We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth it”
Review of The Bell Tower

The Bell Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.93*
and up
Perth Bell Tower Experience
Ranked #26 of 178 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve of the 18 bells in this tower came from London's St.-Martin-in-the-Fields church in Trafalgar Square as a Bicentenary gift to the people of Western Australia in 1988. Originally cast in the 13th century and recast in the 16th and 18th centuries, they were rung at the homecoming of James Cook after his voyage of discovery in 1771, after the Battle of El Alamein in 1942 and at the coronation of every British monach since George II in 1727.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went on a beautiful day, from the top were breathtaking views of perth and the coast.
Great to see the oldest bells in Australia, and cool to see the bell ringers in action too.
Staff were all friendly and helpful

Thank summa130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate hearing from our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"elizabeth quay"
in 128 reviews
"observation deck"
in 32 reviews
"love locks"
in 20 reviews
"st martin in the fields"
in 16 reviews
"swan river"
in 136 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 16 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 17 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 45 reviews
"barrack street"
in 21 reviews
"interesting history"
in 14 reviews
"perth city"
in 27 reviews
"ring"
in 187 reviews
"banging"
in 147 reviews
"rung"
in 51 reviews
"chimes"
in 39 reviews
"chirping"
in 30 reviews
"howard"
in 22 reviews
Filter

1,044 - 1,048 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was so good to see the bells from two historic sites in the UK being put to use rather than melted down. A great introduction to bell ringing in its many forms. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff

Thank OldClanEllmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Go up in the lift and walk down!
This attraction is over about 6 floors. On the top floor, below the tall glass structure, you can pay 1$ and hear the Carillon play. Or you can just listen to the wind blowing through the structure. O,n the floor below the bells which sound the quarter hours are visible, linked in with the fantastic clock made in Whitchurch, Shropshire, which is on the ground floor.
The third floor houses the bells, and the second the ropes to pull the bells, along with an interesting collection of bells and some early clocks. At certain times of the day all the bells ring, and at some times visitors are allowed to 'have a go'.
This is a really interesting tour which could take way over an hour, but we saw a lot in45 minutes .

Thank Flower_golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review. We appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased that your found the experience enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Bell Tower tolls every noon and certain times of the day. You can hear the chimes from this bell structure all over downtown Perth.

Its near the Perth Wheel (Ferris Wheel) and the ferry terminal. Nice place to spend the day while touring Perth.

The Perth Tour bus stop just infront of this structure. Likewise free buses stops infront of Bell Tower.

1  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of your day to review us. We love the images.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Seen this building on a brochure on my first day in Perth, and thought that it looked like a nice place to see. I'm very glad I did. It's a beautiful mix of contemporary architecture and historic indulgence. I got to ring the church bells, and the instructor even made a few jokes about me being Scottish, which was a good laugh. There are plenty of displays which tell you all about the history of the building and it's contents, and the view from the 6th floor platform is fantastic. Definitely worth the $14.

Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your review and great feedback. We are please that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Tower also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing