We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia on William
Ranked #29 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good hostel shame about the room”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This hostel has excellent facilities good Internet and clean sheets. The location is within easy reach of all transport and has plenty of bars and restaurants surrounding it. The downfall was the room no window and no air con the heat was unbearable and the room was like a prison cell.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    35
    23
    29
See reviews for
2
35
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I moved to this hostel from beatty lodge which was a kip, I was very impressed with britannia... The staff couldn't be more helpful, the room was great.. nice comfortable CLEAN bed and sheets... The toilets/showers are always clean... There's a big, well equipped kitchen.. All together, the place is spot on...
The only negative i can find is that occasionally the street below can be noisy (sat night) but nothing too bad to stop me sleeping....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol, england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The location of the hostel was great and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the rooms were very poor - the single room i stayed in was dirty, smelly and was at the front of the hostel over the busy street below which was noisy all the time. The window didnt close properly and the curtains were useless as they were so old the light from outside went straight through them, so i didnt get much sleep during my week there! On the plus side the bathrooms/toilets were cleaned often so were always nice to use. I would use this hostel again but remember the earplugs and eyemask to sleep with!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I love this place! Very good location. Everything was of easy reach (convenient stores, pubs/bars, restaurants etc) Staff was very friendly & informative. This lodge has many rooms. Loved the old school lift they have. Very well maintained bathrooms and toilets. Huge kitchen. Wireless internet available. The only set back was the double room i had was quite tiny and the window view was facing a wall. But overall a great stay! Will definitely visit them again next time!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertaleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Close to everything, good location, nice, clean, big clean kitchen, very nice big and clean bathroom but it is a big BUT , But it is noisy from the streat. Without an ear plugs you cant sleep.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KashaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in!! There were cockroches in the kitchen; the curtains didn't cover the windows in the bedrooms and some rooms didn't have fans (40 degree heat!); the only kettle broke while we were staying there so we had to boil water in a pan; there was 1 glass (wine in mugs - so classy!); overflowing sanitary bins in the girls toilets; loads of holes in the sheets; dirty carpets and rude staff...need I say more? If you decide to stay here don't say you weren't warned!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janem12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

From the cockroaches in the kitchen & dining room to the overflowing sanitary bins in the ladies toilets, this place was disgusting.
The common rooms and bedrooms are dreary and dull with not one picture or poster on the walls to brighten the place up. There are no lightshades so you get blinded when trying to read and you're lucky if the curtains in your room actually reach the bottom of the window.
The TV room looked so uncomfortable we didn't step a foot in it the whole 9 days we stayed there. Stupidly we paid up front and when we asked for a refund we were told no.
One good thing is that there's loads of computers however they are very slow at uploading photos.
If you have any other options, DO NOT STAY HERE!!
The fact that the owner says 'this is one of the best places to stay in Perth' is not a good sign, I'd say get out of Perth as fast as you can!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbertpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Haus Accommodation
Haus Accommodation
#26 of 51 in Perth
36 reviews
Perth CBD
Akara Hotel
Akara Hotel
#16 of 51 in Perth
11 reviews
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#12 of 51 in Perth
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia on William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia on William

Property: Britannia on William
Address: 253 William St, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Formerly YHA)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia on William 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Britannia on William is a budget backpacker style accommodation, it does have a number of private rooms and bunk rooms. These are very basic private rooms that offer a great rate for the budget traveller, we are not a hotel. Share facilities, bathrooms, kitchen and TV rooms. We have a spacious courtyard and are open 24 hours a day. Please call if you have any further questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Britannia on William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia On William Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing