We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”
Review of Sullivans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sullivans Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Stayed here for a total of 6 days during our recent Aus holiday. The hotel is very clean and comfy and the staff very friendly and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the breakfasts and evening meals all looked good. During our first stay we walked into town to eat and we didn't find it too far to walk. On our 2 subsequent stays we had a car, so drove out to Subiaco (an easy 10 min drive) where there are some great little restaurants including Wagamamas and Chutney Mary's.
We were upgraded after our first stay and had nice views out across a park towards the city. Didn't really notice any traffic noise or noise from the aircon.
I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others. The free internet was also a bonus, it was the only hotel on our travels that offered this. Also, you can easily get to Kings Park via Jacobs Ladder (dodging the maniacal keep fit fiends!)
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 742 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2008

Excellently situated for use of the public bus services. But not ideal for eating or entertainment requirements of an evening as no local restaurants or bars nearby only accessible by taxi or private car. Sullivans do have restaurant facilities but the food is only average. However if you go for the continental breakfast it's 2nd to none, abundant & lots of choice. Hotel rooms very good & certainly very clean. All the hotel staff are very friendly & helpful apart from Shaun who is sometimes on the reception desk. Got to be the most unhelpful & hostile South African i've ever met! But don't let this put you off staying there as i would certainly use the place again.

Bedfordshire, UK

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Flitwick41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

Sullivan's has a great price given its location just outside of the city centre. There is plenty of free off-street parking for those who have a car. This small hotel is often quiet and has been recently refurbished. I often stay in a deluxe room with a lovely view of the river, parks and city for a mere AUD $160 per night. I have stayed here about 6 times now, and have never had a problem - the rooms are always clean, there's never a long wait for the lift and the pool out the back is rather secluded.

The breakfast is a rip off (as it always is in a hotel) but the evening meals are quite nice. I always walk to the city centre for breakfast, which is a mere 15 minute stroll through a lovely part of Perth. There is also a bus stop directly outside the hotel which offers free transport to the city.

The service is always nice and warm without being fake. I will continue to stay here for future visits to Perth.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here as part of my Aussie trip. I would not recommend this place for travelers under 50, no offense to the over 50s!

Had a deluxe room which was roomy and clean, but with a noisy a/c unit. Some of the reception staff where great others were very poor, we had spent a week coming and out of the hotel (handing in our key every time) and while working on my laptop in the reception area a receptionist came up to us and gruffly asked "who are you people" even though i got my room key from here an hour before.

The free bus outside the door was good, the pool was clean although the outside needs some attention.

Liked: location to city
Disliked: Age profile of guests and some rude staff

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sullivans on recommendation from friends of ours. Looks outdated from the outside but the inside was a very pleasant surprise. Refurbished and very clean, we could not fault it. We booked a Deluxe room for $150 per night and were glad we did as it was very spacious and had a small balcony with lovely views over the city. Even though our room was on the street side the traffic noise was not an issue and barely noticable. We enjoyed continental breakfast in the dining room and it was fantastic. The free "CAT" bus stopped right outside the hotel and we managed to get all around Perth using these free buses. We also borrowed the bicycles for a ride around Kings Park. We would recommend this hotel as it is excellent value for money and a really great location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meyerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for three nights . The air conditioning is the old fashioned wall mounted units and in the room that we were given it was about 2 feet from the bed - just at the bed height - it was impossible to use It and not be frozen - If you opened the window for air you got the traffic noise from the main freeway into Perth from the south (it is only about 75 -100 yards from the hotel. also - no hand towels in the room - we were told that we had to ask for them??, Staff were friendly but unfortunately there was not enough of them - On out last day there we had to miss out on a cooked breakfast as they could not cope with the numbers in the dining room.Also - picture of hotel must be years old - there is a Hospital right next door to it...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank retiredScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This is an unpretentious hotel, but is very well run and is easily within walking distance (if the free CAT bus has stopped running) of both the city and the ferry terminal. The pool area is small but clean and well presented. Staff are very helpful - well worth a visit...

It is worth booking an upgraded room - these have balconies, are bigger and look out over the river if the trees arent in bloom...

Didnt eat in the hotel, but the menu looked reasonable, however there are plenty of places in the city.. but only one on the waterfront - do visit the "Lucky Shag" bar - excellent atmosphere, good food and lovely views over the river.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#4 of 66 in Perth
331 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
Perth CBD
Best Western Northbridge Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sullivans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sullivans Hotel

Address: 166 Mounts Bay Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $87 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sullivans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sullivans Hotel is situated in Perth's premier location, on the edge of the city centre and adjoining the beautiful Kings Park. Within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and Convention Centre we are ideally located for leisure and business travelers. As Perth's leading 3 star hotel and maintained with great pride, you will experience exceptional service, friendly staff and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sullivans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sullivans Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing