We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, Great Price and Great Location, rest only ok”
Review of Miss Maud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miss Maud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Well, breakfast was sensational, as was service at breakfast. Unfortunately can't say the same for Reception service as we didn't even get a smile there. For the price, this hotel really is ok, room was very clean, bed comfortable, but room and bathroom dated. Lift was a joke, couldn't even get my bag into it and all the time I was struggling to get the door to stay open and get my bag in the Receptionist just sat there and stared without a word of help. Actually ended up lugging the bags up 2 flights of stairs. But, at the end of the day, this hotel is good value and the breakfast and the cost sure makes up for any negatives in the hotel and yes, I probably would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 935 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Miss Maud. We were slightly worried with its name, Miss Maud, Swedish Hotel, however we were very impressed. It was Anzac Day that weekend and so it was very busy. It was a bit chaotic at breakfast time, but the food is brilliant. The room was very plain but very clean. Altogether a good experience, we would stay again on a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mysticmik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Good value, cosy hotel in a decent location.
We stayed here for 1 night, mid-week, as we were going to a concert in the city. The location is easy to get to and you can walk anywhere in the city from here. We had a balcony room which was good as the rooms are a little small, but what you would expect from a hotel with character. It's not a modern box style hotel, like an ibis, but feels more like a comfy old sofa. Staff were polite and breakfast was delicious. If you have to stay in the city, especially with mid-week prices, there is no point in staying anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank EmmaandLee-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The staff were very friendly the rooms very comfortable if a little dated. We stayed here for 2 nights, a Friday & Saturday. There was a hotel opposite our rooms & the noise until after midnight made sleeping impossible. In view of the noise I will not have stayed at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Rms160 to 165 as very noisy. I am not sure if they are the only ones affected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CallySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

just fantastic stayed one night this weekend fabulous food and very comfortable room
smorgasbord breakfast and dinner were a winner for us they had everything
got the package deal very good value
very friendly people and staff will stay again and tell friends

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Quirky humorous hotel well located, but be careful of somewhat seedy shops nearby. Rooms are small. Wi-fi is uneven. Breakfast buffet is included and is of good value. As Perth is expensive, it is a good idea to have a hearty breakfast so you can eat a smaller lunch.
If you are driving, an important tip is that parking overnight between 6 and 8 the next am is free, so you don't need to use the parking lots.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elaine3Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Check-in quick and efficient. The antique 1930's style elevator was just big enough for two people and a large suitcase. The double layer doors required manually opening/closing and it moved slowly and noisily, but smoothly. Our room was on the top (2nd) floor and we found it quicker to use the stairs although I found the lift fun to use.
We booked a standard queen room but after reading other reviews I wonder if we were upgraded as the size was good. Being a corner room we had two opening windows. Bathroom and plumbing was modern. Corridors and room clean and in good condition. While the theme is 1970's Swedish, hotel looks like it has been refurbished recently. Our room was at the back of the hotel. It was quiet, except for the odd plumbing noise and creaky floorboards. No view. Everything worked fine. Bed was firm, clean, comfy pillows. Well serviced every day of our six day stay.
Restaurant had good selection for breakfast and food was of good quality except bacon which was tough. Pastries and pancakes are nice. The theme was Swedish and the waitresses were cheerful and helpful.
10 min walk to bus, underground, malls. Plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby but very little nightlife as everything seems to close by 9pm.
Due to our evening flight I asked for a late checkout. The desk offered 11 am and any longer would have cost us a half day charge.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,388 reviews
Mercure Perth
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,926 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $94 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests. Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing