We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mounts Bay Waters Apartment Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parmelia Hilton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$83
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points by Sheraton Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$109
$102
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Duxton Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$137
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$115
$101
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$73
$65
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Miss Maud Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$86
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
33
47
38
25
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
47
38
25
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastswimming poolbeds dormbus stop right in fronthighest floorhuge kitchenclean roomsair conditionerperth cityroommatesausiga
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 175 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Great value for money. Room was very spacious. Most of the staff very nice and helpful. Nice pool. Strategic location with good facilities and free simple breakfast. The common room is awesome. have the parking and near bus station.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

It's a backpacker - that's it, you cannot expect a hotel
Also it was the only backpacker I have ever been, I cannot compare.
BUT
I went there three times and I booked it for a friend once. I booked a room with other people once then I booked a separate room twice

Room Tip: It's a backpacker - that's it
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPil2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

We felt like the grandparents under all these youngsters but was treated with courtesy and respect by all of them. Our room was a double with en suite shower and toilet. We chose Billabong due to the location and price and found to have made the right decision. The first 2 nights we had a room towards the street which was extremely noisy. Than we requested to move to a room towards the back and pool side which was no problem to get with the helpful staff. This room was a dream very quiet, large and very clean. As we had plenty food left from our Mobilehome trip through Australia the use of their kitchen during the day came in handy and we could prepare there what we wanted. You get issued a plate, cup and cutlery on your first day which is yours to use and wash up during your stay. The kitchen is fully equipped and for breakfast you can help yourself to toast, butter, jam and milk etc. provided to you.
Very convenient is the city bus stop right in front of Billabong.
If we should go back to Perth we will definetly stay there again.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Axel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

Hi Axel,

Many thanks for your kind words.

As you've noted we're a youth hostel and the majority of our guests are young travellers. However we've successfully hosted guests of all ages, from all corners of the world. It seems like your positive and open minded attitude went a long way to ensuring you had a great time. I'm especially pleased to hear our staff were able to assist you when you did have a problem.

Best of luck with your onward travels.

Kind regards,

Adam B - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

12-17 March 2017
We stayed at Billabong Backpackers Resort in Perth for 5 nights, the double bunk bed and ensuite were clean enough but basic. Had to tell reception to ask the House Keeper not to leave the balcony doors open for the the whole 12 hours we were out as we were eaten alive upon our return. Washing facilities available, and washing powder on sale. Crockery package given upon check in, good kitchen facilities. Quiet place to stay apart from the cockatoo's! Beware there is no lift. Easy walk in to town and opposite a bus stop.

Room Tip: No lift if you have luggage.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraJWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Hi Sara,

Many thanks for your feedback.

That's a valid point re. the balcony door. I trust this was not an ongoing issue after you informed reception.

I believe you stayed in the standard double room which has a queen size bottom bunk and a single top bunk. Like you've noted these are basic and more inline with a dorm style. For something closer to a motel room, we have Deluxe Privates for an extra $10 which have a single queen size bed and an updated decor.

Best of luck with your onward travels.

Kind regards,

Adam B - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 7am after a long 15 hour bus ride from Coral Bay - we confirmed and paid for our booking and was allowed to put our bags in a store room until we could check in so we could go get some breakfast. Nice friendly guy on check in. We stayed in room 25 .
The room itself was basic, lockers, beds, bathroom. Air-con was pants and didn't really make a difference to the room temp. Had to make your own bed and strip your own bed as well... Sheets has weird stains on them and were quite old and one of the beds was really squeaky and springy. Supply your own towels as well. Shower was decent but the taps also made the loudest noise when you turned on one of them. (Our neighbours also did this as we could hear it everytime they did...)
Is a bit noisy you can hear next door and all the doors when people leave. Breakkie included is a bonus - nice to have some toast and coco pops.
Staff were all friendly though and the vibe downstairs is nice. Swimming pool out the back looks nice but too cold for me now it's winter!! Not far to walk to the CBD we didn't even bother with the buses as its not far at all. Plenty of restuarants within walking distance and also an IGA down the road. On check out we were also allowed to leave our bags in the luggage room before we headed off.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jassumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, General Manager at Billabong Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017

Hi Jassumms,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm glad you found our staff friendly and the vibe good in the common areas. I've noted your points about the room. We appreciate there are some limitations with our twin and standard rooms so we've priced them accordingly, very close to the price of two beds in a 4 bed dorm. I would recommend this room for two backpackers that are happy to stay in dorm accommodation but just want that added privacy. For more of a hotel experience, the Deluxe Room works great!

There of course shouldn't be stains on the sheets. Please let us know immediately if you have such a problem, they will be changed immediately. This would have been a bleach stain or a sun spot as opposed to something more sinister, however I appreciate that would be uncomfortable.

Thanks again for your feedback and best of luck with your onward travels.

Kind regards,

Adam B- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews