We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey feel and best breakfast ever!”
Review of Miss Maud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miss Maud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I loved the feel of this place, it's old fashioned but still has the modern nicities such as a modern bathroom. I asked for a quiet room as I am a
poor sleeper and was not disappointed. I had a fantastic sleep.
I got the single room from last minute.com for 139 and it was definately worth it! Cable tv flat screen tv with 2 extra movie channels was great.
This best bit was the breakfast that was included. One of the best I've ever had and I have stayed at many more expensive and fancy hotels before. The thing that distinguishes it is the quality of food and the lovely ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank firefox_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

the hotel has a quirky charm and a very cramped lift but the breakfast is great. The hotel rooms are squeaky clean, try to get a room with a balcony, the side rooms facing onto the building next door are uncomfortable, but if you are just there to crash out and sleep it won't matter to you

Room Tip: try and get the front corner window room on the first floor - its huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustralianTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

we stayed at miss maud s as a stopover before our flight back home.very centrally located hotel.walk down to the shopping area.
its a lil hotel, very nicely located, rooms well appointed.check in was fast, with efficient staff.walkway was rather narrow, and rather tricky if u have luggage.hence, u ll need to manouvre your way carrying your luggage to your room.

otherwise, clean, affordable accomodation.there are no views outside, ours faced a parking lot.there are no parking facilities available either.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lingamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

After a change of rooms, as the first was tiny and dark, we got a decent room....but that really is it. Staff were nice.
My fiancée being Scandinavian, failed to see anything of Swedish significance.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seamus2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Miss Maud's is a boutique hotel right in the CBD where we stayed for 6 nights.. It is family owned and has a lovely feel of history and character. Not all rooms are equal. Some are completely internal (no daylight at all) others open onto roof garden which occupies smokers and those rooms therefore accessed by going outside. We requested a room change which was done with efficiency and friendliness.
Breakfast is included in the adjacent restaurant which is a magnificent smorgasbord with wonderful pastries !
A full guest laundry is a plus. The lift is small , a little awkward to manage and starts up a flight of stairs from the lobby which might be an issue for the less nimble.
There is no lounge area for gathering.
Can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights with parties in the bars close by - but this is a price to pay for being in the heart of things, and a comment not a complaint.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I agree with previous reviewers regarding price of this hotel for what essentially feels like an old boarding house. My single room was along a maze of internal corridors, with a window facing directly into the next building and dated decor as described by others. I had to carry a heavy suitcase upstairs and no help was offered. However the room had a very comfortable bed and all the amenities you would want for a short stay. The buffet breakfast did not disappoint and location was perfect for shopping and access to transport. Scandinavian visitors will love the quaint swedish decor just like grandmother's house and the food from home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stressbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The rooms are basic but the restaurant makes up for this. The breakfast is the best ever breakfast I have ever had in any hotel... there is nothing that you can't have here. All the rugular breakfast items including Bircher Museli, all fruit, breads, pancakes, crepes, cereals, meats etc etc! I would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a double room for 2 people... it is much larger than a double for 1 person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiteline10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,294 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,608 reviews
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Maud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Maud Hotel

Address: 97 Murray St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#10 Business Hotel in Perth
#11 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $101 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Maud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE Wi-Fi and also Smorgasbord breakfast included for all staying guests. Our 'little bit of Sweden', in the heart of the city, has become a landmark in Perth’s CBD - a preferred location for business and leisure travellers alike. Only a short stroll to shopping malls, entertainment district, Swan River, Barrack Street Jetty and other attractions. There are 52 charming, well-appointed, rooms with flat screen LCD TV, mini-bar with fridge, individually controlled air-conditioning and all essential comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miss Maud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Maud Swedish Perth
Hotel Miss Maud Swedish
Perth Miss Maud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing