We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but not charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed March 15, 2013

With some new fittings and a touch up, this hotel could be great. I love older hotels with some character, but some aspects need to be modernized. Staff were friendly and quite helpful when needed.
Room rate was under $200 per night.
Location is the best in Perth CBD.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 468 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Usefully situated on Hay Street which is near the shopping streets, ferry terminal and legal area but with an unimpressive facade and entrance. Our room, 410, did not make a good first impression. It was oppressively hot until the 'key card in the slot' system powered up the aircon unit. Poorly decorated walls and paintwork (magnolia and mushroom - like a 1970's government office). The room had originally been large but a large corner had been bitten off to provide an en-suite and this, along with a large wooden wardrobe, leaves the remaining area very much an L-shape with room for a bed but everything else cramped and isolated. What there was was fine. Kettle, fridge,TV and WiFi all worked well and, more importantly for us, the bed linen and towels were fresh and well laundered.
Service was efficient without being friendly. There was a lot of noise and disruption outside from the general redevelopment of the whole area.
All in all, you get what you pay for. We were booked in as a pre-cruise package by a travel agent clearly out to get the cheapest acceptable deal. This is what we wanted and exactly what we got.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night. I chose the hotel because of the price and location. The hotel is older in style but offers comfortable and clean accommodation.

The location is great and you can walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Ideal for a quick break.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_nathan_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Pros -
- Fantastic location close to the free CAT buses that go around Perth, short walk to shopping mall, restaurants and train station
- Next door to an IGA supermarket which is open late: good for grabbing a cheap snack or drink. Subway, MacDonalds and a couple of cheap Asian takeaways nearby.
- We had a massive room with a big bathroom.
- Basic furnishings but quite comfortable, with comfy beds, good shower and big TV.
- Cafe downstairs does decent food and hotel guests get 20% off and a voucher for a free drink.
- They gave us a free bottle of wine
- Friendly staff
Cons -
- Quite tired looking inside and out. Shower and tap both dripped incessantly, toilet half-flush didn't work. These couldn't be fixed because it was a weekend
- No housekeeping service on the weekend. Didn't bother us, but might bother those who need a new towel or their bed made each day.
- Noisy: there was construction going on outside from 7am - 7pm Mon -Fri. OK if you rise early and you're not there during the day of course.
- Our room was on Level 2 and looked on a dirty great carpark with noisy air conditioning units outside. But then it is in the city, so there will be noise regardless. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
- Staff are friendly enough and do their best but perhaps a little inexperienced

If you can't find anything better for cheaper, then I would stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveller530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I am in Perth about 20 nights a year and always stay at the YHA hostel in Perth but found this place as a deal on WOTIF and since I'd already been there for lunch I thought i'd try the hotel.

The room was dated and basic but clean and had a good shower, fridge, tv and aircon. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet.

The staff were friendly and efficient.

Great location for walking to all city amenities including the train, ferry and buses!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great location for shopping and free transport. Needs maintenance program though with safety issues such as water all over the bathroom floor after a shower (which is in a bath tub). Bad placement of shower curtain, towel rail that fell off amongst other things. Power cord across the walkway in restaurant which was easy to miss if you were holding a plate of food from the servery. Orange juice for breakfast has a slight fizz to it and tasted off. Tissue holder in sister's room fell off and their water pressure very low, but a proper shower cubicle. No Fox on TV as advertised as they had cancelled it. We paid $116 per night. It was clean, but needs proper repairs not just a quick fix.

Room Tip: Room facing the front get construction noise from building work across the street all day. Windows w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From its interior I can say that this hotel is very old, one of the oldest in the city maybe. However, the room is quite spacious and very clean. The hotel is located right in the middle of the city and only 3 minutes walking from the shopping centre and restaurants. The staff are also very friendly. With less than $100 per night, this hotel is the best choice to stay. I definitely will stay again in this hotel next time I visit Perth.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianArianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Seasons of Perth
#51 of 66 in Perth
389 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $51 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing