We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, but distinctly average otherwise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location, but distinctly average otherwise.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Aus at 2am, driving up and down Hay St we struggle to find the hotel. The taxi driver was sure it was around here somewhere.... After walking round at night for a while we finally realise that the front of the hotel has been completed boarded up to renovations, nice to have been told!
The hotel was ok, pretty old and rather dated, but ok. We had a leak in the room that wasn't fixed for the duration of our stay but we did have a nights rate removed from the bill which was appreciated.
The noise of the builders directly across the road was relentless, and Aussie builders do not adopt the typical brit builders approach- they were out there 7am to 7pm 6 days a week. Not ideal for enjoying the balcony.
That said, and the reason we picked the hotel in the first place, the location, was superb. Central to the shops, restaurants, bus routes, attractions, bike hire - everything!
Would I stay here again- no, would I choose to be near Hay St, yes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    162
    171
    53
    52
See reviews for
92
138
86
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A perfect hotel for me and my family. Close to everything, from food to transport to shopping. Free WiFi is great too although erratic service in the evenings. Staff were friendly and attentive. There is a pharmacy across the hotel (I don't think any reviewer highlighted this before...so just to let you know)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zuraida89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

old fashioned hotel, but clean and comfortable, needs a huge refurb, staff were friendly, and location was the best bit as very close to everything, shops and restaurants.
I would stay here again as price was really good compared to other Hotels

Room Tip: twin rooms are larger than double i think, so if space is a priority..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I had enjoyed my stay at the Criterion Hotel. It was quite comfortable and most of all the convenience of the location to some Historic places and building, the Jetty and other locations where we meet our tour Buses for the scheduled tours. It was an added bonus to be able to make coffee or tea. I ate outside of the Hotel Restaurants so I can't comment on anything much in regards to other areas of the Hotel...It is clean and reasonably priced for the budget conscious.

Room Tip: I would recommend higher floors mainly for the views and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rendezv0us1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here, it's cheap and offers wifi and complimentary drink on arrival. The wifi is a little slow and unpredictable and the rooms basic. I'll probably stay here again, not for the quality but for the price and location. Get a good deal on wotif it can out cheaper than a private room at a hostel without sharing a bathroom. Close to mall and next door to supermarket.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lazysundaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is a grand old lady that needs a bit of TLC, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. The location of the Hotel is magic, with the free bus just outside the door. A multitude of shops, cafes and restaurants all within a few minutes - and an IGA just beside the entrance. A short walk down to the Ferrys and tour stops.
When we stayed the front was shrouded with protective wall, so we didn't get to look at the hotel frontage.
We only used the café/restaurant downstairs once for breakfast. Quite expensive for what was available.
The restaurant front was all covered by the wall, so may be why it wasn't being used by many people at other times of the day. It certainly didn't appeal to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandKevinTga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is somewhat scruffy - but if you aren't worried about the decor then I would recommend this place. Centrally located - 2 minutes from the shops, 5 minutes from the Swan River, 10 minutes walk up to the station. Bus stops to King's Park and the airport also very close. The reception staff were very friendly and always helpful and polite. Breakfast wasn't included in the price (and in my view not worth the money) but the coffee was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 65 in Perth
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#50 of 65 in Perth
153 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing