We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours
from $52.55
More Info
from $108.60
More Info
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
203
31
3
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
203
31
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canning river sea lions penguin island river gods local wildlife great morning bird species great exercise enjoyable afternoon our tour guide paddling seal equipment nesting instructions info
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 244 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

We loved the service and enjoyed our kayak adventure trip to the Seal & Penguin Islands and Shoalwater Islands offered by Rivergods.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank ypgorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergods, Owner at Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2019

Thanks for the review, please come again soon and remember to do our half day river tours also!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Good value for money - see the wildlife get some excercise and fresh air. You do get a bit wet so take a change of clothes and 3 hours is a long time , so take some snacks

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I undertook the day tour of seal / penguin islands
Our tour guide Greg was outstanding not only very knowledgeable on all aspects of the tour including bird, plant and sea life but also gave us time and opportunity to explore including a tour of penguin island
We saw a number of dolphins, Seal Lions and pelicans as well as Little penguins.
The kayak equipment is very good including snorkeling gear. You have the opportunity for a swim / snorkel.
The distances involved are not arduous and suitable for a range of kayaking ability including novices.
Included in a picnic lunch which was fresh and substantial.
So when one considers this is an all inclusive package I don’t think the cost is excessive.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank JohnTh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergods, Manager at Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Thanks for the review and thanks for coming paddling with us! Have a good day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

This was a brilliant tour, with the knowledgeable Greg, who knew his birds. We had wonderful weather and the kayaking was very pleasant. Saw dolfins, seals, pelicans (love the pelicans) and the fairy penguins. Beautiful little island. Greg can also put together a very good lunch. This is a tour that is well worth doing.
Pamela Hulshoff

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank pamhul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergods, Owner at Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Thanks Pamela for coming and letting others know about it -we appreciate both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

We have joined the seal island + pegnuin island tour, The tour itself is not cheap, 180AUD per person for 5hrs but it turned out to be a very disappointing experience:

- we had like 10mins in total to see the seal from our kayak so if your main goal is the seal you might have to take this as consideration

- the tour guide was a failure, she was very very unprofessional, she doesn't seem to know much about wildlife there and the Island there, she was unable to provide any value added experience, all the information she was talking can be easily learned from reading the signs that stand on the island (which is much better), the only words she could use to descripe the wildlife there were "very very big", "very small" "there are many many birds" "its very very wavy / wind"  "the water is really clear" which we can simply see it with our own eyes or keep telling where is east and north and west. I guess its all because she just doesn't know much and nothing else to say otherwise. She even had info. wrong that she said the 1st person who lived on the island  came in 1914 but the sign there actually said he came in 1917...there arent too many different species of birds on the island and 1 most popular one is pelicans but she cant even tell if its dad or mum or both would do the feeding (her colleague ans her end up but unfortunately he is not the one who do the talk but her); she doesnt know there is a shower at the soalwater bay toilet (there is only one at the car park where they park everytime there) which could actually be a useful information to be shared with her customer, she doesn't even have a watch so she has no idea about the time and she has to ask around for it, and the worst is she act disrespectfully to animals! As there are many birds on the island including Raven, there was 1 Raven keep making loud noise on the tree where she stand close to while she was talking to other participants, she was annoyed and she THREW a wetbag towards the Raven!!?? Omg, I mean we people are actually visitor of the island and animals do noise with their reasons but not to disturb human intentionally, i believe the more approiate way would be to walk away and talk in other spot instead of attack the animal, esp. As a tour guide of such kind of tour, i am really shocked to see how the tour guide treat animals.
I was also expecting we have our tour guide in front of us to lead us to the island and 1 more stay at the back to take care of those who cant do it so quick, but at the she keep staying in the middle and kept screaming while we were kayaking, tried to tell us where to go and what to do (but as the wind was strong the wave was big, she was far away from everyone and we were in open water) we could hardly hear her and we end up figure out where to go ourselves instead of leaded by her

And for everyones reference we have joined a manta ray marine life tour in the north side, we did 2 open water snorkling, swam with Manta Ray closly for 2 times, they even had plane arranged on the sky to spot the manta ray for it and most importantly, the tour guide there are super professional, they would not just say the manta ray is very very big, instead he could tell us they can grow up to 6m long and the one we saw was about 3m long and whats their behaviour and life cycle, and that tour only cost AUD165...

So I am not trying to be demanding, i wouldnt complain the seal were far away i didnt spot any wild pegnuin because I understand its sth she cant control, but for things she can control, the tour guide just didnt do her job, there are not many different kinds of animals on the island she could easily study about them a bit more through books or online to make herself a bit more knowledgable than common tourists but I feel she had put no effort on preparing herself to really do her job better.

At the end, money is not important if you could deliever your service up to the level but i just cannot understand at all why this tour is AUD180 with this level of service and such unprofessional tour guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank KikoKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergods, Owner at Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear readers you might be able to discern that this client has taken a strong dislike to one of the two guides who ran the tour that day! We are sorry to see someone so unhappy after such a fun day, it seems to have made her forget that the reason one guide didn't have a watch/phone was because the other guide did (one example - I am not going any further ) but it takes all sorts to make a world and we thank this client for her participation and wish her well for her future adventures. I invite you all to come and enjoy this kayak tour - check the 200 + positive reviews if you are not sure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019 via mobile

This was the best kayaking tour! Our guide was absolutely awesome, he made the trip, knowledgeable and funny and easy going! So much nature the dolphins and sea lions and many birds. Really great day! Thanks Rivergods!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lauren-poulsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivergods, Owner at Rivergods Kayak Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thanks Lauren glad you enjoyed and will pass your comments to Greg ( your guide that day). Come again soon and bring more friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews