We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sound and setting but time your visit carefully. . .”
Review of The Bell Tower

The Bell Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.67*
and up
History, Culture and Heritage Walking Tour of Perth
Ranked #11 of 164 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Twelve of the 18 bells in this tower came from London's St.-Martin-in-the-Fields church in Trafalgar Square as a Bicentenary gift to the people of Western Australia in 1988. Originally cast in the 13th century and recast in the 16th and 18th centuries, they were rung at the homecoming of James Cook after his voyage of discovery in 1771, after the Battle of El Alamein in 1942 and at the coronation of every British monach since George II in 1727.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely sound and setting but time your visit carefully. . .”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Swan bells are housed in a beautifully designed structure with a glass spire. The most important point is the timing of your visit. We read that the bells are rung between Noon and 13.00 so we turned up soon after 11.30 and had the opportunity, not only to try our hands at bell ringing, but also to watch the four professional (volunteers) practice before the official ringing got started. They are really enthusiastic and Laura even presented us with a certificate a a souvenir of the experience! If you arrive once the main bell ringing session has begun you cannot see the demo or have a go yourself. This attraction is something different and the sound of the bells is lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate you possitive feedback. It is excellent that you timed your visit so well to see both the experienced ringers ringing as well as have an oppotunity to chime the bells.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    408
    219
    67
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pointless Rip Off”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

There is $14 I'm never getting back....
Half decent architecture worth about 3 mins appreciation (from the ground!), that's about.
Talk about clutching at the tourist attraction / heritage straws. The view is just as poxy, 6 storey view of nothing but roads and featureless waterway. Crapola.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S24SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review. We appreciate your feedback and apologise that you did not find your visit worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went there for a family wedding. Staff were friendly & attentive. Food was great. Choice of inside or outside on the balcony. Overlooks the river at Barrack Street Jetty Complex. On site parking can be an issue but plenty over Riverside Drive.

Helpful?
Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed the wedding and the beautiful view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
318 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fun Diversion”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I actually enjoyed this, had fun walking up to the top (and I recommend walking if you can). The structure is really cool, very modern. Nice views all around, and good learning experience about the bells. A little pricy though at $14 given time spent is really not going to be that long.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. We loved the photos you took of the tower, thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Sight-seen point”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The tower is kind of clock tower. The tower rung the different sound every times. You can enjoy the sound, and this tower located on next to Swan River, so If you come here, you'll enjoy sight and sound!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AiN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belltower1, Manager at The Bell Tower, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the tower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Tower also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing