We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location, Good Sized Room”
Review of Hotel Northbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Northbridge
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel is in a decent location, near some pubs and other nightlife. It is about a 20 minute walk to downtown Perth, which isn't too bad. The room itself was very roomy but the shower was in the hotel room, there was no wall or door separating the shower from the room. We stayed there as a couple so it was not an issue but may be an issue depending on if every room is setup in that way. The front desk staff was friendly and was able to accept a package on my behalf which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stopped here for two nights because most reviews on trip advisor said it was ok, they must be used to sleeping in holes in the ground!! Had a superior queen room great view of the noisy air con outside!! Getting in and out of the toilet you need the skills of a cirque
de soleil performer!!

BE AFRAID BE VERY AFRAID!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gazzzzzlaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I have used the Northbrige on numerous occasions as it is convienient for me for business purposes . I have generally used a superior queen spa room (or a deluxe king spa) which is about $145 -$150 per night at one point the price included breakfast, however thats not the case now. That said there are several nice cafes nearby and also a very good Vietnamese restaurant opposite for dinner.

The rooms generally are clean and comfortable although a couple I have occupied have been a lttle on the tired side and needed maintenance ( toilet roll holders, towel rails refastened, light bulbs changed etc) They also use a lot of bleach which I presume is for the in room spas, unfortunately that doesnt actually clean them (I dont use hotel spas for that reason).

My last stay I was awoken about 3.00am by a group of departing Chinese yelling and shouting in the corridor and it appear that in that sense it has now become popular with the Chinese market there is also evidence of them smoking in the rooms despite it being a non smoking hotel.

Car parking is limited however I have never had difficulty getting a car bay or parking on the street without suffering any damage to my vehicle. Someone here commented on the internet and I also found this to be the case $10 an hour or pay a higher daily fee $20 which is better value.

Overall it is an OK hotel no longer 4 or 5 star but clean and comfortable enough the staff are friendly and helpfull and it is just far enough away from the nightlife area to avoid the problems as Northbridge closes down for the night on weekends.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is away from the noise. The "Lodge" wing is backpacker style accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-Wildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I booked this hotel for 6 nights, because the pictures looked great and there was a good star rating, and it was close to the centre of Perth. I booked one of their cheap "lodge" rooms, which had shared bathrooms.

However, I wasn't expecting "the lodge" to be an almost completely neglected wing of an otherwise lovely looking hotel. The standard of the rooms and the service in the lodge section is severely diminished from the standard of their main hotel area.

The beds were clean and comfortable. But the sheets were never changed during our stay.

The room was not a nice place to be. The windows were screwed shut (probably because on the other side of them is an outdoor smoking area for guests), which meant our room got a bit stale. The floor needed a vacuum by the end of our stay. There is a shared kitchen, but when we arrived the sink was full of other people's horrible dishes and old food.

But the worst part was the bathrooms. Please be warned that the next few sentences might offend some readers. When we arrived, one of the showers had a used tampon in the shower recess. We waited over night hoping that housekeeping would find it and remove it - which they didn't - so we went downstairs at midday the next day to advise reception, whose response was "maybe it was only just put there this morning". In any case, they had it removed. We also complained about the shower heads, which are the old large metal disk style - the water holes are completely filled with some sort of residue, whether it be mould or corrosion or mineral buildup from the water, we weren't sure, but it wasn't pleasent. The walls inside the showers were slimey to the touch.

We complained about the shower heads, and returned to find that someone had doused the entire bathroom with bleach, but it still wasn't actually clean! Basically this place would have been fine if housekeeping actually cleaned anything.

The other problem is that this wing of the hotel is directly above a nightclub, so don't expect sleep on a Friday or Saturday night.

We started to wonder what would be the lowest basic expected standards for hiring a hotel room. At this lodge part, all it seems to guarantee you is a clean bed and a locked door. There was a fridge and aircon and other kinds of stuff too, but frankly I would have felt more comfortable camping.

On the plus side, there was free secure underground parking.

There are other hotels who actually do a brilliant job at this style of accommodation, so we don't see why Northbridge Hotel shouldn't raise their standards. Sure the room was only $65 a night, but I would happily pay a bit more and actually enjoy my stay.

I imagine the non-lodge part of the hotel is probably fine.

Room Tip: Avoid their shared bathroom accom like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jazzmuso7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Much better than I expected in every way. Pleasant, helpful staff members, good breakfast included, and only a short walk to all the Northbridge food and bar options.

I walked from where I was working in Hay street every evening and never felt unsafe, I stayed three nights and only had one small issue with hearing noise from the people in the room next door, otherwise very quiet, there was also a small balcony off the room to get some fresh air in the evenings.

Initially the studio room was a little disconcerting in layout, with the bathtub and handbasin on a tiled area at one end of the single large room (that also has the bed and TV etc, but actually quite a practical layout and I thoroughly enjoyed the spa bath in the room ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madwolf3070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Hotel Northbridge is certainly worth the money. The hotel room was a bit basic but had all that was needed. Our room had an inbuilt jacuzzi which worked pretty well. There was a small toilet and the sink etc..was outside as a part of the room.

The hotel isn't a luxury one but very comfortable.

There are two cafe's right beside the hotel - both of them served great food. The northbridge district itself (10 minute walk away) has one of the most busy nightlifes in the whole of Perth..great restaurants, pubs, bars and even a few clubs.

The Perth CBD is also not far away.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikasjawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Stayed there for one night but i thought it was lovely. We got complimentary champagne, room had air conditioning, nice bed and spa in room. Very private. The only thing was the little tv. I didnt really like it, it should be more updated.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babysuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Nest on Newcastle
The Nest on Newcastle
#40 of 66 in Perth
89 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Northbridge Apartments
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
ibis Perth
ibis Perth
#31 of 66 in Perth
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Northbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Northbridge

Address: 210 Lake St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $85 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Northbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Northbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbridge Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing