We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views ruined by poor staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sebel East Perth
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Views ruined by poor staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while holidaying in Perth.

Room was clean was very well appointed. We had fantastic views of the river and overlooking East Perth River
The room was fully equipped and large and spacious. The bathroom was modern and the kitchen was fully furnished. I like the large size of the fridge.

The downfall was no concierge. We had to carry our luggage and push the trolley ourselves.

The hotel needs to educate the staff about manners. The girl that checked us out (Christine- the hotel manager) was rude and not interested in her job. We stood at the service desk for 5 mins until we got served and all we could hear was a few staff member talking and swearing about other guests and other staff! Totally unprofessional!!! 5 mins later they came out to serve us. The same lady checked us out and quickly brushed us away and rolled her eyes as if we were disturbing their peace and quietness.


The hotel does not have a swimming pool but the beach is only 20 mins away.

We wont be coming back here again and will not be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelalot1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Travelalot1959,

I would like to thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us, and offer my sincere apologies that whilst you enjoyed the room and our hotels location, our service was not not to our normal high standards.

Whilst our hotel does not have concierge, our team are usually available at all times to assist our guests needs, and ensure that all requirements are met with a sense of urgency and importance. Our staff are usually our greatest assest and I am sorry that this was not the case during your stay, and I will certainly be addressing this issue with our team.

Should you wish to return for a future visit, we would welcome an opportunity to have you back to showcase our usual fabulous service standards, and also show you our pool, which is located just out on our boardwalk. I would be pleased to personally assist in bokoing arrangements should you choose to return to us.

Our apologies again,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Ph: 08 9223 2585
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    203
    61
    23
    8
See reviews for
64
203
32
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in a large one bed room city view apartment with a King bed.
The room was a nice size and had a sofa bed in the lounge room if more people were staying. Location was great and close to restaurants on Claisebrook Cove.
The on site gym had some good cardio equipment but no weight training gear.
Although I can't remember the customer service agent name at reception, she was very pleasant to deal with, very friendly and intuitive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techead76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear techead76,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback after your recent stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your apartment, and the surrounding restaurants and location, and our gym!

And I am pleased that you found our reception staff so pleasant to deal with, I will certainly ensure the team see this feedback!

We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel is located at a lovely area - next to the river. Also has cafe and restaurants near by. The room has a great river view. Hotel is close to city center about 5 mins by car.

Room and toilet is clean. It would be great if the hotel can provide toothbrush too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DaisyandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear DaisyandJack,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and for providing your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding facilities!

Thank you also for your suggestion of the toothbrushes, which we will certainly look into providing going forward!

We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location with proximity to city as well as bus and rail lines. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the feeling of having a studio apartment with mini-kitchen and so many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Stunning view of the river from my room. Highly recommended and will definitely return!

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladude81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ladude81,

Thank you for your wonderful comments after your recent stay with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your studio room with a view of the river, and that our staff were so accommodating.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at this property for 5 nights ~ a combination of work and recreation. Very handy place to stay, and very hospitable.

Check-in was a breeze, and staff friendly and obliging. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite (room 411, from memory). It overlooked the street and main intersection of Claisebrook village, but the traffic noise did not seem huge. We were spared the noise of the restaurants &c that face Claisebrook Cove.

The suite had all the mod cons, including an equipped kitchen. The suite also had clothes washing and drying (although the drier did not seem to be working – I eventually gave up, took our clothes to the drier in the common area and - hey presto, dry clothes).

The suite was quiet – not a peep from the neighbours.

All facilities are to be found in this neighbourhood. A pharmacy, supermarket, bottle shop, Subway (fast food), florist, and several restaurants are all within 2 minutes’ walk. There is also a free bus (Yellow CAT route) to Perth downtown passing the property every 15 minutes or so. Claisebrook railway station is also within about 600 metres or so walk (although the downtown rail system was shut down that week for major rebuild). So leave your car behind if you can.

The barbeque area overlooking Claisebrook Cove gave my wife and I a backdrop for a very pleasant Sunday evening dinner. We provide the food (from the supermarket nearby), and the hotel staff lends us the implements and lights up the hotplate for us. Very pleasant!

One or two minor bugs. Sluggish clothes drier mentioned above, and also the doorbell was not working. The doorbell is important, as most rooms have a common entrance with the next-door apartment before you get to your own private entrance (and therefore you need a doorbell to tell if someone outside seeks your attention). But no big deal.

The hotel staff were uniformly very pleasant and obliging.

All up, we certainly enjoyed this stay and would readily consider this property again for a Perth visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear lysurgis23,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback after your recent stay with us! I am absolutely delighted that you had time to enjoy the hotel and location for work and leisure, and that the facilities and restaurants etc in the area were to your liking.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the dryer and doorbell, which we will ensure are attended to. It is fabulous to know that our staff made your stay with us pleasant, and I will be sure to share this feedback with them, and I am pleased that they were able to assist with your Sunday evening BBQ on the boardwalk!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely property, we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment, very spacious and everything you need for a few days stay. Comfy bed. Great service from all staff. Loads of eating /drinking venues near by. Very enjoyable stay once we found the place ! Yes the signage could be a little more visible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyred68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, General Manager at The Sebel East Perth, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear rubyred68,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we thank you very much for your lovely feedback.

Thank you also for the comments on the signage, which whilst discreet, we will do all possible to address. I am pleased to know that you found the room to your liking and we were delighted to be able to upgrade your booking.

I will also be sure to share your comments with our team, as we take exceptional pride in our service to all our guests.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,
Bianca Boultbee
General Manager
The Sebel Residence East Perth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel East Perth

Property: The Sebel East Perth
Address: 60 Royal St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#17 Family Hotel in Perth
#25 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing