We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So peaceful, quaint and cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So peaceful, quaint and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Miss Maud Swedish Hotel for just one night during the weekend. It was an easy choice as we know how good their morning buffet breakfasts are, which is included in the price of the accommodation. Although the rooms are small and the hotel itself is not all that big it is a definite repeat location. You could hear little if any road noise, nothing from the "neighbours" and the beds were quite cosy. The water hot, the showers good and the TV had some Foxtel channels for those who wish to watch. Great location, about a block from the city malls, not far from Northbridge for food and entertainment and did I mention the breakfasts??? Smorgasbord breaky that is just fabulous! Will do again.... soon I hope.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reithewonderfuldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    366
    125
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
401
116
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Miss Maud's Hotel has good clean rooms, nothing fancy, however this establishment is well run and friendly. The room rate includes a delicious hearty breakfast. The restaurant also is open for lunch and dinner. Centrally situated in Perth CBD makes this an ideal hotel from which to explore the wonderful city of Perth. The decor is quant with probably the oldest lift in Australia still working.

Room Tip: We have stayed here a couple of times, if you are a solo traveller there are 2 rooms on the garden r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not like your typical Hilton, InterCon, Sheraton etc., this is a hotel with an element of charm. the location is very central to Perth CBD. The staff were very friendly. Room was spacious, well decorated and very clean. No view to speak of. Bed on the firm side, but I prefer that.

I had room service which was very good. Mud Cake was a bit disappointing as it was very dry.

For breakfast I partook in the smorgasbord which has many options. Food quality was very good.

If you are looking for something a little different from an standard hotel, give it a try. I will return again on the next visit to Perth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVNMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is a one off. It's quaint and charming. The bends, stairs everywhere and decor reminded me a bit of Fawlty Towers! But the service was fine, and the room - though small, was well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had one night here booked through Hotel.com or one of those. We just needed a quick overnight stay. The price was $145 which included breakfast which was great. The room was very small, with a small bathroom, no bath tub. The shower head kept on falling down and the air con was so noisy we had to turn it off. The lighting is very good. Comfortable enough for our stay. Had a blanket on the bed, ok I guess, but I would prefer a doona. Breakfast was really good, just love their Bircher Muesli. The only thing I am really peeved about is we had been to the Good food and Wine festival and had bought 4 different cheeses. We put them in the fridge and forgot to take them when we left. I rang approx 3 hours later and asked if we could come and get them. The girl told me that anything left in the fridge is disposed of. I said I can understand anything that was open would be, but this is 4 packets of unopened cheese just purchased. She said there was nothing that could be done. You can't tell me that 4 packets of perfectly fresh unopened cheese would be disposed of. I am really upset about that

Room Tip: Room 109 is very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandurahmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the moment I entered, I was made to feel welcome. I phoned ahead to arrange someone to help with my suitcases. As there is no parking on site, a young lady, Christie came across the road & brought my two cases across, & then she arranged for them to be taken to my room.
For the price of MM, I was happy to pay $109.00 a night, which included breakfast each morning.
This hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly & helpful. The location is right in the middle of Perth & close to everything that a traveller or holiday maker would need. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

No modern sameness about this Hotel. Miss Maud has got some old fashioned charm. We stayed here for 4 nights and were well looked after and comfortable. The staff were helpful and welcoming and the location very good for the CBD. The building is old and just a little creaky, there were one or two 'bumps in the night'. Our room (170) was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom is modern and the hot water plentiful. We had a King sized bed but there was still plenty of room to move. The free Wifi was available in room and we had no problems with connectivity.

The breakfast included was an excellent buffet with plenty of options and good strong coffee.
Dinner was also good, the buffet looked interesting but we ate al a carte and had a good meal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#14 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Swedish Hotel

Property: Miss Maud Swedish Hotel
Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#13 Family Hotel in Perth
#13 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Swedish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests.Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Miss Maud Swedish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing