We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay in Perth”
Review of Miss Maud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miss Maud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights and found the hotel to be great for our visit to Perth.
We stayed in Room 233 which has a balcony, not the best view across the street of multi storey car park but look left or right and you can watch everyday life going on. Bit of noise from the road but didn't disturb our sleep.
Room is comfortable, clean with everything we needed- bath with overhead shower, to soak in after long day of sightseeing. Hair dryer, toiletries , iced water left in fridge, coffee,tea making facilities , mini bar if you want it.
There is a laundry room ,washing machine (2 dollars, washing powder provided) ,tumble dryer (2 dollars) and iron and ironing board. Great for us as we are travelling for 4 weeks.
We like this hotel because it is run by friendly, knowledgable staff, it's not one of those big impersonal hotels. There are free safety deposit boxes at reception which is manned 24 hours a day.
Breakfast is excellent, will keep you going most of the day which is just as well as it's a very expensive city to eat and drink in! The restaurant reminds us of Betty's Tea Rooms in Harrogate, very much an institution around here, popular with the locals.
The location is excellent, easy walking everywhere. The CAT buses are free and make it easy to get around the city. Trains easy to use to get to Freemantle and beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarge58Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 934 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Spent four nights here and would recommend it. Centrally located beside CBD but is an older building with great character. Room (see below) was reasonable size with a balcony and while a little old in decor, suited our needs. Excellent buffet breakfast that is strongly recommended. Staff very helpful, except for a disinterested night porter on late arrival. That first night we had a spacious interior room with windows high up and onto a dark light well - a bit jail like ! However staff at reception in the morning could not be more helpful and quickly found a new room.
Would also recommend the restaurant, a smorgasbord of great quality and quantity. However the musical entertainment is not a strong point ! Different in a good way from the usual chain hotel.

Room Tip: make sure it is an outside room, even better if one of four with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

was a wonderful time here. Loved the food, very tasty. management were really helpful. The rooms were a little old looking but it was still a nice stay. The food was great, no complaints to be had. The premises was located in a good spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

the hotel is ideally located for downtown Perth, and it has a multi-storey car park literally across the road

the rooms are tiny, and dated..if you have a lot of luggage, you may find yourself struggling to get to your room, as there are stairs at the strangest places!

the breakfast is just amazing - pastries/bread are stunning, which one would expect given that Miss Maud owns a chain of Swedish bakeries, but I simply overdosed on the mountain of berries that is served every morning..helped down with a pancake or two! (or three...)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Walking into the hotel that was located in close proximity to the Perth CBD, we arrived in Miss Maud Swedish Hotel which had a warm Swedish touch to the entire setting of the hotel building. Check-in was quick and efficient and we moved into our room.

The lift was somewhat rustic and required you to pull two doors open after it arrives upon pressing the button on the side of the lift, as we walked into our room, it looked really simple but had all the basic necessities required, the bed was really comfortable and the entire room was clean, hygienic and tidy. Wi-Fi was a huge plus especially in a city like Perth.

Breakfast next morning was lovely. Delicious Smorgasbord breakfast with lots of choices from scrambled eggs to grilled tomatoes with cheese, sausages, bacon, waffles, fruits, pancakes with cream, blueberries and lingonberries etc.

For the price of AUD$189 I paid per night by e-mailing them directly, it was value for money if you would to calculate that the breakfast buffet alone costs around AUD$27 per pax. Hotels in Perth are also extremely expensive so this was a rather reasonable price.

Service was lovely and efficient. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This little hotel in Perth has fantastic staff that will bend over backwards to help. The staff almost got the hotel up to 4/5 rating.

The hotel does not have enough power points. In my room, the desk was against a wall that had no power points - the nearest power point was on the opposite wall. If you did not want a trip hazard in your room you had to plan your day based on the battery life of your laptop. This problem could be solved with simple rearranging the furniture.

The hotel is like staying at your grandmothers house in the last guest room. If your grandmother is a little old lady (LOL), the wall paper looks LOL, the pictures on the wall remind you of a LOL, the narrow twisting corridors remind you of a LOL, and the lift. The lift has a manual door, and has a clean but very pungent and unpleasant LOL chemical smell.

Location is fantastic. And the mini-bar had some Miss Maud cookies/biscuits.

Would I stay there again with my money? Probably not. Would I complain if someone else put me up there? No.

And remember, it is in Perth. You can find a lot worse for a lot more money in Perth.

Room Tip: If you are under 50 you might be the youngest guest in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located near to CBD and within walking distance to the malls. You are also able to take the free CAT buses to popular tourist attractions like Kings Park and Harbour Town. The rooms are small but adequate. There is a small lift in the hotel for those who have walking problems or who does not want to take the stairs carrying heavy luggages. We took the room package which included a Smorgasbord Dinner and breakfast. Simply love the buffet dinner spread and since it was around Christmas, we had party poppers too! I wouldn't mind coming back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmllim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,388 reviews
Mercure Perth
#26 of 66 in Perth
1,926 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $92 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests. Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing