We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually quite an interesting place”
Review of The Bell Tower

The Bell Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.24*
and up
History, Culture and Heritage Walking Tour of Perth
More Info
$14.50*
and up
Perth Bell Tower Experience
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Perth Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #10 of 166 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve of the 18 bells in this tower came from London's St.-Martin-in-the-Fields church in Trafalgar Square as a Bicentenary gift to the people of Western Australia in 1988. Originally cast in the 13th century and recast in the 16th and 18th centuries, they were rung at the homecoming of James Cook after his voyage of discovery in 1771, after the Battle of El Alamein in 1942 and at the coronation of every British monach since George II in 1727.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Actually quite an interesting place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Didn't think I'd be saying this but it is quite interesting place to visit. If you are lucky enough to be there when they are practicing the bell ringing that is quite interesting too. We didn't bother paying to do the whole tour thing but in a way I wish we had. Like them or hate them - they are here to stay and I think for something to do even if you only go take a look it is worth it. They are now an integral part of Perth. So yes, a must do Perth

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Perhaps next time you are in Perth you can come and see what the rest of the Tower has to offer inside. We think you would be very impressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    420
    221
    68
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden marvel by the river”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Unexpectedly lovely attraction by the river. For a dollar you could choose a song for the bells to play.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our carillon bells are very popular and you can often hear them ring out over the city when someone puts a coin in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Actually, this is a really cool place”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Unfortunately, no fault of the Swan Bells, Barrack Street end and the wharf is under major construction. What I CAN say, is that the history of these bells is really so interesting and to see these giants was just the best. The views over the Swan River and across town from the tower are amazing (again, not forgetting that there is so much construction going on). I am really pleased that I visited and look forward to a revisit once all the surrounding construction is finished. I think that the building itself is fabulous - and I don't usually appreciate very modern/glass constructions. Also to note is the kindness and hospitality of the staff. One suspects that they too are working under very difficult conditions at the moment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaGordonSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Tower and thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again when the construction is complete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH THE TIME”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Many Perth people have nothing but condemnation for the Bell Tower but in reality it is a great tourist icon for the City of Perth. OK right now it is in a poor state because of the construction of Elizabeth Quay but once the precinct is finished it will once again command a central point of tourism for Perth.

Unfortunately there are no photos attached to this review as the area in question is a building site with mess everywhere so it is not a good time to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rang a church bell for the first time!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived just as there was a demonstration taking place and we were fortunate to get the opportunity for 'hands on' experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahB1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you got to have a chime of a bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Tower also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing