We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite enough for 4/5”

Sentinel Bar & Grill
Ranked #54 of 1,639 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $52
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sentinel Bar & Grill is a welcome addition to the burgeoning dining and small bar scene in the Perth CBD. Paying homage to the style of New York and the intrinsic food culture of France, Sentinel Bar & Grill is a sophisticated restaurant and bar, encompassing breakfast, lunch, dinner, all day dining.Sentinel's lunch and dinner menu, complemented by an enticing bar menu features a concise, considered grill component balanced with classically inspired bistro food. Sentinel's wine list promotes French titles augmented with local and other international varietals. The bar serves a varied range of both tap and bottled beer, supported by a comprehensive list of spirits and classic cocktails.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
“Not quite enough for 4/5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

At the price I think the food should be a little better. It is sometimes over salty etc although now and again they produce a really good fish or steak dish.

It relies on business lunches and dinners so as a tourist or visitor I would probably spend my own dollars elsewhere but is also a stand-alone grass-fronted bar that you can pop in for a drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    53
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A supplier took me to Sentinel for lunch today. Nice modern decor, slightly uncomfortable wooden chair but loved the overall feel of the place. To enter the dining area you are escorted down a sort of corridor which is lined with wine glasses and wine bottles; a nice piece of theater.

We both ordered pork rack, which came with broad beans. We also ordered side long beans. Very tasty, nicely presented, warm, everything I was hoping for.

Finished with a latte which was excellent as well.

Expensive glad I wasn't paying !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sensational evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this restaurant as a second choice and were delighted with the food service and views. The menu is small but all meals were brilliant. Staff pleasant and attentive. A lovely little secret. Definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bar One, its sister restaurant, is far better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Went for breakfast this morning with my wife and we were both very disappointed. Service was offhanded ("sorry we don't have sourdough, we're a french-themed restaurant" - really? I didn't realise they don't have soursough in France, someone better tell Jean-Pierre Sancho!), the food service was extremely slow, and when the food came out it was wrong (ie things inter-changed on plates) and my wife's "fetta and herb" omlettes had neither fetta nor herbs - in fact it was a very plain-looking, very bland omlette.. at a very fancy price. We were all both very indifferent about the coffee.

This is all a real surprise as it stands in stark contrast to its sister restaurant, Bar One up at QV1, which is always spot on for service, food and coffee. Maybe the difference is that the owner is far more present and visible at Bar One, whereas we've never seen him at Sentinel? I've eaten at Sentinel for lunch a few times too and my experience has also been quite average.

Anyway, breakfast here was a great disappointment, which is a shame because the location and fitout are fantastic, the owner is a passionate professional and we know they could do so much better. As it is however, there are plenty of better breakfast choices around in Perth at the moment, so our advice would be to give this one a miss...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not too keen to go back just yet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Food good but not great, nothing personal about the service. At lunch (went twice) the set up was not conducive to having any persoanl conversations.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentinel Bar & Grill also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sentinel Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing