We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baileys Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baileys Motel
Ranked #50 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

Stayed here in Dec 2008 with a couple of friends.

The hotel was pleasant, staff were friendly and rooms were clean. We got a room that was kinda dated but had a clean toilet with towels and amenities. They got us an extra bed for the room and it was still kinda spacious after that. Not much landscaping around the hotel. The other rooms looked more dingy than ours so we were kinda lucky.

Location was good as it was close to free transportation and walking distance to the other attractions like the Bell Tower and CBD. There was a restaurant but we didn't eat there as it was kinda expensive.

In conclusion, an average accommodation. Nothing WOW about it.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    73
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
39
48
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Esperance
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

I stayed at Baileys for 2 weeks and loved it. Basic, affordable, comfortable room which catered to my every need. It is in a quite part of inner city Perth opposite the lovely Wellington Park yet 10 min walk to city centre or 2 minute walk to Cats buses. Great little resturants only a block or two away. Everyone I met was a regular as I will be so that says it all. Great value, worth a try. Amanda

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

My partner and I stayed at this motel for nearly three weeks as part of a 3 month holiday from the UK. We booked a room with kitchen facilities so that we had the option to self cater. The room was very comfortable and clean. The towels were changed daily and we were given spares so that we could use them to swim.
We found Anthony, the Manager VERY helpful. He booked the cricket for us and advised us to buy a phone card to avoid making expensive phone calls direct from the motel. He also instructed us how to use the card and we continued to use it throughout our travels in Australia.
The location of Baileys is excellent. It is very close to 2 free CATS which we used each day to transport us to the city centre. The railway is also very cheap.
We considered this motel to be very good value for money and would recommend it.
Helen and Tom
Mkt Harborough U.K.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank LeicsHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

Baileys Parkside Motel was the cheapest CBD accommodation I could find without wanting to stay in a backpacker's hostel. We paid AU $114 per night for a refurbished room with full cooking facilities over the Easter long weekend - a bargain by Perth's CBD standards.

The motel is of the type built in the sixties - a double story establishment built surrounding a big carpark. Doors have external access.

Amenities in our room included: small stove, microwave, toaster, kettle, chopping block, knives, bowls, plates, crockery and a few other utensils. Note that not all rooms have these cooking facilities so ask for them if you wish to have them. There was also a television set, a large wardrobe, an expandable luggage rack in addition to the in-built one, and an air conditioner. The bed was queen sized and comfortable.

There is a large amount of free parking.

The room was very clean, however for 3 out of the 4 nights we were there the room was not made up for us due to Easter. The room itself is clearly of 1960's origin, however the management has tried hard to give it a modern feel, with some success. The room we had (#26 I think) was very very large for the price we were paying - much larger than rooms I have paid much more for at brand-name hotels.

The location is very good if you will have a car during your visit. I say this because most attractions would be at least a 5-10 minute drive away, except for perhaps the Perth Mint, and the nearest train station I saw was a fair drive away too (please verify this as I didn't do any research into trains). The hotel looks onto Wellington Park, a small park in East Perth, though most of the rooms do not face it. When we met up with some friends in Perth, they cringed to hear we were staying in East Perth because it is supposedly a drugs-area, however I saw no evidence of this whatsoever and I never felt unsafe.

There is a small pool with fluoro green astro turf which seemed to keep a lot of people happy.

My only frustration was that without fail, each and every night of our stay we were woken up by extremely loud and drunk people - including one night where I was awoken by a word-for-word rendition of "Amazing Grace". Luckily I fall asleep easily after I've been woken up - but I know lots of people don't - and given that management shuts up at 5pm each night, this may be a consideration for you. There definitely appeared to be a drinking culture at the motel when I was there, with lots of people drinking outside their rooms.

Other tips: Look in the hotel information directory in your room for directions to the nearest supermarket, it's about 2 or 3 blocks away. Also, the reception area has a LOT of brochures on things to do while in Perth, including the Rottnest Express.

All in all I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone who is budget conscious, who intends to have a car in Perth and who wants a central location.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — yelling drunk people at all hours
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Since we'd been here before in 2004 and the hotel supposed to be upgraded according to its website, we returned.
What a wishful thinking! The only thing being upgraded was the room rate.
You'll need to pay $50 to get the phone working.
We'd got fighting neighbours next door. Screaming and verbal abuses all night long.
Despite the promise that they would leave the next day, we saw the couple coming back and here we go again.
It is time to move on to another hotel.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bufje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baileys Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baileys Motel

Property: Baileys Motel
Address: 150 Bennett St | East Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Baileys Perth Accommodation)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Perth
#20 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baileys Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baileys Motel introduces quality and affordable accommodation within walking distance to Perth CBD. Guests enjoy access to swimming pool and the great Italian/Mediterranean cooking at the popular fully licensed Cafe BellaVista Restaurant & Pizzeria. Located in East Perth, close to the WACA, Gloucester Park, Claisebrook Cove and Royal Perth Hospital, a Free City CAT bus runs regularly from outside the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baileys Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Parkside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing