We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel experienced ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The New Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying at this hotel with a party of four. You guessed it booked by an agent and of course it was the only thing available. This place was so bad ( not just one room, but all four) that I called the Perth city health inspector. He came out and gave a list of instructions in regards to cleaning. Not only is it filthy and poorly appointed, the staff are just rude and obstructionist.

I think most people would have a better experience in a tent on the banks of the swan river!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy your stay don't stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loroseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is located in central Perth CBD. So, if you are going for any business this is nice place to stay. The room quality is average the space in the corridor is very small. The hotel doesn't have any restaurant. You have to go out for your breakfast. The maintenance is very poor. The table lab and alarm clock were not at working conditions. I had a problem of connecting with the wireless internet and the hotel stuffs were unable to solve the problem; however they made a significant efforts. Moreover, the cost is relatively at higher side in respect to the service you are getting from them.

Room Tip: River side rooms at floor above 6 are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snehamoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don't stay at this establishment. We stayed in a deluxe room. Would hate to see standard rooms. Bloody awful. Nothing that a good demolition & rebuild couldn't fixWe couldn't believe that we were charged over $200 per night. For what you might ask. A very uncomfortable double bed thrown in too. To us it had the resemblance of an asian students accommodation house. Yuk

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed at the New Esplanade on 2 occassions, once on the 7th floor and then on the 5th floor. Both rooms have views overlooking the Swan River. The hotel is definitely no frills, but the sheets and towels were fresh and clean and we were happy with the general condition of the room considering the price of $115 per night. Reception staff were friendly. We would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is such a great location and cheap. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river on the 7th or 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having arrived from Singapore at 2:00 in the morning, and being locked out of our reserved room at the delightful Pier 21 apartment hotel in North Fremantle due to a faulty key safe, we were directed to The New Esplanade Hotel in Perth.

With expectations of a cozy bed at last with crisp sheets and a warm welcome, we lugged our cases up to the front desk to find a soft-spoken, embarrassed night clerk who could only offer us the last room in the hotel for twice the normal price, 'because it was the last room in the hotel.' Parking would be an additional charge.

Not being in a position to argue, we took it and dragged the bags to the room. It looked like a Salvation Army dorm room. We peeked out the miniscule window, barely covered by garish, too-short curtains to a grey view of the parking lot.

Everything was worn, spartan and mismatched. There were no blankets on the bed, but we found some in the cupboard which didn't smell fresh. I could not say that the sheets were not clean, but the overall impression of the room made me feel ill at ease, as though I was going to find something untoward if I looked too closely.

The room offered a kettle and some instant coffee; the bathroom had two glasses and a small bar of soap (that's all), but was far from sparkling.

We slipped into bed and lay with our eyes closed, not really asleep, until 8:00 am when the alarm (which we had not set) went off persistently.

We couldn't pack our bags and leave fast enough.

Bloody awful experience for $350.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The New Esplande Hotel Perth

Booking a hotel less than a week before we were due to travel to Perth our company was left with limited choice as everything was booked on one or all three of the days we required to stay. This is often the case in Perth .
Here are the facts on our stay at the New Esplande. We stayed Sun-Wed.
It is a budget hotel well situated very close to the Perth city center. It is only 10 minute walk to Murray and Hay street malls and Perth train station. Despite it's name the hotel has been around for more than twenty years and the room we stayed in definitely looked it.
Being a budget it is definitely a no frills hotel. We stayed on the first floor in room 108, it contains in one room a double bed with a flat screen T.V (doesn't appear to have digital tv) and two single beds in another room.
The room is right next to elevator and view out the window is of the multi story car park. It was definitely NOT like the professional picture provided by the hotel.
It was reasonably clean apart from lots of scuff marks on the walls and the skirting boards need a good dust. The decor is basic and old but functional. The bathroom was clean as was the fridge. The shower had good pressure and was hot, only soap is provided in the shower. Tea, coffee, sugar and small long life milks are provided. There is no mini bar. Woolworths Supermarket is only five minute walk up Howard street for any groceries you may require. There are also many choices for eating out close to the hotel, ask at the reception for a map.
A deposit of $30 AUD was asked for when checking in, this was said to be for incidentals, but after seeing the notice stuck on the wardrobe door this possibly to cover any hotel property which might go missing or any damage done to the room?
Wifi is only available if you pay for it approximately $30 per day. Parking is available at the muti story car park attached to the back of the hotel at a rate of $30 AUD per day. There are no safety deposit boxes in the rooms but they are available at Reception for a deposit of $30 AUD. Management make it very clear that they will accept no responsibility for items left on the premises. A Guest laundry is provided on the 2nd floor and a Ironing room on the 7th and 8th floors these are very dingy and double as storage rooms.
Sleep wise it can be quite noisy at night with the elevator next to the room and the loud echoing from the multi store car park. Recommend ear plugs. The double bed was not comfortable for two people so I used one of the singles which was ok.
The front of the hotel faces the Swan River with views of the Bell Tower. Currently the other side of the road is fenced off as earth works have begun on the Elizabeth Quay's project. Would only stay again if we had no other choice. Great location but disappointing and the additional costs for parking and wifi make it over priced for budget hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room shown in their own photos which over looks the river, it looks so much nicer than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beyondthefrontdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

At a time when i was hard put to find a hotel under A$400 per night I happened across the New Esplanade Hotel which cam ein under A$200 per night. Beggars can't be choosers so I booked my two night business stay here. It did say river views so that was something to look forward to, after my previous experience staying in a hotel with a view into a light shaft.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I entered my eighth floor room. The room was a nice size, with a bay window overlooking the Swan River. The style of the hotel is a bit dated and if you look at the 9 floor building and those that surround it you can see it has been here a while. The rooms are neat and tidy with a kitchenette. The ironing facilities are across the hall but small price to pay.

I would recommend staying no lower than the 7th floor as far as I could tell, to make sure you are above the tree line and have an unobstructed view of the Swan River.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay 7th floor or higher to avoid losing your view to the tree line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#57 of 66 in Perth
465 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#48 of 66 in Perth
383 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#53 of 66 in Perth
153 reviews
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Esplanade Hotel

Address: 18 The Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $67 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The New Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Esplanade Hotel
New Esplanade Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing