We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Tired, typical Perth Hotel”
Review of Duxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duxton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Tired, typical Perth Hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Perth is a beautiful city and is rich from the mining boom, it seems most hotels here charge like wounded bulls because they can, however they fail to deliver. The Duxton considers itself one of the best Hotels in Perth....it isn't. While the location is good the price of a room is not reflected in the quality of the room. When you spend over $300 a night even if you company is paying you expect a better standard, the rooms are in need of some updating as is the whole hotel. The breakfast buffet is not one of the better ones I have come across and they should look at the breakfast buffet offered by the Sheraton, Sofitel or hyatt to get some inspiration. It's lobby bar only opens at 4pm so bad luck if you want an early drink. The hotel seems to know how to charge high prices but does not deliver what you would expect for that price. I think it's a victim of the easy money that flows into a city from the mining boom, let's hope tough times don't hit they would be in fore a rude shock.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    402
    189
    66
    47
See reviews for
98
436
42
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed during May this year for a "date night". Room actually quite nice, tastefully furnished, quiet (perhaps we had no neighbours?). Bathroom good, clean, water hot. Service was attentive. A fairly large down side however was the quality of the buffet breakfast (we dined in the hotel lounge area). Really terrible. I would rate the breakfast for that day a 4 out of 10, and I'm pretty forgiving. With a decent breakfast I would have rated this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I’ve travelled to Perth more time that I want to count and I have decided that the Duxton is the only CBD hotel worth staying at.

It’s the only one I have found that manages to have both a comfortable bed and a comfortable pillow (one of their competitors the interesting combination of a very soft mattress and a rock like pillow was almost like sleeping standing up). Its right in the centre of the CBD, the rooms always clean, the staff helpful and it has the best hotel gym in Perth. Even the mini bar is reasonable.

Most 4/5 Star Hotels are pretty similar – the Duxton is worth staying at again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip and although I didn't personally choose it, I would've probably stayed here anyway!

It's a lovely old hotel with a grand entrance. Reception was a bit curt and unfriendly which was disappointing. The room itself was enormous! I had a lovely room on the 6th floor which had a separate walk in wardrobe and a massive bathroom with a separate shower and tub. There were the usual tea and coffee making facilities, TV, desk and sitting area.

There's a nice bar in the hotel and I had breakfast one morning which was a buffet spread, but it wasn't cheap. The next morning I ordered room service and it was very nice and prompt.

Overall a nice business hotel and would recommend it, but the staff on front desk could be a little friendlier, maybe they were having an off day...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austr
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I spent two nights at this establishment, check in was smooth, the room very comfortable the staff were very, very good. I had terrible trouble logging on with my lap top the young man they sent to assist could not have been more helpful. He was happy to speak with technical support person and between them sorted out the problem. The food at dinner was just very ordinary so do not dine there. Breakfast was another matter very acceptable with freshly cooked eggs and accompanyments. I recommend the hotel as being 4.5 star in my opinion and i would stay there again
Himself 10

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank himself_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Perth hotels have high occupancy and therefore customer service is very average. The Duxton thinks it is grander than it really is and staff exhibit lack of care factor. Rooms good, but thin walls make for noisy experience with poor showers unless you like alternating hot and cold every 15 seconds. $30 for continental breakfast poor value. Overall very expensive for what you get - I certainly would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timfrancis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for our wedding night. What a mistake! I booked a club suite for approx $450 which seemed very reasonable for a 5 star hotel. When we arrived a bit after midnight the reception was not manned and we had to wait for her to stop talking to another member of staff. The room was a city view when I'd requested a river view... you'd think for your wedding night they'd be able to accommodate you??!

The room was of a very high standard and the bathroom was large, the toiletries were a little cheap though. The bed was comfy and they even sent up a hot lemon and honey drink free of charge as I had a cold and a sore throat which was nice.

The breakfast was ok but not as good as other hotel breakfasts I've had. They had no "proper" coffee in the club lounge and couldn't even get one made elsewhere and sent up! Then, the next morning, the concierge wouldn't order us a cab to the rank and after a few minutes of waiting I went and asked again. He grudgingly picked up the phone and requested one. After a long wait one finally turned up.

All in all this would be a good hotel IF it was 4 star. The manager needs to go and experience the Shangri La in Sydney (which is cheaper!!!) and emulate that. Perth deserves better!

Room Tip: Request a river view (not that they'll honour it..)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megpowis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 65 in Perth
1,212 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,560 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#19 of 65 in Perth
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 65 in Perth
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duxton Hotel

Property: Duxton Hotel
Address: 1 St Georges Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#12 Family Hotel in Perth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#16 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Duxton Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, the Duxton Hotel is the perfect 5 star accommodation venue for travellers staying in Perth. Only a few minutes walk away you will discover Perth's major shopping, entertainment and restaurant centres. With the hotel situated just a short stroll from the Swan River, you can enjoy the rare beauty of nearby central parklands and riverside walkways. The hotel offers FREE WI-FI in all accommodation rooms & public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing