We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel East Perth
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you have a car (which despite a very good public transport network, I would recommend having) this place is a very good base for discovering Perth and surrounds. Rooms are big with clean showers and great views. The area has some nice restaurants nearby ( we enjoyed shilla, a Korean BBQ, toast and the partisan for breakfast). The hotel charges for parking (24 dollars) but we ended up street parking by the park 5 minutes away, with metered parking (2.40/hr) in effect only from 8-18.00 and free parking sat and Sunday. The free cat service is amazing to do city centre things, takes 10m and leaves every 10-15m but we used the car for freemantle, Scarborough, mt lawley, cottesloe, swan valley-- all worth going to. Parking in perth is easy and there is plenty of it. The airport is about a 15-20m drive. Really convenient, pleasant and stress free sort of place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FulhamWhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear FulhamWhites,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding restaurants and ease of access to everywhere you needed to go.

It is our aim to provide all our guests with as memorable experience as you have had, and I am so pleased that this was the case for you.

We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back for a future visit very soon.

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 490 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We checked into this property for three nights.

We had issues with the first room given to us. As we were trying to freshen ourselves up in the bathroom, we noticed the water in the basin wouldnt drain. We called for assistance, and the lady at the reception came up. She told us housekeeping at this property isnt available at night, so she would attempt to fix the basin blockage for us.
Before we knew it, she got a dining knife out of the kitchen in the room and started picking hair, and all other disgusting bits out of the drain! She did offer us to replace the folk, but seriously, I wouldnt want to be the next guest who is going to be given that folk to use again.
Also, all the dirt she wiped off the basin was thrown into the loo, and wasnt flushed away after her attempt.
After all that, we tried to use the basin again. This time the water leaked from the ceramic hole at the bottom of the basin. I took a video to show the same lady at the reception, who reluctantly offered another room for us to move to.

The next day, as the weather wasnt stable, we borrowed an umbrella on the way to Fremantle. It did rain, and as soon as we tried to use the umbrella with big Accor logos printed on it, we noticed its already been ripped, there are wholes in the umbrella and the handle is falling off. It was completely useless in the rain, and we had to carry it back to the hotel after the full day while being rained on during showers.

When we returned the umbrella and expressed our disappointment, the guy in the back office simply replied "thats not very useful is it".

Then we eventually discovered the rooms will only be made up once every 3 days, the wifi internet didnt work during our last night of stay, and the aircon filter light is flashing all the way.

This is the worst experience i have ever received from an Accor property and its staff members. I will avoid this place and will steer people away from it as much as I can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear plu81,

I would like to thank you for providing your comments and feedback after your recent stay with us, and offer my sincere apologies that we were not able to meet and exceed your expectations on this stay.

I will be personally addressing the issues you experienced, as poor maintenance and broken umbrellas are not acceptable, and not what we aim to provide for our guests.

Whilst we are a three day service hotel, our team are certainly on hand to provide any assistance during our guests' stays with us, adn daily servicing is available if preferred. I can assure you that this level of maintenance and service is not to our usual high standard, nor that of our sister Accor properties, and I will be addressing these issues immediately.

Thank you again for providing this feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back should you return to Perth in the future, in order to redeem ourselves for you.

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Ph: 08 9223 2585

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while holidaying in Perth.

Room was clean was very well appointed. We had fantastic views of the river and overlooking East Perth River
The room was fully equipped and large and spacious. The bathroom was modern and the kitchen was fully furnished. I like the large size of the fridge.

The downfall was no concierge. We had to carry our luggage and push the trolley ourselves.

The hotel needs to educate the staff about manners. The girl that checked us out (Christine- the hotel manager) was rude and not interested in her job. We stood at the service desk for 5 mins until we got served and all we could hear was a few staff member talking and swearing about other guests and other staff! Totally unprofessional!!! 5 mins later they came out to serve us. The same lady checked us out and quickly brushed us away and rolled her eyes as if we were disturbing their peace and quietness.


The hotel does not have a swimming pool but the beach is only 20 mins away.

We wont be coming back here again and will not be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelalot1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Travelalot1959,

I would like to thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us, and offer my sincere apologies that whilst you enjoyed the room and our hotels location, our service was not not to our normal high standards.

Whilst our hotel does not have concierge, our team are usually available at all times to assist our guests needs, and ensure that all requirements are met with a sense of urgency and importance. Our staff are usually our greatest assest and I am sorry that this was not the case during your stay, and I will certainly be addressing this issue with our team.

Should you wish to return for a future visit, we would welcome an opportunity to have you back to showcase our usual fabulous service standards, and also show you our pool, which is located just out on our boardwalk. I would be pleased to personally assist in bokoing arrangements should you choose to return to us.

Our apologies again,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Ph: 08 9223 2585

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a large one bed room city view apartment with a King bed.
The room was a nice size and had a sofa bed in the lounge room if more people were staying. Location was great and close to restaurants on Claisebrook Cove.
The on site gym had some good cardio equipment but no weight training gear.
Although I can't remember the customer service agent name at reception, she was very pleasant to deal with, very friendly and intuitive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techead76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear techead76,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback after your recent stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your apartment, and the surrounding restaurants and location, and our gym!

And I am pleased that you found our reception staff so pleasant to deal with, I will certainly ensure the team see this feedback!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is located at a lovely area - next to the river. Also has cafe and restaurants near by. The room has a great river view. Hotel is close to city center about 5 mins by car.

Room and toilet is clean. It would be great if the hotel can provide toothbrush too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DaisyandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear DaisyandJack,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for providing your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding facilities!

Thank you also for your suggestion of the toothbrushes, which we will certainly look into providing going forward!

We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location with proximity to city as well as bus and rail lines. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the feeling of having a studio apartment with mini-kitchen and so many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Stunning view of the river from my room. Highly recommended and will definitely return!

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladude81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear ladude81,

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your studio room with a view of the river, and that our staff were so accommodating.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this property for 5 nights ~ a combination of work and recreation. Very handy place to stay, and very hospitable.

Check-in was a breeze, and staff friendly and obliging. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite (room 411, from memory). It overlooked the street and main intersection of Claisebrook village, but the traffic noise did not seem huge. We were spared the noise of the restaurants &c that face Claisebrook Cove.

The suite had all the mod cons, including an equipped kitchen. The suite also had clothes washing and drying (although the drier did not seem to be working – I eventually gave up, took our clothes to the drier in the common area and - hey presto, dry clothes).

The suite was quiet – not a peep from the neighbours.

All facilities are to be found in this neighbourhood. A pharmacy, supermarket, bottle shop, Subway (fast food), florist, and several restaurants are all within 2 minutes’ walk. There is also a free bus (Yellow CAT route) to Perth downtown passing the property every 15 minutes or so. Claisebrook railway station is also within about 600 metres or so walk (although the downtown rail system was shut down that week for major rebuild). So leave your car behind if you can.

The barbeque area overlooking Claisebrook Cove gave my wife and I a backdrop for a very pleasant Sunday evening dinner. We provide the food (from the supermarket nearby), and the hotel staff lends us the implements and lights up the hotplate for us. Very pleasant!

One or two minor bugs. Sluggish clothes drier mentioned above, and also the doorbell was not working. The doorbell is important, as most rooms have a common entrance with the next-door apartment before you get to your own private entrance (and therefore you need a doorbell to tell if someone outside seeks your attention). But no big deal.

The hotel staff were uniformly very pleasant and obliging.

All up, we certainly enjoyed this stay and would readily consider this property again for a Perth visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear lysurgis23,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback after your recent stay with us! I am absolutely delighted that you had time to enjoy the hotel and location for work and leisure, and that the facilities and restaurants etc in the area were to your liking.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the dryer and doorbell, which we will ensure are attended to. It is fabulous to know that our staff made your stay with us pleasant, and I will be sure to share this feedback with them, and I am pleased that they were able to assist with your Sunday evening BBQ on the boardwalk!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,644 reviews
Crowne Plaza Perth
#20 of 66 in Perth
731 reviews
Duxton Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perth
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,465 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#5 of 66 in Perth
387 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel East Perth

Address: 60 Royal St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#23 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $134 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing