We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We were given a very small room with an old air conditioning unit
that made an awaful noise. We complained to reception and were then given a bigger/quieter room which was fine.
The breakfast here is good and it is cooked fresh so there is a small delay in getting served as a result. There is a frequent free bus service outside the door which was great. There is free internet at reception but it is ususlly busy. Wifi is available at a fixed charge.All in all, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Manus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 760 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2007

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, friendly 3 star hotel. Close to the city with a free CAT bus on the doorstep. The staff were very helpful and the free bike hire a real bonus. The only downside is that there are no places to eat in close proximity. The hotel does have a good restaurant but it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieDevil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

My husband and I had booked to stay here for 5 nights a few weeks ago. We had requested a cot for our 8 week old daughter. When we arrived, late in the evening, there was no cot. When a staff member finally arrived with the cot we were told we had to set it up ourselves as he did not know how to do it. The cot appeared to be a very cheap and dodgy portacot. When we opened it out we were horrified to find the mattress covered in baby vomit. It stank and was absolutely disgusting. Our baby slept with us that night until we could sort it out in the morning as by now it was very late and we were all exhausted. We ordered room service which you have to pick up from downstairs yourself. I thought it was quite expensive for what you got. There were about 100 kids staying at the hotel who were part of an athletics team and they were extremely rude and inconsiderate. They ran up and down the halls banging on doors and walls late into the night and were up at 5.30am where they continued to make more noise. We did not see any parents or guardians and the hotel staff let them behave this way. We ended up staying for 1 night only so we lost about $500.00 as the room was booked on the internet. We asked to speak to the manager upon check-out but was informed he was away for the day. The lady at reception was very rude and pretty much accused us of lying when we told her about the vomit covered cot. She implied it was done by our baby.We left our details for the manager to contact us when he returned to work but we are still waiting for him to call us 3 weeks later. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We booked a special offer 4-night stay at AUD95/night, so we weren't expecting a lot. We were pleasantly surprised to find the place quite clean and comfortable, though a bit old, basic and small. Two things that especially pleased us were the comfortable bed and clean electric kettle.

It was not located within the CBD, so a car was handy. 5 minutes drive and we were in the city. Parking was ample.

Overall, very good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlexYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

I stayed 4 nights in mid-April in this well located hotel a stone's throw from the show-stopper park, King's Park and from a free bus service around Perth. Price was fair about US$80/night.

It went from fine enough to bad enough when a large group of teenage athletes took over 50% of the rooms. They ran up & down the hallways, shouting profanities, slamming doors and shouting at each other for 4 hours!

The staff and management made extremely feeble attempts to both manage and quell the noise. It was so bad that I checked out of the hotel at 11PM (I had prepaid it already which hurt) and found another quiet one at A$150/night.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Stayed at the Sullivans Hotel for 2 weeks and can highly recommend this hotel. Food is excellent. Very friendly staff in all areas. Clean towels each day. Free internet, free bike hire. We cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. We found it very convenient for the City and Kings Park.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

When I arrived at Sullivans I was disappointed with the size of the room (it was tiny), so I asked for an upgrade to a deluxe room. This cost $20 per night (£8) and was definitely worth it. It was a huge room (more than double the size of the standard room), with a large balcony with great views of Perth city centre, a good air con system, a large settee and nicer decor than the standard room.

Definitely go for the deluxe!

Really friendly hotel, free internet access in reception, a laundry room with washer, dryer, iron, a nice swimming pool, a bar and restaurant (although we didn't try the restaurant as there were so many in Perth!).

Excellent location, 10 min scenic walk by the riverside to the Barrack St Jetty or a free bus stops right outside the hotel every 7 minutes (5 mins to centre of town).

Don't go expecting 5 star luxury, but do go if you want a good location, clean hotel, family run & friendly with good amenities.

I'd definitely stay here next time I go to Perth.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CaitlynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 66 in Perth
1,438 reviews
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest Mounts Bay Road
West Perth
Tribe Perth
Tribe Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $84 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is one of Perth’s leading 3.5 stars hotels and is situated in Perth’s premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Whilst enjoying a boutique style accommodation with high quality King size beds in all rooms, guests have access to parking, bicycles, an outdoor swimming pool, wifi, a restaurant and Bar. Within easy walking distance (10 minutes) of the City Centre, Swan River, Elizabeth Quay and Perth Exhibition & Convention Centre, Sullivans Hotel is ideally located in the free transit zone for leisure and business travelers. Public transport (Transperth’s buses) is available outside the hotel and is free of charge to & from the City Centre. Sullivans Hotel is maintained with great pride and our guests will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing