We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it - a great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuck Shop Cafe

The Tuck Shop Cafe
Ranked #4 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
2,829 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,826 helpful votes
“Loved it - a great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were staying at the east end of Perth and only had time for a quick breakfast.
Started off for Leederville where I love the cafes but it didn't take to realise that Perth's traffic is now as bad as Sydney's.
We spied The Tuck Shop as we drove along and it was absolutely wonderful.
Great menu, lovely food and very professional staff.
A diverse and quality menu that would suit either breakfast or lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    132
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We read about this cafe in the Gourmet Traveller 2013 Restaurant Guide. We had just arrived in Perth and wanted to enjoy a leisurely breakfast, so decided to check out The Tuck Shop Cafe. Despite problems with the gas, staff handled this well and warned us before we sat down that not all meals were available. All the staff were friendly, attentive and thoughtful. This place was busy and I can see why. Wish it was my local!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flinthonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast vego and gf friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fellow trip advisors seem to love this place and seemingly for the meaty dishes - so I wanted to see if there was something there for the vego in all of us. Hurrah - there was - I had the spinach and mushroom dish and am into the way they did the feta - was that some parmesan in there?! woot!
Sometimes vego breakfasts are more quantity than qw-a-lity (done with an indian head wobble) - but these guys got it right. Well done - recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best breakfast in Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This has become our new favourtie cafe!
The baked beans with ham hock and parmesan toast is delicious!
The bruschetta is massive and gourmet. Best breakfast in perth by far. Especially if you prefer something a little different from bacon and eggs. The breakfast moroccan meatballs are also well worth a try!
I would highly recommend coming early on the weekend as they tend to get a big queue after about 930am

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Lunch with a friend. Simple, delicious menu. The pies looked amazing but I didn't have one. I had Ciabatta with lemon Ricotta, fresh herbs, shaved fennel, asparagus and greens. Yum! My friend had the baked beans with smoked ham hock, onion rings and Parmesan toast. Only had to wait 5 minutes for a table despite being really busy. Great service and nice atmosphere.
Will definately be going back soon. It's my new local favourite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tuck Shop Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
South Perth, Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Tuck Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing