We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay or budget conscious.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Criterion Hotel Perth
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short stay or budget conscious.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

- awesome location, very short walk to the centre of Perth, down to the ferry terminals, and various restaurants and bars

- very basic accom. Smallish room, tv, fridge

-service so so. Very do it yourself. Ie, they won't clean your room on a weekend unless you ask for it.

But all in all, good hotel for a short stay, or if you are price conscious.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juzzyc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    161
    170
    53
    51
See reviews for
92
138
84
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

DONT stay - unless you want noisy room. Towel rails falling off wall in bath room. Shower curtain near toilet than shower!!!!!

VERY VERY VERY basic - put me off Perth, gave me bad impression of central Perth.

STAFF however we very very helpful and could not be faulted - not their fault hotel falling down around their ears!!

Room Tip: Dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelseagirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Location is awesome being near the river as well as shopping malls & public transport.
Clean, no frills accommodation with a comfortable bed, though no view at all with the frosted window unfortunately. Reception staff were very helpful & friendly.
Only down side was not being able to organize a late check-out on a Sunday due to cleaning staff finishing early (fair enough though...who wants to work all day on a Sunday?!?)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights, unfortunately the lift didnt work for first 4 nights! Try pulling up heavy suitcases 69 steps! Staff freindly and helpful, free internet , airconditioner in room o.k. but hallway and stairwell unairconditioned.The free glass of wine in restaurant nice, meal good and loved free bottle of wine! Fantastic location , next to shopping and sights. Dated decore but value for money.Bed was great ,pick a room at the back its quieter.I would stay again!

Room Tip: Pick level 3 at the back as rooms are noisier at the front.Dont open up windows (nailed close)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, NSW
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I didn't stay here so I can't comment on the rooms. However I did come here on a Saturday night at 8-30 for a meal. Ordered the risotto & a pepsi max. My friend with me ordered wedges. After 50 minutes of waiting for our order (the place was dead quiet) my friends wedges arrived. 15 minutes later I went to the counter and asked for my money back. Turns out the waiter who took my order accidentally threw my order out. Got a refund with apologies but wouldn't go back here for a meal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopstar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Even though I booked this hotel for the location and good rates, after travelling around NZ and Oz for 3mths I began to dread the thoughts of this hotel. How wrong I was. The staff couldn't have been more helpful including reception, waiting, and cleaning staff. Nothing seemed to be a problem and they were very generous with extra towels and toiletries. The lift worked, room 404 was more than we expected, recently refurbished to a very acceptable standard and the air con was not loud and we could leave it on while we slept, no problem. The hotel in general looked as if it had been very recently and tastefully painted throughout. The restaurant seafood compared with some finer restaurants in Sydney. The one and only difficulty I had was the very slow yet free Wifi. Do not be afraid to stay at the Criterion, we would certainly stay here if we ever travel Downunder again.

Room Tip: Room 404 on the top floor has a balcony and a view to the nearby magnificent Town Hall with it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annedayos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Criterion is a striking art deco building in a fantastic location - only 2 minutes walk to the Hay St mall. The room was as to be expected for 3 star; whilst the furnishings were a little dated, I could not fault the cleanliness, and the in-room safe and large flat screen TV were a plus. I feared I would have difficulty sleeping as outside the window, just a couple of metres from the bed were 5 or 6 air-conditioning units; although these were in fact very quiet and unobtrusive, and the comfortable bed meant I slept soundly. On the other hand, noise from the corridors could easily travel in, with a large gap under the door, quite close to the beds. Service was generally good - helpful & friendly at both check-in (I was able to check in early) and check-out; but not ALL the staff were helpful... e,g. listening to an MP3 player when you are on reception duty is hardly giving an impression of being ready to attend to the needs of your guests!
Perth hotels tend to be pricier than other major Australian cities - this makes the Criterion very good value.
PS. The lift has been renovated and is now back in operation.

Room Tip: Note that the rooms do not correspond with the floor numbers in the (newly renovated) lift - eg room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Kings Perth Hotel
#54 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criterion Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criterion Hotel Perth

Property: Criterion Hotel Perth
Address: 560 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criterion Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criterion Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Criterion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing