We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Perth
York England UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

We were upgraded to a better room which we were pleased about, but it was still quite small and in need of updating, but clean and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, the public transport system in Perth is fantastic but cost of living very high (a pint of lager is around £6). Actually cheaper to drink in the hotel! We recommend a visit to Kings Park and Cottislow Beach

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    270
    201
    76
    53
See reviews for
67
214
82
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berowra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Dreadfully rude staff, it's too hard for them to call cabs - simple, not brain surgery, very dated rooms, worn carpet, worn blankets on beds, everything very run down and no face washers and horrible soap dispenser on the wall? Just appalling. Food not great, breakfast depressing and just overall unhappy with the experience. No value hotel for $180 a night. Stay away. Need to do a lot of refurbishment and sack the heavily eyelined, dark haired receptionist who is quite rude, especially when no other staff is in her earshot. Either sack her or retrain her, because she will not encourage anyone who might like to come back to come back. She made a terrible experience even worse. No room service either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

When I arrived this hotel was already past midnight.I was very tired and want to get my room as fast as possible.This night shift reception staff name "Aaron" was not welcoming at all.He asked for my name and when I booked it . I reply him as normal and he can't find my booking paper and pointed his finger toward the sofa and said "You go to sit there for me", I was shocked, I asked myself, am I in a correction center? later, when I turned around to get my booking number from my laptop as what he want,I took a deep breath.He told me " If you don;t like it you can go" and repeat again "if you don;t like it you can go to other hotel". for the whole conversation I didn't even raised my voice or act unruly when he was so rude to me.I cannot believe it. The only worst hotel experience I have ever had in my life.Later I went to other hotel and I can see the huge different from their service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Law1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

it's hard to know what to make of this hotel, looking at the reviews before i booked it there were lots of positive comments. all i can say is, those people can't have stayed in the room i was given.

having booked a double room i was disappointed to find they only had a room with 2 single beds but, hey ho. However when I entered the room my heart sank. A gloomy, kinda sickly dark yellow coloured room. then i saw the beds.

2 tiny single beds that sank in the middle and when you sat down on them they rolled off - yes, they were on wheels. i took off the covers to see what the beds were like and they had 2 utterly exhausted worn out mattresses, collapsed in the middle, not to mention the bed sheets with their mystery stains (bodily fluids? best not to know). one mattress was dated march 1997 - 13 years old. great.

I got in touch with the manager and did my best to complain as politely as possible. She said she would get the beds changed if possible. next night got in after work, exact same beds. Checking out tomorrow.

Put it like this, if you needed a spare bed in an emergency and went to a second hand bed shop and these were the only beds going, and they were free, you still wouldn't take them. if i had a friend needed a bed for the night and this was the only bed around, i'd go elsewhere. if you were living in ahomeless hostel and this was your bed, you'd be entitled to complain to the management. worst beds i have had to endure in years. and for $125 a night, disgraceful.

I stayed in Miss Mauds and the Criterion hotels in Perth and liked them - the ambassador was more expensive than both!

looking at the other reviews, i can see the reviews seem to be either 4/5 or 1/5, seems to depend what room you get how you rate this dump. i got room 220 and i'm giving it 1/5. i have photos too if you want to take a look.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Well fellow travellers, after a days travelling from Melbourne and working until late I was fairly tired and pulling up out the front of the Ambassador, I wondered if I had made a mistake.

I went in and was greeted so warmly, I felt instantly at ease, despite the slightly dated decor. Reservation was all in order and within 10 minutes I was in my room.

The room itself was a very nice surprise, very nice. The recently completed soft renovation was tasteful and the room as neat as a pin, even equipped with a new LCD TV and a new KIing Koil bed. The bathroom one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in, even if the bathroom was a bit dated, everything was in fine working order and again IMMACULATELY clean.

Breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding, one of the best buffets I have ever seen in a hotel and it was nice to have a double espresso heart starter at breakfast without a staff member curtly informing you that proper coffee is not included in the buffet, $5 please or drink the brewed sludge?? Sure it is a self serve espresso machine, but it was OK.

After another days work, the room had been nicely serviced and again breakfast was great and slightly varied, so what a great consideration to vary the choices slightly.

Overall, if you want glamourous public areas and exterior, this is not your kind of place. But I would highly rate this as a good clean value-for-money hotel with no delusions of granduer.

Well done to the team at Ambassador Perth.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Douggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed 1 night in this hotel for new years eve 2009/2010

Check in was nice and simple, however, the lifts to the room were slow, and on several times I had to wait a fair bit of time for one toturn up. The rooms are basic, and of varying size, of the 3 rooms we booked they ranged from "box rooms" to "very large rooms." Thge one thing I did like was the free broadband, (reception has spare cables to plug laptops into.

The spa area was very nice, but get reception to call yu when tis is free as they only have 1 key for it. Howver, the majo letdown for me was the lack of TV facilites and the hotel is a good walk fom the main hay stree shopping area. Also the hotel failed to ringme at the wake up time I booked.

To sum up: Its cheap but cheerful, oh and take an alarm clock in case the hotel fails to ring you at the time you book the wake up call for.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Basic motel style, clean. Room was very musty. Couldn't hold luggage securely prior to check in - forced to wheel it around. Reasonable view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 81 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#57 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Terrace, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing