We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Duxton for a total of five weeks whilst I recovered from knee surgery. The staff were fantastic, couldn't do enough to help. The facilities were great with the exception of the internet which was quite poor despite the best efforts of the staff & the IT department . I would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Rosalyn B,

Thank you for selcting the Duxton Hotel for your recovery. I appreciate your feedback and that you experienced an amazing stay. I will ensure that the team recieves my personal commendation for their efforts.
We are upgarding our WiFi in room service and this will be completed shortly.
The Duxton Team wishes you well and hopefully one day have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    397
    179
    64
    47
See reviews for
93
423
41
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My sister, daughter and myself stayed at the Duxton over the Anzac long weekend. from the moment we entered the beautiful foyer the staff were amazing. Any query in regards to " where is a nice place to have desert" ( Halo- on the Jetty- easy walk) to leaving our car for an extra hour after checkout-- nothing was an issue. The room was exceptional, the bed amazingly comfortable, the location perfect, a wonderful stroll to the city shops and to the Swan River for coffee. I am planning my next trip to Perth just so I can stay at the Duxton. Perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in 309- the room overlooked St George Terrace- there was no issue with the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Michelle C,

I was glad to read that you stay was perfect in every way. Thank you for your feedback and hopefull we are able to be of service to you in the future.

Warm Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband booked a night at the Duxton in celebration of my birthday. We have stayed there before, and once again it was an absolute pleasure. We only live half hour away, but it's just nice to have a break away in our beautiful city, and the Duxton is great value for luxury accomodation.
The room is as stated, 5 star. We had a welcome bottle of wine, and after returning from our night in the city, the best nights sleep, and lovely breakfast this morning.
The staff are well groomed, friendly and make you feel very welcome.
We look forward to next time, and in the meantime thanks guys, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jacquelina P,

Thank you for selecting the Duxton Hotel for your birthday celebration, I am glad you enjoyed the wine and facilities of the hotel. We are proud of the Duxton team and their achievements when it comes to friendly and warm efficient service.
Many Happy Returns and all success for 2014.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We work FIFO so stay in a lot of hotel on breaks, we stayed here for two nights the rooms are spotless and the hotel staff are so very assisting and pleasant. Valet parking too pricey @ $40 per night but the Room service was amazing we had the Ameila Park sirloin it was delicious the best I've had! We will be back for sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krystle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Krystle O,

I appreciate your positive feedback on the hotel especially room service. I will ensure that your review is relayed to the team and I will pass on the necessary comendations.
Thank you for your kind words and once again your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warnbro, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We once again stayed at the Duxton. They have finishes revamping the restaurant with lovely new décor. Staff very good. Service excellent. The room just your average hotel room really but spotless. The meal in the restaurant was faultless. I had the pork belly, my husband fillet mignon and a Turkish bread and dips to start and a tasting plate for dessert. All absolutely faultless. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Valet parking though expensive was excellent service and the staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer. Will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Happywaikiki,

I am glad that we delivered again and thrilled that you enjoyed the Firewater Grille. We are very proud of our achievements with the new renovation. Thank you for selecting the Duxton for your stays in Perth and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We upgraded our room to a river view spa room and it was worth the extra money. The room was spacious with a separate dressing area and large bathroom. As we were on the 11th floor the views across the river were beautiful.

Whilst the room was very clean and comfortable, attention to detail was needed, contrary to their catchphrase. The bed had a broken wheel and creaked dreadfully when I sat on it, the tap was leaky and too close to the edge of the sink which made it hard to wash your hands, the shower door did not shut and water consequently leaked everywhere, some mould was appearing above the shower cubicle...however these were small details and overall we liked the room. The bed was comfy, there were lots of fluffy towels and despite being near the lifts it was very quiet - in fact we didn't share a lift with a single other guest during our four night stay, despite the hotel being so large.

The hotel is more focused on business travellers rather than tourists but concierge generally tried to help with our queries. Sometimes they went above and beyond - Brian was fantastic- at other times they were a little vague, for example one guy couldn't even recommend a decent restaurant when we asked ( thank goodness for Trip Advisor).

The location is perfect for the Barrack Street Jetty area and the shops and cafés, though the CBD is pretty much a ghost town at night. However we managed to walk to the Northbridge area and found that Perth does have nightlife! The train station was a 10 minute walk away and we found the public transport system was excellent, we got trains to Rockingham ( for Penguin Island), Fremantle and Cottesloe.

If we returned to Perth we would stay here again, we liked the free wifi and had a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Room upgrade was $55 per night and worth it if you are staying for a while
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Louc77,

I appreciate the details of your review and will ensure that your comments pertaining to the room are actioned immediately. I am glad you enjoyed the comfort of your room and I will also thank Brian for his outstanding service.
The location of the hotel is extremely good for visiting the Perth CBD and Northbridge and glad you enjoyed the sites.
It is also pleasing to read that your stay was very relaxing. Wishing you a safe journey back to England and for the rest of your holiday.

Sincerely

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at The Duxton on business. It is very well located. The room was clean and adequate. The bed very comfortable. Free wi-fi was appreciated and worked well. The hotel is dated with a sterile atmosphere. The restaurant and it's staff was woefully slow, disengaged, not very busy but food was good. Room service menu was delivered but not as menu described. The front desk staff were very helpful. A mixed bag really. It's ranking does not meet expectations. It was an average experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear John B,

I appreciate your constructive comments and I will ensure that we address them immediately. I was pleased to read that the comfort of the bed was to your liking and the WiFI worked well for you.
The Firewater Grille Manager has been briefed on your experience and the necessary changes to service have been made. I ensure that all feedback is actioned to continually improve our service standards.

Regards

Bruce G. Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#19 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing