We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down building, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run down building, poor service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

On arrival, our staff couldn't work out whether the 3 rooms we had booked at the same time under the same deal all included breakfast. Their excuse was that they didn't have any paperwork so couldn't really help us. Not a good start. Only got worse. Rooms were old and run down and although they were clean, they were not sparkling. Bathroom was very shoddy. Gym facilities didn't open til 7am because they are in one of the hotel rooms on the 5th floor so they don't like to open earlier in case it wakes the people in the room next door! I use the term "gym facilities" very lightly. No treadmill, old equipment which has long passed it's bin date and none of the electronics worked on anything. Breakfast varied between barely acceptable and downright disgusting with dried out food and off bacon. Further issues on checkout with staff not having any idea what was included and what wasn't again. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Nowhere near the "gym" on level 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear natalgoo,

We apologise if there was a misunderstanding in relation to your booking. If the reservation in our system shows only the room has been booked (with no inclusions including breakfast), without the guest providing any booking paperwork, confirmation email, travel agent voucher or otherwise to substantiate their claim, we have to accept the information in our system as correct as that is the actual booking that has been taken.

The gym is located in the dedicated health centre with sauna facilities as well. We installed the gym area in 2012 with brand new equipment which includes an elliptical cross trainer, exercise bike, rowing machine and weight press machine.

It is regrettable that you found the breakfast not to your liking. We do aim to provide great variety, with the hot and cold buffet featuring plenty of options such as eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, grilled mushrooms and tomatoes, baked beans, fried rice, noodles, pancakes, croissants, muffins, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toasted bread, condiments and spreads, plus a great selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    274
    201
    77
    54
See reviews for
67
215
82
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a business trip and was very disappointed. The rooms are very outdated and small. Only had a double bed. The bathroom is in serious need of a renovation. The carpark was a first in first serve basis and very cramped and not undercover. The staff weren't very friendly either. Would not stay here again especially when there's alot nicer and cheaper hotels all around this one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Stacey L,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we rely on our guest's feedback to improve our services and facilities so it is always welcome. We offer a range of room types from 24sqm up to 47sqm, so please feel free to take a look at the Corporate Rooms or Executive Suites as they may be more suitable for your needs. All 'double' rooms feature either a queen bed or zip king bed whilst the 'twin' rooms feature 2 single beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Ambassador. The staff were very helpful. Our room was very clean and had a nice big bathroom with both bath and a shower. There was a pull out line over the bath where one could dry a bit of washing. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and another attached to it's sister hotel The Goodearth across the road. The Goodearth Bistro is good but we did not try the one at the Ambassador. Thrifty car hire is next door. A block away is a Coffee Club outlet which closes at 4p.m. The other end of that block is a very good Dome restaurant, so one does not to go all the way into town for a meal. The free Transperth bus goes along Adelaide Street and the bus stop is a little way up or down the road. Staff booked us a Taxi when we checked out. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear maryannSydney,
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about our staff and rooms. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff here are lovely and the service is personal. The hotel is realllllllyy dated. That said it is clean and tidy so something to be said for that. The location is good too, right in the city centre. Worth the $160 we paid :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodearth-Ambassador, Manager at Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Alison C,
We're delighted to hear your feedback about our staff, we strive to provide top customer service so this is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall it was a good experience to stay in this hotel. The room was okay. The location is excellence as it's in the city. For the parking, there's a flat rate per day for hotel guests.

The downside is when we had a problem with our room's key. But their staff were very helpful about it and they were nice enough to change our rooms because of it. So, their service was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileysya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

There's nothing wrong with this hotel at all, clean and tidy like you expect any hotel to be, just that it feels like stepping in a time machine and travelling back to 1985. The bed and TV might be new, but everything else in the room dates from 1985. Beds are actually quite comfortable and at least the room is pretty quiet. The rooms are basically glorified motel rooms (probably quite good by 1985 standards), and the bathroom feels positively ancient (although it's been done up nicely not long ago).

The buffet breakfast was pretty good the first morning and very good the next. Unlike most hotels they had different menu each day so you don't feel like eating the same thing over and over again.

I see what people are saying in the reviews - for the $98 per night including breakfast for 2 there was clearly value for money. Not sure I can stomach paying $150+ per night room only ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found the staff very helpful and the hotel was well placed in the city center.Beds were excellent and found them a great relief after traveling 1200 klms around the south of the state.Price was very good considering where it was and we would stay there again.Breakfast was above the "plastic food" quality you usually get elsewhere and was very welcome.Overall good value

Room Tip: Advance bookings to get a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#32 of 64 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Perth CBD
Travelodge Hotel Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth

Property: Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth
Address: 196 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (Formerly Perth Ambassador Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3.5 Star award-winning Perth Ambassador Hotel, centrally located in the Perth CBD, offers 170 well-appointed rooms and suites. All feature free Wi-Fi internet access, flatscreen television with Foxtel (cable TV) and movies-on-demand, ensuite with separate bath and shower, air-conditioning/heating, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a daily housekeeping service. Facilities include a restaurant and bar open daily for breakfast and dinner, gymnasium, sauna, 24-hour reception, tour desk, safety deposit box at reception, in-house self service laundry, dry cleaning service, plus on-site car parking at great rates. Just minutes to the vibrant array of shopping, dining, entertainment, nightlife, cultural and historical experiences that Perth City has to offer. The Swan River, WACA sporting ground, Crown Perth Casino, Perth Convention & Exhibition Centre, Kings Park and tourist attractions are close by. Short walk to the city centre or hop on the free transit bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Ambassador Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing