We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% better than the previous reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Waters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Waters
Ranked #64 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“100% better than the previous reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

I am not sure about previous reviews but I stayed for 6 nights and the place was wonderful. Very friendly staff, Rooms cleaned everyday. It is rated as a 3 star hotel and I did not expect 5 star but from check in to check out I had only one complaint and that was on site parking. If you are staying here and have a car then get in early to park on site otherwise use the ample street parking but be warned it is timed from 8am so be careful.

I would stay here again, walking distance to town.Nice view to Swan river etc.

Don't believe the other reviews. Maybe they wanted 5 star at a 3 star orice?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donellex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    46
    17
    18
See reviews for
27
57
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
western australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

this place smellls.....stained bedcovers....................
its dark in most rooms, to cover up the poor the cleaning habits of the very old staff.............
the breakfast was terrible.......poor quality ingredients...
Staff were very unhelpful...as if they had been there for 40years! and some of them look like they have...because they just didnt want to be there...

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grahamandvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

napier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Stayed here for three nights. The room was on the second level about half way along.

The 'apartment' was very dated and dingy having no view at all. It seemed that there were a lot of guests and the early mornings were noisy.

Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jabnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I were travelling with our infant son and we stayed at the City Waters towards the end of our trip. We stayed at the Goodearth Hotel when we first arrived in Perth but it was fully booked and we were unable to book a room when we returned to Perth after travelling the South-West.
The 1-bedroom apartment was very basic and small but quite clean. The travel cot they provided (cost $10 per day) was quite dirty so we did not use it. The furnishing (carpet, kitchen cabinets) was old and worn. The bathroom was quite small although there's a bathtub. The towel rail was place just in front of the toilet bowl, which seems a bit unhygenic as water from flushing would potentially "spray" on the towels. We therefore need to remember to close the cover before flushing. There's 3 washers but only 1 dryer in the shared laundry facilities, so we need to queue for using the dryer.
Overall, the accommodation is suited for those on a budget and require kitchen facilities. If budget is not a problem, I would suggest looking around for other accommodation which offers a more comfortable stay. We felt that the Goodearth Hotel which we stayed previously was so much better (cost just $30 more).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
608 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

When we arrived at the City Waters, we knew we had a problem. Listed by Discover West Holidays as a 3 star place, we were lucky to find a star anywhere. The room was dingy, linoleum floors, bar on the window since we were at street level. Not enough light to see the true condition of the place. We immediately returned the key and went two blocks away where we had a great room. Naturally, Discover West Holidays stifked us on the price of the room, another loser. Perth Tourist Board is the best place to find accommodations and tours.

  • Liked — Location was near the Swan River
  • Disliked — Dingy
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed City waters for 7nights on july 2007. Location was ok. It was easy to get central part of the city. However, the receptionists attitude was unbelievably rude. At the time there were two receptionists there. Both of them are old lady and they took turns. One of them was ok but another one was very rude and unpleasant to help guests. We made two phone calls to Japan from the room and the phone bill came up $110 and we paid the bill immediately after the calls during our stay. But when we check out the hotel, the receptionist accused us to pay for the bill again. We said that we have already paid it but she didnot believe us until we showed the recipt. After she found it was their mistake, she didnot even apologize to us and her attitude was still very bad.
If you make payment at the hotel, we strongly recommend that you shoud get the recipt and keep it, ohterwise you have to make double payment !!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank konechiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

We booked this hotel because we wanted to be near family and the tourist information recommended it as a midranged apartment. There are private car parking facilites.

The rooms are spacious and clean, but very dated and painted an odd colour. The room we had was in the shade and we had to put the light on all the time we were in the room. As far as we could tell very few of the rooms had any view.

we only stayed for 3 nights because it was depressing being in the dark and the painted brick walls made it feel very down market. The facilities are adequate for out needs but not comfortable and everything was old and in need of refurbishment. The staff were polite.

The laundry facilities were the best thing. A large washer, fast dryer, and ironing board meant that it was simple to deal with laundry during the stay which had acumulated while we travelling around. We realised that you get what you pay for and increased our budget for the next few weeks.

The location is good very near the harbour. I was appauled at the drug paraphinalia in the near by park. The cockatoos pull this rubbish out of the bins. This was not the hotels fault though.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Holidayhobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Alderney on Hay
Alderney on Hay
#62 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Waters

Property: City Waters
Address: 118 Terrace Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Waters 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Waters is located by the banks of Swan River on Terrace Road, Perth, offering 62 Studio Apartments with a fully-equipped kitchen with a range of rooms suitable for 1 to 6 adults. Our central location is a few minutes walk away from Perth CBD, main shopping retails on Hay Street & Murray Street, entertainment and dining precincts. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, our 3-star accommodation will offer you a relaxing and indulgent stay. Free on-site Car Parking on First-come-first-serve basis, subject to availability. All reservations made on directly to us through Walk-Ins, Phone or Email will receive FREE WIFI during the stay. Reception Hours: 7am to 8pm Check-in: 14:00 Check-out: 10:00 For arrival after 8pm, kindly contact City Waters for late check-in procedure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Waters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Waters Hotel Perth
City Waters Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing