We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby embassy caretaker perhaps, Ambassador, I think not.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Only in Perth could you get away with charging $200 a night for such a tatty hotel. Decor shabby; leaky, scale-covered bathroom fittings, an uncleaned toilet, lights which you can only switch off by cutting the power. Simply not very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barney_mcgrew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 692 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Once we arrived we were we greeted from a terrible English speaking Asian lady who told us we needed a $100 bond from our debit card. When refunded it takes a few days to go back on card and wouldn't return with cash, putting us out $100 for our over seas trip.
Our room was average and had no heater for the cold nights. When we asked about it they said to turn air con off. Again another terrible English speaker.
I would highly recommend looking for other accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently stayed Friday and Saturday nights and enjoyed the special weekend deal. Upgraded upon arrival. Full breakfast included in room tarif. Breakfast is plentifull and good variety.

Good parking (extra $12/day). Easy to get to and from. Friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Easy access to city with free buses or walking distance. Older style hotel but well kept. Larger bathroom. Very spacious room with twin beds. Comfortable beds.

Only downer was that the tv is on the wall and not easily viewed from bed - strange setup. This is the same in other rooms, from previous visits. Not really an issue as I don't go to city to watch tv!

Recommend for a city stay. Reasonably priced, especially the weekend deals.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade as have at other times had a very small room however mostly have been upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked this hotel at short notice due to the usual excessive room prices in Perth. Room was $190/night, which was cheap in Perth, but still expensive for what this hotel is.
I looked at the previous reviews and can see both sides of the good and bad reviews. Overall I have given an average review based on some of the positive aspects cancelling out the negative.
Pros:
Secure parking @$12/day
Free wireless access
Very comfortable bed
Room and bathroom clean
Foxtel TV
Quiet
Cons:
Hotel very dated. Reception and cafe/bar areas more like a backpackers hostel than a city centre hotel.
Room decor also very dated.....a bit depressing.
Minibar located in reception area through vending machine and purchase at reception desk.


Overall I would probably not recommend this hotel for business travel as you expect some creature comforts when away from home that the Ambassador doesn't deliver.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cialan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Perth is notorious for having over-priced hotels. High demand, lack of new supply, staff that generally don't give a damn and other factors mean Perth is normally a difficult place to find a good hotel.

This 3.5 star hotel was better than many 4-star and some 4.5 star hotels I have stayed at in Perth, and I found an outstanding price.

While the hotel itself is old, the rooms have been refreshed recently (no need for renovation) and the staff were truly warm AND professional.

Happy happy happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is a little run down but it was somewhere for us to sleep as we were out everyday on our bicycle. it was clean, quiet, great helpful staff and the breakfast was wonderful. Close to everything you need i.e 24hr shop and food etc.
very good value for money as I had a great deal on booking.com

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jodiechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. Checked in on 2 Oct 2013 and checked out on 5th Oct 2013. I wasn't expecting much as the review in Tripadvisor were just average. However, the condition of the room is definitely better than average. It was clean, spacious and well maintained (everything worked). I stayed in a Standard Double room. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is pretty good. Near to Transperth bus stops and the Red Cat bus stops. It's also near to the Perth Mint and there's a 24-hr convenience store nearby. Also very near to several car rental outlets (Bayswater Car Rental, Avis and others). Check out time is 10am but you can leave your bags at the lobby. The bags will be tagged for security. Can't comment on the breakfast because I booked the room without breakfast. Swan River is also nearby and it's just a quick stroll to reach there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashidah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 66 in Perth
1,358 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 66 in Perth
306 reviews
Mercure Perth
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $77 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing