We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient business hotel”
Review of Mantra on Murray

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Murray
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient business hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel doesn't have too many frills but is very comfortable and conveniently located. The lack of parking is a bit of an issue especially over the weekend. Staff are helpful but reception and the lifts get very busy when tour groups arrive. A good choice for overnight business travellers but not the best choice for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Eli045,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments about congestion around the lifts and Reception desk when tour groups are staying with us. We have been aware of this over the last few months. This has been the first year we have worked with large regular tour groups and there have indeed been some challenges that have meant that we will not be working consistently in this market in future.

Kind regards,
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    619
    268
    100
    63
See reviews for
152
596
120
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed here over night, to see Matchbox 20 & INXS, in the newly opened Perth Arena. This Hotel is right near the main shopping Arcades, Cafes and Restaurants and 9mins to the Arena. The room has a little kitchenette, lounge, coffee table etc, so is not small. The bathroom is clean. We had a view of Murray street, and was not noisy at all. The only thing we did not like about this place was there is no parking available, and so you have to use one of the 3 or 4 paid parking facilities nearby. My suggestion would be if the Hotel group could have a deal with Car Parking company, for discounted parking and perhaps, the longer you stay, the cheaper it is. We had dinner at the Restaurant, which as just how we asked to be. I do think that it is a little dated and could do with a face-lift, but there are so many things to do in Perth, why would you spend too much time in your room, after all it is somewhere to rest/sleep. I would recommend this place and as we had an internet discounted deal, it was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Shizane,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Murray. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is indeed unfortunate that we do not have any parking available on the premises, however that is an attribute of this building that we cannot change.
We do have an affiliation with Wilsons Carparking to utilise their carpark in Queen street which is two minuts walk away. We purchase tickets from Wilsons for one, three and five days at arate of $22 per day and pass these on at cost to guests who wish to utilise that parking facility. Unfortunately, we have as yet been unable to negotiate a better deal or a sliding scale for longer parking arrangements.
I was a little surprised to readthat you found the decor a little dated as the hotel refurbishment was was only completed 18 months ago.

Thank you again for reviewing the hotel, I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this on-line as we have a huge amount to do with the Perth Telethon and considered that it may have been advantageous to catch a few hours sleep rather than driving home before having to come back to the Telethon.

After driving into Murray Street at about 12-15 to check-in problems arose with:-

1. No area to stop at the front to unload
2. No parking anywhere for your vehicle as all parking areas in a close proximity close at midnight
3. Murray Street right near this location is like a wild zoo at this time on a Saturday night
4. Cars, taxis abusing us for parking in one lane out the front while trying to unload

My husband had to stay with the car while for security reasons while I tried to get some sort of assistance to get our luggage inside and to get information from the staff about where to leave our car, however they really didn't give a rats about our situation.
The best option then for us was to go home and forego the $400+ that we paid for the two nights accommodation.

Very disappointed that a hotel like this is on offer for people coming to Perth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazzagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Kazzagirl,

I am most disappointed to read your comments.

I am sorry that you found the parking options unsuitable or unavailable. It was indeed an extraordinarily busy weekend with the opening of the Perth Arena and Telethon telecast from PCEC taking place alongside the normal activity that occurs in the city at night time.

Like many hotels throughout Australia, especially in central city locations, Mantra on Murray was not built with carparking facilities. We are very particular to ensure this is communicated in all our literature and in the information provided on all the various websites we feature on including the site you booked through.
In an effort to address the problem, Perth City Council have designated a parking bay at the front of the hotel as a 5 minute set down/pickup only bay.
Unfortunately Council Parking Rangers are the only people who can enforce this and only by issuing infringement notices.
We also have an affiliation with the Wilsons Carpark nearby in Queen Street where we purchase 1, 3 and 5 day tickets at a discount and pass these on at cost to our clientele. In addition we keep a list of all the nearby available carparks and I am informed that this was provided to you and your husband when you arrived at the hotel. We are aware that parking options in Perth are limited after midnight on any night of the week but regret that we are unable to influence the opening and closing times of those businesses.


Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you have exceptionally low standards then this is the place for you. The walls clearly have not seen a paint brush for years, carpets wearing and the bar / restaurant area is one of the most depressing I've seen anywhere in the world. However it's the staff that that is the worst part of staying at this hotel. Arrogant, condascending and unhelpful are just 3 appropriate adjectives to describe them. I could go on but suffice to say just don't stay here.

Room Tip: Tip. Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamfaeglesga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Mantra on Murray. I am most disappointed that you have not enjoyed your experience with us.
Over the last two years we have spent an enormous amount of money refurbishing the hotel including painting and re-carpeting the rooms 20 months ago, and painting and re-carpeting all the public areas including the foyer, corridors and banqueting facilities in the last 4 months. It was therefore quite a shock that you describe the property as needing paint and having worn carpet.
I am truly sorry if our service and hospitality has not been up to our normal high standards. I would certainly welcome an opportunity to discuss in detail your experience so that we can improve in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra on Murray when I collected my daughter from the airport after an overseas trip. The location was perfect, right in the heart of the city. There is not onsite parking available, but the hotel has an arrangement at a facility near by for a very reasonable fee (For Perth standards anyway).
The staff were very nice and helpful and the room was as we had requested. It was also clean and bright. We could not fault the hotel or our experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you Michelle W for your review of Mantra on Murray.
I am very pleased you enjoyed the xperience and found our staff to be helpfull and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Peter Halliday
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ive stayed at the Mantra on Murray a few times now and it never disappoints. Soon as you walk in the staff are there to help and are so friendly. The rooms are very clean, modern and good size. I always stay in the studio room which is the smallest and it is quite large for inner city hotel room.
I was advised of the in-room menu choices and they were honest enough to say after 10pm the menu is very simple so dont expect a huge selection. I love that they were so honest and informed me of this because a lot of the time you order something and what you get isnt worth the money.
You step outside the front doors and you are on Murray street which is full of pubs, cocktail lounges and eateries. big selection within walking distance & the train station being just over the road is a bonus also.
GREAT GREAT HOTEL. RECCOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIcPerth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Halliday, General Manager at Mantra on Murray, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of Mantra on Murray
We are working hard to deliver friendly hospitality in a comfortable environment. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Peter Halliday
General Manager
Mantra on Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved staying here. The staff were friendly, the room was beautiful and we had an amazing view. This is the best hotel I have stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone. Beautiful place all round!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 65 in Perth
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Murray

Property: Mantra on Murray
Address: 305 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Murray delivers contemporary, affordable accommodation close to Perth's CBD offering both corporate and leisure travellers the perfect vantage point from which to explore Perth or conduct business in the bustling city hub. Other major attractions including the Convention & Exhibition Centre, Subiaco Oval and Burswood Casino are also located close by. For corporate travellers the St Georges Terrace office towers and business centre are a mere 1 block away. The hotel features spacious, self-contained studios and suites with air-conditioning, full kitchenettes and lounge and dining areas, Foxtel and in-house movies all designed to maximise comfort and convenience. The hotel's restaurant Society Bar & Kitchenis located onsite and offers guests an extensive menu and quality wine list. The restaurant and bar provides a cosy atmosphere and the menu features modern, creative dishes which are sure to tempt. Society Bar & Kitchen is also wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities can cater for up to 200 delegates and the convenience of a dedicated conference coordinator is on hand to ensure your event, meeting or conference is both organised and successful. The hotel offers residential and day conference packages. Whether you are a holiday maker or a business traveller, do it in the comfort and style of Mantra on Murray. Please note that this hotel is fully non smoking accommodation. Maintenance Notice: As part of the ongoing beatification of Mantra on Murray we are undertaking an exterior painting project from 31 May 2017 until 22 August 2017. During this time there will be minimal disruption to guests, but as the work is been conducted via abseiling you may at times see a contractor outside your window so please don’t be alarmed. We look forward to welcoming you to Mantra On Murray and our friendly team will be able to assist with any further information or assistance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Murray Perth
Mantra On Murray Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing