We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel East Perth
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great room, comfy bed. Disappointed in the following;
Washing machine in the room didn't work.
Bath tub needed cleaning before we could use it.
No Sharp knives in the kitchen and we were told this was normal.
The pots and pans were all in need of a clean and the fry pan needed replacement.
The air conditioner had to be turned on and off manually other wise it would chill the place to 18 degrees, despite being set on 24 degrees.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0-They_Call_Me_Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel East Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 479 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had been looking forward to our two night stay at the Sebel, East Perth and were not disappointed. The location is very pretty and it is an interesting little enclave to explore. There are scenic Cycle/Walkways that follow the riverside upstream or downstream to the Perth CBD and on to Fremantle if you want to make a day of it. There is a nearby small supermarket for your self-catering needs, a selection of interesting restaurants, a wine shop and a fantastic ladies clothes boutique (La Bella) over the road.
I feel some visitors who are unfamiliar with Perth may find the location not to their liking and their website stating attractions nearby is a little deception. It probably depends on your translation of ‘nearby’. For example the Bell Tower is almost 2Km away. That said, the free inner city CAT bus service is free, at your door, clean and easy to use with connecting free buses throughout the CBD and up to Kings Park. We parked our car and used the CAT bus and taxis.
We choose a ‘one bedroom river view apartment’ and were delighted with it. All the fittings and furniture were modern and in excellent condition. There was a large balcony (partly covered and sheltered from the wind) with a table and four chairs. Yes, we could hear the noise from the restaurants drifting up when we were outside but no noise inside. The kitchen was well equipped and we dined in our apartment with friends one evening of our stay. There was enough glassware, cutlery and china for four people even though it was a one bedroom apartment. The bathroom was spacious with a huge shower and separate bath. The air conditioning worked well. We did not have a swim in the pool but checked the pool/BBQ area out – excellent, again spacious, modern, very well kept (like the rest of the complex).
Although we had ‘requested parking’ when making our reservation several months prior to our visit no parking was available for our first night’s stay. We had to us a parking building across the main road and it would not have been a pleasant walk in wet weather. However, the weather was fine and ‘in house’ parking was available for the second night of our stay. This is an apartment complex not a ‘hotel’ so you cannot expect the same valet/parking facilities as a hotel would offer in Perth.
We would definitely stay at the Sebel East Perth again.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room, a city view probably not great and there may be traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

i stayed here for the weekend with the girls , great location , spotless , great service in a beautiful part of perth with great views.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Sebel Residence is a surprise in every sence. We made a booking some time beforehand and had not checked it, yet when we arrived everything was exactly as we had arranged - right down to the parking space in the basement. The hotel is modern and stylish in appearance and in the facilities it provides.
Rooms are comfortable and spacious, with a small fully equipped kitchen if you want to do your own thing instead of visiting the many restaurants and cafes in the same complex. A supermarket and liquor outlet are over the road if you need supplies.
It is the riverside setting that make the place so stunningly beautiful, with walks along the shoreline or around the East Perth area so easy to do and so beautiful to enjoy. Transport into the city is very easy and cheap with the free CAT bus stopping outside and a rail station nearby.

Room Tip: River view rooms are bound to be great, but we enjoyed our street view and ample balcony too.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I would like to thank the staff at Sebal. I have stayed at the Sebel in East Perth a few times now and i always have a lovely time. Lots of space, great bath, fantastic views from the balcony. I highly reccommend and will stay there again in the near future. Thank you.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms have bigger balconys. Your choice what you prefer.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed a wonderful stay in the hotel. The reception and housekeeping staff were very welcoming and accomodating. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean and spacious apartment with great kitchenette ameneties. There was a great choice of restaurants and bars available within a short walk from the hotel - we highly recommend a meal at Partisan - and the Perth CBD is easily accessible by CAT or taxi. Overall, an enjoyable and comfortable stay - thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Highly Recommended. I was looking something more than the ordinary and the Sebel Residence in East Perth delivered on every factor.
A late booking request was handled quickly and easily, and importantly i was ensured of a great view and also of the luxurious bath in the room which my partner and i were looking forward to.
check in happened quickly and the staff were polite and helpful to my requests.
The view from the balcony was more than i could have wanted and hard to beat in Perth with plenty of room on the balcony making it comfortable to enjoy.
A real touch of class. amenities in the room were great. our cooking needs were small but the apartment facilities could have easily handled so much more.
And the bed, lovely and comfortable, such a quiet environment around Claisebrook Cove, not a sound was heard during the night.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the 1 bedroom apartment with river view was exactly what we wanted but the location and facilities a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,591 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 65 in Perth
321 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Perth
#20 of 65 in Perth
712 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 65 in Perth
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel East Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel East Perth

Address: 60 Royal St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Perth
#13 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#15 Family Hotel in Perth
#24 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $134 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel East Perth 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel East Perth is a 4.5-star waterfront hotel located just minutes from Perth's vibrant city centre offering self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Enjoy views overlooking Claisebrook Cove and the Swan River plus free Wi-Fi Internet Access throughout the hotel and all apartments.Recreation facilities include heated swimming pool, complimentary BBQ facilities, well-equipped gymnasium and bike hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel East Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Residence East Perth Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing