We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world elegance in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old world elegance in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with spacious, clean, and comfortable rooms. The service is excellent, except for the rude woman in the downstairs bar who clapped us out of the bar at midnight like school children. Very rude.
But aside from that, a great hotel. Unfortunately the restaurant was being renovated so breakfast was served in a downstairs ballroom. It was good enough considering they were in a temporary location, but the new restaurant looks like it will be lovely.
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the bathrooms, while spacious, are starting to look a tad dated and could do with a renovation soon.
Location is good, a bit of a walk from the city but we had a car so it didn't bother us. Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the building have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 22bld22,

I enjoyed reading your feedback, thankyou for your gracious words. I will address the Bar member and her action it was not approriate at any time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and again have the pleasure in being of service to you.

Sincerely

Bruce G Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    394
    177
    64
    47
See reviews for
93
420
40
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
406 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Very surprised by some poor reviews the Hotel is very good rooms spacious beds very comfortable , we travelled Australia for two months staying in this type of quality hotel and this one is right up there

Breakfast excellent advisable to book in your package

Only poor side was on final night after coming back from a day touring would liked to have dined in Hotel restaurant but found a note left by room service on return advising they had a Lord Mayors banquet and guests had to use the ballroom , they must have known months in advance ? Why not advise on check in ?
Maybe as a non paying guest the Mayor should use the ballroom !

Not cheap but you get what you pay for
Would definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Weldge,

I read your comments favourably and appreciate your welcoming feedback. I will ensure our team recieve praise for their efforts, it is always encouraging to read that our guests are satisfied. I apologise that the restaurant was not open on monday evening due the the official opening of the new Firewater Grille. It is always very difficult at construction time to set the correct official opening date and not to inconvenience guests at the same time. Its is done now and sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Perth very soon.

Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We came here for a 3 night stay. Location of the Duxton is good and the rooms and facilities were clean and well furnished.

The pool was closed for maintenance on one of the days, which was annoying. But the day we did get to go to the pool was enjoyable. Clean and not too crowded.

The only thing to bring down the whole experience was the service of the valet/doorman.

We had booked three rooms for our stay under different names and accidentally provided the wrong name when asked by him as validation for parking. He then launched into tirade about how we should have explained the way we had booked the rooms and inferring that what we were doing was dishonest.

He basically made the situation much more complicated than it should have been. We would not have made much of this issue if he had subsequently provided us friendly service.

The following morning when picking up our car keys from the lobby, my friend was insulted when he overheard him recounting the previous night's debacle to another hotel staff.

To add further insult, after returning from our day out, as we approached the hotel front doors (which had been opened for us on all other occasions) the doors remained shut. We found the same valet/doorman from the night before was manning the doors and felt that he was exacting his vengeance by failing to provide us courteous service.

I'd like to clarify that we only experienced this poor level of service from one man at the hotel. It was the actions and behaviour of this individual that dampened what was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Saj1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Saj1d,

Thank you for selecting the Duxton hotel for your stay. In reference to your comments on the Door man we have taken the necessary steps to consel him. I apologise to you and your guests that your stay was made unpleasant because of one team members poor actions.

Thank you for your valued time and we will ensure that our usual high standard of service is improved with consistency in the future.

Regards

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

With the praise and reviews of this hotel being relatively high our expectations were set right off the bat.

Look, everything about this hotel is very good. The facilities, reception, cleaning, all top notch.

However, by day two of a four day stay, our camp was severely disappointed with the customer service provided by the concierge or door man/valet.

Specifically, this complaint is centred toward the tall and balding door man and his negative attitude towards our needs for parking on our second night. He dismissed our room booking credentials and didn't know what to do. When we were expressively frustrated at the fact that we weren't trusted at face value for our booking, he gave attitude like a 13 year old girl.

His actions carried on the next day where he intentionally avoided to open our door. His attitude was so damaging that we even over heard him gossiping to the receptionist, thus prompting this review.

I encourage that management please reassess his performance and ensure he is coached accordingly. His negativity and incompetence has really spoilt our stay at the Duxton.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cma86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Cma86,

I was pleased to read your praise for the facilities, reception and cleanliness of the hotel, thank you. We have counselled our concierge for his unprofessional service and further action has been taken to take a positive approach to training him in improving his social skills. Please accept my apologise for his actions in which I can understand that any poor service issue does spoil any good experience.
Thank you for choosing the Duxton Hotel for your stay.

Sincerely

Bruce G Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

How did the duxton get their 5 star rating ? Lovely lobby nice rooms average bathroom very average breakfast . Our stay was pleasant but the service for breakfast was at best a 3 star experience . We had to wait too long to be served & then if you could catch a wait persons eye for more coffee ect as they wizzed by with a stressful look on their face u were lucky ! The concierge was lovely as well as the valets but the rest of staff were a bit sour faced. Tried to get a coffee in the lobby bar at 10.10 pm and was told coffee machine had been turned off ! There was no other cafe in the hotel for a coffee ?5star?ummm .... Maybe I am a bit fussy but why not ?! Come on Perth lift your game , I travel a lot and even Bali offer better service in their 4 star hotels and Europe hotels that are rated lower at least can give you a coffee !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Becsview,

I appreciate your comments on the service and I have personally reviewed the issues that you have raised with our poor service, this is not our usual standard. I agree with you that a cup of coffee is available at anytime. During the time of your stay the breakfast area has been under strain due to the relocation of a temporary restaurant although there is no excuses for inattentive service. We have completed our new restaurant and operationally its very good.
I have taken on board your comments and have used them to ensure a better service to all our guests in the future.

Sincerely

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

In a very regular traveler who has tried a lot of the Perth hotels. The Duxton has become on of my favourites because the staff are brilliant and treat you with 5 star service. The rooms are very clean and very quiet. The air conditioner works perfectly all the time and is nice and cold regardless of the hot Perth temp. Valet parking is very professional and very reactive to your unplanned need for your car. The restaurant food is high class but a tad expensive. But I guess you pay for quality. Overall for the level of service and quality the rooms are reasonably priced and a very good size. I love this hotel and will continue to be a regular visitor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenb234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Stephen b,

As one of our regular valued guests thank you for your comments it is very much appreciated. I have commended the Team on their personal service efforts and with the opening of our new restaurant Firewater Grille your experience at the Duxton will only get better.
Thank you for your loyality and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards

Bruce G Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Perth isn't renowned for brilliant business hotels however the Duxton was much nicer than I remembered it this time around.

I was upgraded to a spa room which offered a nice change as the bathroom wasn't directly adjacent the bedroom, rather down a passageway with a separate dressing room. Lots of ammenities and clean, good quality towels. The rooms are relatively small (I think this used to be the old Tax office....) but well appointed and maintained. Location is pretty central, breakfast arrived on time as requested (super early in the morning) and the service was friendly and professional. I thought it was funny that I requested a banana and they didn't have one.

It was a short business stay and a pleasant one at that. I'd definitely rebook at the Duxton.
There are some renovations going on in the hotel that should be noted, however I would anticipate they are for a finite period.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missjane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceDoig, General Manager at Duxton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Missjane06,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I welcome your positive remarks about the hotel and our teams service standards. It is always a pleasant to have the opportunity to share positive feedback with the Team. We appreciate you selecting the Duxton Hotel Perth.

In appreciation

Bruce Doig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 81 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#14 Family Hotel in Perth
#19 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing