We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing imaginative fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park

Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park
Ranked #37 of 180 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing imaginative fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

My 6 and 4 year old loved this area of kings park. Esp creating their own magic potions in the rock pools and climbing the tree hides. They were a little young for the tangled ropes but still gave it a go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonyav_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Manufactured nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have to agree witih an earlier review by Andy W - "Corporate-controlled nature" is a very apt descriptor. On a rainy afternoon I took my 4 1/2 year old son and dog for a walk through Kings Park with the intent of going to Naturescape. On arrival we were bailed up by one of the 'custodians' pointing out our small dog on a lead could not enter the 'scape' nor my son's balance bike. Fair enough but then looking at the pamphlet they handed out, my son asked me to explain the litany of red forbidden signs on the document - no throwing rocks, no balls, no camping, no umbrellas, no chairs, no picnics, no immersion in water, no pets, no scooters, no bikes, no skateboatds, no playing without parental supervision..you get my drift. I understand the need for these prohibitions but at the same time it takes the egde of what is supposed to be a natural experience. Enjoying nature should be organic and just happen - not manufactured in a controlled setting. If this is the future for our children then I am very concerned. You are better off visiting one of our local national parks (e.g. John Forrest) and enjoy nature as it was intended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gough08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well done RIO TINTO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was very impressed with the quality and workmanship that was put into this creation. It is WA in a nut shell, and any tourist visiting would be encouraged ( at least by me) to view this establishment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is a must see! There are so many fabulous things to see here. Restaurants, shops, cafe, tree top walk, wild flowers, water fountains, parks, play grounds, memorials, gift shops, view over the river and the city of Perth and much more. If you are a visitor to Perth you have to go up here!!


Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rio Tinto Naturescape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a great addition to the kids parks within Kings Park. The towers (tree hides) to climb and the brook which you can attempt to build a dam on are great. As are some of the other features like walking over streams on logs, the ropes in the trees (the tangle), the dingo dens and the spring. It's worth noting that there are no shops/cafes but there are a number of water fountains. Alos it tends to get busy and there will close it to visitors when it reaches a certain capacity (we also go early in the day for that reason), also because it doesn't have any dedicated car park as such so better to go early and park closer. Kids will get wet and swimming clothes / rashies are a must if they get into the creek - which they will!
Just a note it is closed all of February and on mondays. Great to go here and then over to either Sticky Beaks or the main Kings Park Cafe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DadMum2SmlKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rio Tinto Naturescape, Kings Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing