We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good choice”
other travelers have booked this property
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
A Warm Welcome to Istana Alfred Cove Winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
187 reviews
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
A Warm Welcome to Istana Alfred Cove
Winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence 2014
You Are Cordially Invited to A Home-Away-from-Home
Enter A World of Relaxation, Calm and Happy Moments
Visitor and Tourist Information
Dining Room
Free Flow from Dining to the Alfresco/Patio
All Ready To Meet and Greet Our Valued Guests
Welcome Gift Pack Available for Purchase
Activity Area Where Everyone Comes Together In the Heart of the House
A Balance of Work and Play
A Piano and Guitar Duet
Tinkle the Night Away on Ebony and Ivory
FREE - IDD Calls*, Wi-Fi Internet Access, Laptop, Phone Calls, Use of the Perth Entertainment Book
A Bird's Eye View
Spacious Kitchen 1
Spacious Kitchen 2
Fully equipped kitchen (1)
Fully equipped kitchen (2)
Home Theatre
Battle of the Minds Over A Cup of Tea
Family Room - A Favourite Room to Gather In Coziness 1
Family Room - A Favourite Room to Gather In Coziness 2
Master Bedroom (1)
Master Bedroom (2)
Safe Boxes in Every Bedroom & Indoor Slippers
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Display of Bedroom with Extra Bed
Common Bath & Shower
Powder Room / Separate Toilet
Spanking Clean
Laundry Room with Washer & Dryer
Patio/Alfresco Area with BBQ (1)
Patio/Alfresco Area with BBQ (2)
Patio/Alfresco Area (3)
Croon Your Hearts Out at Karaoke
Mahjong Entertainment for the Adults (1)
Mahjong Entertainment for the Adults (2)
Games Den - Entertainment for Hours
Foosball Challenge
For Those Who Prefer Mind Games
Daisy the Cow Awaits the Littlest VIP to Stay
Keep Fit While Holidaying
FREE Arcade Games - Pit Your Wits Against Each Other. 62 Games.
Having fun at the Arcade Games Cocktail Table.
And the Winner is......!!!
Pinball Machine - Fun for Everyone!
Iron Man Pinball machine - all for FREE!
Fruit Trees Line the Driveway
Famous Garden City Shopping Centre Around the Corner (1)
Famous Garden City Shopping Centre Around the Corner (2)
Melville Bowling Club Just Across the Road
Sailing Against the Perth City Skyline
Point Walter Reserve Within Walking Distance
Views from Alfred Cove While Walking, Jogging, Cycling
North Lake Shopping Centre - Closest Shops
Riseley Centre - Upmarket Shopping Village
Booragoon Bus Station - A Convenient Connection Point
The Esplanade Fremantle
Fremantle - Entry to Monument Hill Memorial
Fremantle - Monument Hill Memorial
Scots Church Fremantle
Fremantle Markets (1)
Fremantle Markets (2)
Fremantle Markets (3)
Fremantle - Dining on the Wharf
Fremantle - E Shed Markets
Fremantle - Famous Coffee Strip
Fremantle - Sala Thai Restaurant
Thank You for Choosing to Stay with Us ..... Leave with A Few Words for Us to Remember You By
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perth, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 187 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
English first
Korean first
Any
English first
Lien Soon...
1 review
“Good choice”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Your nice clean and convenient stay...and a very friendly host to guide u throughout your stay............................................................

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Thank you for your compliment and good review! Thank you for your patronage. It's been a pleasure accommodating you and your party.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
Owner / Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazwan
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST ACCOMODATION EVER!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What Shirley had provided at Istana Alfred Cove is not a house but a HOME away from home. Everything was so very good from the booking to the point we checked out. It really is an amazing house.

Dealing with Shirley during the booking process was such a breeze. All email sent to her was promptly replied. We even chatted through Watsapp which made it so much easier.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Shirley who then gave us a tour of the house. A complimentary fruit basket was already on the dining table when we walked in. Shirley even provided some basic food stuff in the pantry such as different kinds of sauces, tea and coffee, instant noodle, etc. The best part was that Shirley even provided us Sabun Sertu and 6 prayer matts (we are a muslim family). There is also a Qibla direction in all rooms. Very thoughtful of them.

The house was amazing. We are a family of 13 people staying in that house which included 2 children and 2 infant. The set up of the house really made it easier for us to spend quality time together every time we are home, either at the dining table or in the TV room with the karaoke set. They even have basket full of toys for the kids. The adults spent most of the time in the games room. All the bed in the house has got electric blanket which we all loved (it gets very cold at night).

Both Shirley and Douglas put their hard thoughts in making this place such a wonderful home and it is reflected on all the things in the house. It is their attention to small details that made this home more meaningful. Shirley was even kind enough to make us a nice hot dessert on a cold night and it was yummy.

Staying here had made our time in Perth so memorable. Thank you Shirley and Douglas. You guys really did a great job. Keep it up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Dear Nazwan

We are indeed humbled by your excellent review. We are passionate with what we do as our guests are important to us. Making sure everyone - from the elderly to the very young - is catered for is essential for your enjoyment of the accommodation, and of course, the trip to Perth. Everyone must be happy!

We try to be as thoughtful as we possibly can with all our valued guests by offering free grocery shopping service. For those arriving on flights that may arrive late, we offer to order and pick-up meals, timing it to make sure the food is still warm by check-in time. We cannot have our guests starve and eat cold meals!

We try our best to see to everyone's needs - prayer mats, walker for the elderly, sabun sertu (cleansing soap for Muslims), steamboat/hotpot boat appliance & utensils, karaoke, pinball machine, etc - because we believe a HOME is the best place to be even if you are away travelling.

We are open to feedback and any suggestions that will help us improve on our service standards. So, thank you for yours when we had a few chats in between.

Thank you too for looking after the property as were your own. Very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your lovely family to Istana Alfred Cove in the very near future. It's been a pleasure accommodating you!

Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
Owner / Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serenetml
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“WOW - one word says it all...”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The moment the kids stepped into the house...you can see them in AWE ....The house is a replicate of the pictures...u see what you get and immaculately clean :D Initially, I was quite skeptical that the Owner would really provide the "arcade games" as listed but ...I was proven Wrong! Both the Pac-man and Pinball machines were in good working condition and really entertaining for the both the kids and men in our group...It brought out the children in them....I must say there is everything for everybody... toys for the younger kids...and Mahjong/KTV for the Adults... Shirley also prepared us a "pantry of food" (which took care of our breakfast and supper needs) and condiments are also available for Asian cooking in a fully equipped kitchen ... The location's awesome too...just minutes away from everything :D

Istana - Alfred Cove is really a home away from home for us...and has well exceeded our expectations...

Thanks Shirley and Douglas for making our stay at the Istana - Alfred Cove such a memorable one (even Honey was a charmer):D

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you Serene for your awesome review. We are glad to have exceeded your expectations, especially those in your group who have never tried short term accommodation.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay tremendously and everyone had something to occupy themselves.

We would also like to thank you for looking after the property as were your own.

You and your wonderful family are always welcome to Istana Alfred Cove - indeed a Home-away-from-Home! We look forward to your return visit.

Thank you for your patronage

Shirley and Douglas
Owner / Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryn77
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Istana provides us a quality stay!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The stay in Istana Cove is definitely a warm & memorable ones! Our whole family is very happy with the cleanliness of the house, most of the fixtures & kitchenwares are very well equipped which made our stay so convenient & enabled us to cook our meals easily! The host, Shirley has been very friendly & helpful in accommodate to our special requests too! She is always there for us whenever we want to reach out to her, a nice & attentive lady! I would highly recommend travelers with extended family to stay here. Trust me! The young children would be pampered with all the games, toys & piano in the house :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Dear Eryn

You and your sister are indeed great Mums, always looking out in the best interest of your lovely children. There are indeed alot to keep the little ones happy and entertained. The big kids (all husbands) are also kept busy with the pinball, arcade games table and table tennis. Not to mention, the two lovely elderly grandmas had a great time singing their hearts out with the karaoke!

We are very pleased to know that the house has met with your expectations of cleanliness and convenience. At Istana Alfred Cove, we are always there to lend a hand, if needed.

We enjoyed your company and chatting to you. We look forward to your return stay in the near future.

Thank you for your patronage

Shirley and Douglas
Owner / Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siewching...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Amazing host providing an excellent stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Me and my group of friends went to Perth for our graduation trip and stayed at Shirley's place for 9 nights.

The owners of the house would always reply to any of my enquiries very promptly through email and whatsapp. They would make sure that our arrival and departure would be smooth. On our first day, we only arrived late at night, and the hosts offered to get us dinner!

The house was exactly like in the pictures, it was big and spacious. There were many facilities in the house like the entertainment room where you can play ping pong, board games and there is even a karaoke room!

Overall, our trip to Perth has been an amazing one! Thank you Shirley and Douglas for your warm hospitality and I would definitely recommend this house to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Thanks Siew Ching for an amazing review! So happy to hear of your memorable trip to Perth, especially when it was a graduation trip for yourselves.

We cannot have our valuable guests arrive hungry late in the evening. So we took your orders ahead and brought in the food just about the time you arrive to make sure you have warm food. A satisfied stomach makes a very happy person!

Glad that you found the property as advertised on the website and that it offered everyone loads of room and space to each his own.

Thank you too. It's indeed been a pleasure meeting everyone. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.

Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
Owner / Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suyen85
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Stay in Perth City :)”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This house has a clean kitchen with complete cooking tools, warm bedrooms with sufficient spaces, variety of games, entertainment equipments and outdoor facilities (e.g., BBQ stove and carpark space). Owners are nice and friendly, provide lovely reception gifts and information for surrounding restaurant (delicious food). Location of house is very near to tourist spots (King's park, Fremantle, Burswood, etc.) by car. Definitely will stay again for the next visit to Perth !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games and entertainment facilities
Liked least: Heater (with gasoline smell)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thank you for your review Su Yen. It's been a pleasure accommodating you and your family. It gives us great pleasure knowing that Istana Alfred Cove has met with your expectations of a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaShells...
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home away from home...”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our family of 9 adults and 2 children booked to stay at Shirley's and Douglas' for 5 nights.

Communication:
Communication was prompt, polite and professional from the moment we contacted them. Shirley tries her best to help or find a solution to ensure our arrival is smooth and she is a flexible host. It was even better meeting both Shirley and Douglas in person! They have very warm personalities.

Property:
This is a self-contained vacation rental. There are two houses (separate) on the property. The one in front is Shirley's and Douglas' residences while the one behind is the actual rental. Property is located along Canning Highway, BUT surprisingly we (well at least me) couldn't hear any traffic noise from the main road. Parking is spacious (we have a starex and montero).

Interior of the house is clean and well maintained. Please look at the photos which accurately depict the property and house. The entire house is cooled with a centralized evaporative water cooler.

The house has:
- 4 bedrooms. One master with ensuite while the other 3 share one toilet and bathroom (separate).
- two entertainment rooms with cable TVs (flat screen and bigger than 50"). One is equipped with karaoke.
- Free internet with very good speed and landline telephone are also included.
- linens, pillows, towels, starter kit of toiletries like toilet paper, soap, shampoo and welcome food basket (bread, jams, milk & etc) are provided to start you with.
- laundry and cleaning room is equipped with iron/iron board, washing machine, dryer and etc.
- Kitchen is fully stocked with plenty of equipment for you to cook up a storm.
- plus many more.... :)

Neighborhood:
This neighborhood and location were what we are looking for and suit what we came to do. We felt safe in the suburb of Alfred Cove. There is a KFC and few shops within walking distance (as in 1 minute walk). A mall (Garden City) is just a few minutes drive away (perhaps 4-5 kilometers). Swan River is also close by.

Value:
Definitely very good value compared to staying in a hotel. Fits groups or family who wants to stay & bond together but have individual space to retreat too if needed. It has definitely changed the way we travel as a family.

Overall, we had a great experience. It was our home away from home and we would stay there again if we visit Perth and IF Shirley and Douglas will have us again. :-)

Our family would like to thank Shirley and Douglas for their warm hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Of course, we'll welcome you and your lovely family back any time Michele! It's been an absolute delight and pleasure meeting you and everyone. We enjoyed the many interesting chats we had.

We are pleased to know that Istana Alfred Cove and its location has met with your family's expectations. Most importantly, you made use of the provided amenities & facilities as well as the convenience of nearby facilities.

Thank you too for your compliments and an excellent review. We very much look forward to your return stay in the near future. We wish you and your family the very best.


Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing