We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything in Perth was pretty expensive. Stumbled upon this on our last minute booking and saved a fortune which helped us on our budget. Rooms were decent and clean. Turns out this is a refurbished heritage hotel which had a quaint feel. My partner and I enjoyed our stay here as it was smack in the CBD and 2 mins walk away from the main shopping mall. Free buses were available from accross the street! Service staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamThorntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Criterion Hotel Perth
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 465 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

For a Perth hotel the pricing can't be beat really. I paid 90 bucks a night, for two nights. For Perth this is very good. Sure the hotel is old and dated but my room was clean and wasn't tiny. For the price, I wasn't expecting much. The bathroom was good too. It had a proper glass doored shower and no silly bathtub combo which I hate. Cleanliness of the bathroom wasn't a problem at all. At the end of the day, I'm only there to have a shower and sleep and this worked well for that.

The free wifi in the room worked well. Just ask at reception for the password. The reception is 24 hours which for a budget hotel is very good. I wasn't expecting this. It had a nice new 32" LCD TV if anyone was wondering.

As others have mentioned it is perfectly placed in the city. They have the hotel restaurant right out the front of the hotel (I didn't use it though) which looked OK. You can even sit outside on the footpath which is great. Either side of the hotel is a Subway and a mini-mart (IGA Express) which sells alcohol too. The minimart closes at midnight which is excellent (for Perth).

You basically only have to walk 100 metres to the Hay street mall. Around the corner there are two multistory car parks. As I was getting in late both nights, I managed to park right out the front of the hotel for free which is a bonus.

Normally I would say - you get what you pay for - but with this hotel you get a little more. Two thumbs up from me. I would most certainly go back.

Honestly, if they completely overhauled the hotel, they could then charge double at least and it would still be good value for Perth. Anyone who is from Perth or stays there regularly like me, would understand. Perth hotel pricing can be ridiculous at times.

Hope that helps.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

i loved the fact that the front desk was attended 24 hours as we arrived at midnight. the first thing i noticed when we walked in was a musty smell which was soon gotten used to so not a huge deal. convenience was a plus, right in the heart of the cbd, with shops, restaurants, supermarkets close by. the staff were all very friendly and eager to help. although very basic the room we had was huge and suited our needs perfectly. would definately look at staying here again in the future. FREE wifi was definately a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spunkeemunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Criterion Hotel is central city and well serviced by buses and cabs. It is a short walk to the main train station and within a block of malls and great shopping. The library is almost opposite and it offers internet services. The hotel has dated décor but it is a quiet location with pleasant staff and all the basic facilities provided. The rooms are large and the bathrooms spacious. The beds are comfortable and good tv coverage. The internet service offered is poor. In the past a seat was available but now you are expected to stand to use the computer. This is difficult for older people, those with disabilities and short people who could not reach it.
The restaurant provides basic food at a reasonable cost in a quiet unhurried atmosphere. it is a nice place for people watching as the whole world seems to walk by.

Room Tip: We have slept in a number of different rooms over the years and all seem to be good and quiet. One a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Simple and pleasant. Free Wifi was a bonus. Paid $85 for a night's stay. Will come back again! Conveniently located in the Perth CBD with great access to shopping mall and free bus services. Staff pleasant and helpful too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete_Smith786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent downtown location. Take the no37 bus from terminal 3 $4. Almost dropped us at the front door. Way cheaper than shuttle bus $15, cab $70. Room was small but clean and comfortable payed $84 for a double room

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
9  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked by our travel agent for an overnight stop in Perth. First impressions count and the reception area was dingy and very tired looking- like the rest of the hotel. The reception staff were monosyllabic and not very helpful. Our room was large with a new tv and 2 double beds but the decor was very outdated. All in all not the sort of place you would want to spend your holiday.

Stayed: August 2013
6  Thank Epmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#45 of 65 in Perth
371 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 65 in Perth
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 65 in Perth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $53 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing