We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Greatest Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
A Warm Welcome to Istana Alfred Cove Winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence 2014
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
187 reviews
So Cozy and Full of Warmth!
A Warm Welcome to Istana Alfred Cove
Winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence 2014
You Are Cordially Invited to A Home-Away-from-Home
Enter A World of Relaxation, Calm and Happy Moments
Visitor and Tourist Information
Dining Room
Free Flow from Dining to the Alfresco/Patio
All Ready To Meet and Greet Our Valued Guests
Welcome Gift Pack Available for Purchase
Activity Area Where Everyone Comes Together In the Heart of the House
A Balance of Work and Play
A Piano and Guitar Duet
Tinkle the Night Away on Ebony and Ivory
FREE - IDD Calls*, Wi-Fi Internet Access, Laptop, Phone Calls, Use of the Perth Entertainment Book
A Bird's Eye View
Spacious Kitchen 1
Spacious Kitchen 2
Fully equipped kitchen (1)
Fully equipped kitchen (2)
Home Theatre
Battle of the Minds Over A Cup of Tea
Family Room - A Favourite Room to Gather In Coziness 1
Family Room - A Favourite Room to Gather In Coziness 2
Master Bedroom (1)
Master Bedroom (2)
Safe Boxes in Every Bedroom & Indoor Slippers
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Display of Bedroom with Extra Bed
Common Bath & Shower
Powder Room / Separate Toilet
Spanking Clean
Laundry Room with Washer & Dryer
Patio/Alfresco Area with BBQ (1)
Patio/Alfresco Area with BBQ (2)
Patio/Alfresco Area (3)
Croon Your Hearts Out at Karaoke
Mahjong Entertainment for the Adults (1)
Mahjong Entertainment for the Adults (2)
Games Den - Entertainment for Hours
Foosball Challenge
For Those Who Prefer Mind Games
Daisy the Cow Awaits the Littlest VIP to Stay
Keep Fit While Holidaying
FREE Arcade Games - Pit Your Wits Against Each Other. 62 Games.
Having fun at the Arcade Games Cocktail Table.
And the Winner is......!!!
Pinball Machine - Fun for Everyone!
Iron Man Pinball machine - all for FREE!
Fruit Trees Line the Driveway
Famous Garden City Shopping Centre Around the Corner (1)
Famous Garden City Shopping Centre Around the Corner (2)
Melville Bowling Club Just Across the Road
Sailing Against the Perth City Skyline
Point Walter Reserve Within Walking Distance
Views from Alfred Cove While Walking, Jogging, Cycling
North Lake Shopping Centre - Closest Shops
Riseley Centre - Upmarket Shopping Village
Booragoon Bus Station - A Convenient Connection Point
The Esplanade Fremantle
Fremantle - Entry to Monument Hill Memorial
Fremantle - Monument Hill Memorial
Scots Church Fremantle
Fremantle Markets (1)
Fremantle Markets (2)
Fremantle Markets (3)
Fremantle - Dining on the Wharf
Fremantle - E Shed Markets
Fremantle - Famous Coffee Strip
Fremantle - Sala Thai Restaurant
Thank You for Choosing to Stay with Us ..... Leave with A Few Words for Us to Remember You By
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perth, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 187 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
English first
Korean first
Any
English first
Eddie L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatest Stay”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house is very complete and suitable for any group of traveler. Extremely warm and good service by Shirley and Douglas.

Location was great. 24 hours grocery shop is few km away and lot of dining area nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lots of entertainment, cozy environment for family
Liked least: some cooking utensil not properly clean and greesy. but generally kitchen is complete and great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
A delight to welcome keen first-timers to Perth - and Australia. It has been a pleasure meeting your adventurous group and interesting conversationalists. We are happy to know you found the property very complete and suitable. Thank you for your very good review. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the very near future. Kind regards Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4dsng
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“New experiences, familiar home setting, wonderful hosts and a fulfilling holiday”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We planned and we read as much as we could for our extended family's trip to Perth. We had to prepare as much as we could because we have four children under five, two elderly grandparents and two parents and a brother-in-law. There are too many superlatives with regard to our holiday home, our guests and the most wonderful hospitality shown by them. I shall start with the moment we arrived at Istana Alfred Cove. We were warmly greeted by Shirley - and the home received us with the warmth inside too when we came in from the cold. A short while later after we got our bags into the room, along came Douglas, (Shirley's husband) who went to pick up our pre-ordered dinner and self-delivered it to us. What a fantastic start to our holiday! Even our beds were warmed for us with the electric blankets - and that was so much needed by grandparents. The hospitality did not stop there - a couple of days later, our hosts brought us bean curd desert and topped that up with a speciality from Douglas - red bean desert with sago, longan and citrus skin!
We want to truly thank Shirley and Douglas for making our holiday so memorable!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
What a delight to host you and your lovely family. It always gives us immense pleasure to see families - from the elderly to the youngest - come together just to spend quality bonding time. Although the weather had not been too kind in the first couple of days, we are glad that the holiday was still very much enjoyed by everyone, especially with the numerous amenities and entertainment available in the property and not forgetting to mention the yummy desserts you savoured. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards.....Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everyname...
Ashiya, Japan
1 review
“5 star hotel service and hospitality”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Firstly, two very generous and giving owners, Shirley and Douglas. Looking at the reviews given so far I think this is a clear case of karma or what goes around comes around. They give so much and take such pride in what they do that their guests give back in the form of appreciation and wonderful reviews. Very refreshing compared to so many rentals who only seem to want you to Show them the Money! They set a standard that other vacation rentals should seek to attain. Clean, clean, clean. Everything in it's place, neat, tidy and spotless, ready for use. Advice when needed but not interfering. My only suggestion to improve this house would be to add a dishwasher. Nobody wants to do the dishes on holiday and they save money in the form of less water used.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
We are very honoured and privileged to receive such a high compliment. Our belief is simple and back to basics - we value all guests, we give value-for-their money, we provide a place anyone can call home, we provide a clean, safe & cozy environment. Most importantly, every guest is important to us. We listen and empathize to improve on our service standards. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It has been a great pleasure hosting you and your family. We - and a gleaming and shiny new dishwasher - await your return in the very near future. Our warmest regards, Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke287
Beacon, Australia
2 reviews
“Country Week Bowls”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Once again Shirley and Douglas provided a great place to stay, plenty of room, clean and
comfortable. Plenty of parking. Excellent hospitality, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, location
Liked least: have nothing to like least about this place.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
It has been delightful accommodating the Mens team from Beacon Bowling Club again this year. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. We always enjoy your patronage. Kind regards, Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevecher...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pristine clean, huge home, equipped with everything you could wish for.”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Douglas and Shirley, the owners, are the most helpful people to deal with. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Our party consisted of varying numbers from day to day as different members came and went. Some of our party live in Perth, so stayed for a few days at a time. Some from the UK who only stayed a week, and a couple of us who were here for the whole time. The house is immaculately clean, with a welcome pack to settle you in. This was really useful after several hours travelling.
The house is very spacious, and all four bedrooms are, or can be, spacious doubles. The facilities are excellent, and the entertainment options are abundant, and second to none. There really is something for everybody to do.
Istana Alfred Cove is centrally located, with easy access to virtually anywhere around the Perth area. An excellent base for visiting all the attractions.
We would recommend this property to anybody with a large group, and it is especially suitable for families. Anybody who is a little unsure about travelling to Perth for the first time would do well here, as Douglas and Shirley are so helpful and obliging.
We cannot fault our stay, and would love to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much to like, cannot decide on what was best. Douglas and Shirley an added bonus.
Liked least: Nothing. The whole experience has been totally enjoyable.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
Dear Steve and Cheryl

It has indeed been wonderful accommodating you and your family & friends. Thank you very much for your compliments. We always encourage our guests' family and friends, who reside in Perth, to come by for a visit. What better way to spend quality time with friends and loved ones over a cuppa at Istana Alfred Cove! We are glad this has been a memorable & enjoyable trip and we sincerely wish you both the very best. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregg R
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here as a big family group of 12 people and it is obvious the owners of this property put a lot of effort into making it a great place to stay. The house has good entertainment in the house for kids, two big TV rooms, is centrally located in Perth ( close to CBD, Fremantle and the Airport ) and has a well equipped kitchen and nice BBQ area for meals. I have stayed in many rental properties around the world and this is definitely one of the best ones we have found. I would highly recommend choosing Istana Alfred Cove.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
We are indeed humbled by the compliments bestowed, especially by well-travelled people like yourselves. We believe in giving our guests value-for-their-money and try our very best to ensure that they are comfortable, relaxed, safe and entertained whilst away from their homes. Thank you very much for your patronage. You have a wonderful family and we hope to welcome you all back in the near future.


Kind regards

Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharlieL
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Pure opulence on a relaxed family vacation”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My family of 6 stayed here for just under a fortnight with another family of 5 and a baby. We were all spoiled and pampered by Shelly; upon arrival late at night she took the merit to show us around the house, to which we were pleasantly surprised by the plethora of resources she had provided to guarantee our absolute and maximum enjoyment. A vast array of condiments, beverages and food were already in the kitchen, covering all the basic grocery needs. The aesthetic and decoration of this house is superb, furnished with an abundance of quality, comfortable homeware which emulated an atmosphere of relaxation and luxury- perfect for a holiday home. Additionally, it's location was ideal- during our stay of 13 days, we travelled all around Perth, Fremantle, and Mandurah (which is south of Perth from memory) and istana was in the centre of it all. After a long day outside, coming home to this place was what really sealed the deal on our days here at Perth. Instead of a pool, unlike many holiday homes, istana caters for those who spend most of their days out seeing Perth; with a mini enterprise of home entertainment including table tennis, fooseball table, countless board games and more, all of which can be accessed during any time of the day, for any duration, free of any complications such as having to dry off, shower and change. Not one second in this holiday home was wasted, thanks to all the resources we had. Overall, I strongly recommend this place to any family, friends or vacationers seeking accommodation in Perth.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
We are overwhelmed by your glowing description of your stay at Istana Alfred Cove. It only tells one thing - it's been a superb stay for you and your family! Thank you for taking time to write the wonderful review. We hope that other families planning their trip to Perth will stay with us to experience the same. Thank you for your patronage. Kind regards.....Shirley and Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing