We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saowanee's Place

Saowanee's Place
Ranked #400 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited for an early dinner. Service was friendly and polite. Food was good - tasty variety of Thai cuisine. Prices = good value. The place was buzzing with happy customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank C4ZAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is great. Authentic recipes and the quality of the meat is perfect. I cannot get enough of this place. Easily the best Thai in Perth and up there with any other Thai food I've had the world over. To top it off, it's not over priced considering its Perth. An absolute bargain.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“best thai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This restaurant is not much to look at, but provide the whole package if you give them the chance. Our first impression when we walked in to the restaurant was the smell, it smelt beautiful, and was so inviting. Its not flash, but so welcoming and comfortable and typically thai. We ordered the Chicken and cashews, beef salad, and pad thai. Delicious!!! All three dishes were perfect. The beef salad was not too hot, which meant my husband could enjoy it too. The two of us polished off all three dishes and left not a scrap on our plates. As we left, we noticed we felt fantastic, not a heavy feeling like you get from some restaurants. We were buzzing as we were so satisfied from a perfect meal. The food sat so well and made us feel great. Lifted our spirits dining here :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ozeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tasty thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love the pineapple fried rice saowanee, always my favourite when i visit, along with the chicken satay you make with the peanut butter and coconut sauce, finger lickin good. very peaceful atmosphere with some very beautiful people. Thanks for the great night and full bellies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fellow travellers and tripadvisors will know that when you're on the road, particularly for an extended duration, and you get a craving for a particular cuisine, it simply must be satisfied. Thanks to technology, that's not quite the drama/adventure it used to be. A quick google from wherever you happen to be will generally yield up a selection of local choices.

So it was with Saowannie's. On a busy Saturday night in Perth, at peak hour, we rocked up to our first search result. No room at the inn. So onto Saowannie's. Absolutely bustling, we nevertheless secured a table in short order and were well on our way to having said cravings dealt with. The dishes emerging from the kitchen and being delivered to other diners all looked lovely - fragrant as they swooped by, steaming and, if the ah's and oh's from our fellow patrons were to be believed, all very good.

We had fish cakes, tom yum and a chicken yellow curry. All very good.

Decor wise, the place is average. Vinyl table mats, ubiquitous table ads. Lighting very high for a nighttime meal. That was a good sign - it was obvious this was a favoured restaurant, and if not for the romantic ambience, it must be for the food. I know which I prefer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saowanee's Place also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Saowanee's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing