be as it is a little noisy and also the queue for seats is long

Watch out you will want to go back for more

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Perth Breakfast...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have visited Tuck Shop Cafe on many occasions since our arrival in Perth.

We always call ahead to make sure we get a table on arrival (BIG TIP) but if you forget, it's definitely worth the wait

The staff are FANTASTIC and the coffee is always good, oh and the food isn't too shabby either

BIG THUMBS UP FROM ME!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cozy cafe doing all the little things very well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stopped into The Tuck Shop while making our way around Perth for the day. From the moment we walked in, we enjoyed the friendly service - the warm smiles, the attentive service, and friendly conversations.
The menu changes on a daily basis, and the impressively wide selection of entrees had us making some wonderfully tough decisions. I was surprised at the range of dishes available all day long. In the end we happily settled on the chorizo w/ crispy pork belly and tasmanian smoked salmon. Both dishes came out promptly, beautifully plated, so fresh and SO tasty!
The lemon riccota that lined the salmon were pillowy clouds of heavenly goodness, and the potatoes in the chorizo dish were cooked to perfection.
We were very impressed.
The cappuccino was excellent too.
A great little spot to stop by while in Perth. Next time I'm definitely getting the pie though - I saw a few people around me tucking into them - and they looked fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AspiringVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
2,829 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,826 helpful votes
“Our favourite breakfast place in Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

First came last year when it was relatively nw. Just as good now but a little harder to get into. Amazing variety of breakfast dishes - it is obviously an all day menu but I had never tried either pork belly or nasi goreng for breakfast.
Loved them both - large quantities and excellent quality - coffee is first class.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tuck Shop Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
South Perth, Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Tuck Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing