We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brownelea Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brownelea Holiday Apartments
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Perth
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We always like to stay here on our trips to Perth. The units are always clean and fresh and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The main draw card is its location. It's only a short stroll to Hyde Park, The Northbridge Hotel and a huge array of restaurants. We stay here at least 3 or 4 times a year and wouldn't think of trying anywhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Me-and-he-equals-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was sceptical when booking this as at $115 a night in Perth you can't expect anything much! But I was pleasantly surprised.
Yes it is dated but it was clean and in a good location no more than 3 km from the city centre. It is near Hyde Park and has buses on Bulwer Street and on nearby main roads.
If you have young children, request a room on a lower floor as it is a 3 story building.
There is no oven but there are cook tops and microwaves.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room if you want to be on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WaCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks in September and found it to be excellent value, location was good for public transport.Management were very helpful, staff friendly. The apartment was serviced regularly.Nice swiming pool but we didnt use it.Noise level was minimum at night.Would recomend these apartments to anyone visiting Perth and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 249susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value if you are looking for a budget stay (apartment). Nice pool although we didnt use it. Very friendly staff at checkin.

Rooms are dated though and the beds are not good but we are happy to have stayed here for 4 nights, being able to cook for ourselves, having a separate bedroom (baby sleeping in the living room).

Would come back because of the cheap rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belgica2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I always stay at these apartments when staying in Perth due to the fabulous location and the great value. A two minute stroll to Hyde Park and to the many restaurants in Northbridge.
The rooms are neat and self contained and offer parking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Me-and-he-equals-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here with my mum for 3 weeks in February 2012. It is very clean and comfortable. We didn't know what to expect so took essentials with us - such as tea towels, dishcloths, tea, coffee and loo roll. We didn't need any of it!! Even washing up liquid was provided.

We were able to walk into Perth CBD but on really hot days we took the bus just outside the apartments. Across the road is a lovely cafe (can recommend the key lime pie).

The apartment had a kitchen/diner/lounge with fridge freezer, hob and microwave, two seater sofa and small table seating 4. There were also 2 single beds in the lounge part and a flat screen TV. The next room had a double bed with a large wardrobe, bedside cabinets and the ensuite bathroom. So you had to go through the bedroom to get the the loo. Not a problem for us but not everyones cup of tea!

Wireless internet was great and the pool and area around were good - BBQ facilities available too.

Towels were changed every other day and bed linen every week (I think). Packets of tea, coffee and sugar also provided.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

I would have no problems in recommending Brownelea for anyone who wants cheap, clean, no frills accommodation.

Lucy

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard apartment on the 1st floor, the superior ones opened out onto the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lucybart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Brownlea Holiday Apartments for a week in September 2010
We found it clean and comfortable with cooking facilities, Laundry, outdoor pool etc.
The staff were very helpful. There are plenty of eateries within walking distance. The CBD is about a 20 minute walk from the apartments , and a deli opposite , and a bakery over the road . Off street parking is available . All in all a good value for money place to stay Les Breen

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Les Breen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#57 of 79 in Perth
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#36 of 79 in Perth
3.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownelea Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownelea Holiday Apartments

Property: Brownelea Holiday Apartments
Address: 166 Palmerston St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownelea Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Northbridge, we are very near nightlife entertainment, restaurants, pubs, etc. as well as mini-markets, supermarkets, & banks. Bus stops for the city are 5 minutes walk {Perth GPO is 1.5km away} Hyde Park with its playground, cycle tracks, lakes and gardens is just 80 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Brownelea Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing